Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library, Main Stacks open for 24-hour access during RRR, finals weeks. Learn more.

Japanese Historical Maps Collection from the C. V. Starr East Asian Library: Home

This guide helps you to navigate the digitized collection of Japanese historical maps held by the C. V. Starr East Asian Library, UC Berkeley.

About the Collection

The Japanese Historical Maps Collection contains roughly 2,300 manuscript, woodblock, and copperplate maps of Japan and the world, ranging in date from the seventeenth century into the modern era. The core of the collection came from the maps and atlases originally collected by Mitsui Takakata (Sōken) 三井高堅宗堅 (1867-1945), ninth head of the Shinmachi branch of the Mitsui clan. The East Asian Library acquired the collection as part of a larger acquisition from the clan in 1950. The collection also includes a small number of maps originally belonged to Motoori Bunko 本居文庫, the library of the well-known family of the Kokugaku scholars founded by Motoori Norinaga 本居宣長 (1730-1801) and succeeded in Wakayama by Motoori Ōhira 本居大平 (1756-1833), Uchitō 内遠 (1792-1855), and Toyokai 豊穎 (1834-1913), those collected by Mitsui Takatatsu (Sōshin) 三井高辰宗辰 (1845-1922) and Dohi Keizō (Gakken) 土肥慶蔵鶚軒 (1866-1931), as well as those of unknown provenance (including these, all those maps that were not originally listed in Sōken shoshū chizu mokuroku 宗堅所集地圖目録 compiled by Mitsui Bunko are marked with * after the call number).

A portion of the collection was digitized by David Rumsey and Cartography Associates and has been available for viewing at the Japanese Historical Maps website since 2003. More recently, with CLIR funding (2016) the remaining maps produced before 1923 were digitized and all these digitized  maps have become available at the UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections. In addition, over 1,000 maps from the Japanese Historical Maps Collection are made available in Japanese Map Warper (you can view all those maps by searching "UCB" in Tags).

Other related collections include Single-sheet Print Collection Ichimaizuri korekushon 一枚摺コレクション (688 items with over 1,000 images) and Copperplate Print Collection = Dōbanga korekushon 銅版画コレクション (ca. 2,400 images). For more information, see the Japanese Studies guide ("About the Collection").

Arrangement of the Collection

To assist users to effectively navigate through vast amount of digitized maps available in the UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections, this guide offers concise bibliographic information of individual maps (e. g., call number, Romanized and Japanese titles, creators, production year, and physical description) and the links to the digitized maps classified in categories that were used in Sōkens maps collection.

See below for the organization of the entire collection and the call number ranges and the number of titles associated with each category. Within a category, titles are roughly listed chronologically, with the oldest appear at the top. For more detailed bibliographic information, search UC Library Search by call number (select "browse by other call numbers"):

  1. World maps (A) (69 titles)
  2. North and East Asia (Bb) (17 titles): including China (Ba) (15 titles), Korea (Bc) (27 titles), Taiwan (Bd) (10 titles), and   Karafuto/Sakhalin and Kamchatka Peninsula (Be) (4 titles)    
  3. Japan: Maps of Japan (Ca + Cb)  (218 titles)
  4. Regions of Japan (419 titles): Part 1: Ezo 蝦夷/Hokkaidō 北海道 (D1-D29.3) (36 titles); Tōhoku 東北 (D30-D64) (33 titles); Kantō 関東 (D64.2-D143) (86 titles); Chūbu 中部 (D144-D229.2) (84 titles). Part 2: Kinki 近畿 (D230-D321, D325-D328, D331-D333, D334, D340-D341, D351) (108 titles); Chūgoku 中国 (D322-D324, D329, D333.1, D335-D339, D342-D350, D354-D362) (28 titles); Shikoku 四国 (D363-D377) (15 titles); and Kyūshū 九州 (D378-D408) (29 titles)         
  5. Cities and Towns in Japan (1,039 titles): Major Cities (784 titles): Edo 江戸 (Ea) (233 titles); Tōkyō 東京 (Eb) (211 titles); Kyōto 京都 (F) (215 titles); Ōsaka 大阪 (G) (125 titles); and Other Major Cities (70 titles): Yokohama 横浜 (Ha1-Ha33) (35 titles), Kōbe 神戸 (Ha35-Ha45.1) (12 titles), Nagasaki 長崎 (Ha46-Ha54.1) (13 titles), and Niigata 新潟 (Ha55-Ha65) (10 titles)Other Local Cities and Towns (185 titles): in Hokkaidō 北海道(11 titles): Hakodate 函館 (Ha67-Ha77)/ Matsumae 松前 (Ha78);  in Tōhoku 東北 (15 titles): Aomori 青森 (Ha82)/ Akita 秋田 (Ha83)/ Sendai 仙台 (Ha89-Ha97.5); in Kantō 関東 (14 titles): Mito 水戸 (Ha85-Ha86.1)/ Chōshi 銚子 (Ha87)/ Yokosuka 横須賀 (Ha98-Ha102)/ Kamakura 鎌倉 (Ha103-Ha107); in Chūbu 中部 (52 titles): Atami 熱海 (Ha108)/ Sunpu 駿府 (Ha109-Ha111)/ Shizuoka 静岡 (Ha112-Ha119)/ Shimizu 清水 (Ha120)/ Hamamatsu 浜松 (Ha121)/ Nagano 長野 (Ha122-Ha123)/ Gifu 岐阜 (Ha124)/ Toyama 富山 (Ha125-Ha126)/ Fukui 福井 (Ha127)/ Nagoya 名古屋 (Ha128-Ha155)/ Kanazawa 金沢 (Ha156-Ha165); in Kinki 近畿 (48 titles): Nara 奈良 (Ha166-Ha177.1)/ Sakai 堺 (Ha178-Ha183)/ Ise 伊勢 (Ha184)/ Ujiyamada 宇治山田 (Ha185-Ha188)/ Matsusaka 松阪 (Ha189-Ha191)/ Toba 鳥羽 (Ha193)/ Tsu 津 (Ha194)/ Hikone 彦根 (Ha195)/ Ōtsu 大津 (Ha196)/ Fukakusa 深草 (Ha198)/ Fushimi 伏見 (Ha260-Ha262)/ Wakayama 和歌山 (Ha263-Ha267.2)/ Himeji 姫路 (Ha204-Ha207); in Chūgoku 中国 (26 titles): Onomichi 尾道(Ha208-Ha209)/ Uno 宇野 (Ha210-Ha211)/ Okayama 岡山 (Ha212-Ha221)/ Hiroshima 広島 (Ha222-Ha230)/ Shimonoseki 下関 (Ha231-Ha233); in Shikoku 四国 (6 titles): Tokushima 徳島 (Ha252-Ha253)/ Takamatsu 高松 (Ha254-Ha255); Matsuyama 松山 (Ha256-Ha257)/ Kōchi 高知 (Ha258-Ha259); in Kyūshū 九州 (13 titles): Fukuoka 福岡 (Ha234-Ha236)/ Moji 門司 (Ha239-Ha240)/ Yahata 八幡 (Ha242)/ Kurume 久留米 (Ha243-Ha244)/ Saga 佐賀 (Ha245)/ Kumamoto 熊本 (Ha246-Ha250)
  6. Noted Places: Shrines, Temples, Hot Springs, Castles, etc.  (199 titles): Kōyasan 高野山 (Ha268-Ha284) (16 titles); Nikkō日光 (Ha285-Ha294) (19 titles); Itsukushima 厳島 (Ha295-Ha301.1) (7 titles); Matsushima 松島 (Ha302-Ha305) (4 titles); Other noted places (Hb) (153 titles)
  7. Route Maps and Guides (J) (98 titles)
  8. Special Formats (13 titles): Screens (byōbu 屏風) (Byobu1-Byobu3) (3 titles); Scrolls and folded books (emaki 絵巻 and gajō 画帖/gafuku 画幅) (Scroll MJ 01-Scroll MJ11, 3407.3.4252) (10 titles)
  9. Appendix: Map SeriesPart 1: 1). Japan. Rikugun. Sanbō Honbu 陸軍. 参謀本部. Shinkoku nijūmanbun no ichizu ichiranhyō 淸國二十萬分一圖一覧表 (Ba4.1) (66 maps); 2) Sakai, Hyōzō 酒井彪三. Dai Nihon ittō yochi bunkokuzu 大日本一統輿地分國圖 (Cb65) (30 maps); 3) Japan. Rikuchi Sokuryōbu 陸地測量. Nimanbun no ichi chikeizu 二万分一地形圖 (Cb132.1) (80 maps). Part 2: 4) Gotō, Tsunetarō 後藤常太郎. Dai Nihon kankatsubun chizu 大日本管轄分地圖 (Cb 147.1) (49 maps); 5) Matsuura, Takeshirō 松浦竹四郎, 1818-1888. Tōzai Ezo sansen chiri torishirabezu 東西蝦夷山川地理取調圖 (D29.1) (26 maps); 6) Yamashiro no Kuni Otagi-gun Kamigamo-mura hoka kyūkason shaji shōezu 山城國愛宕郡上加茂村外九ヶ村社寺小繪圖 (Hb 25.2) (19 maps)

Librarian

Profile Photo
Toshie Marra
Contact:
C.V. Starr East Asian Library
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
(510) 643-0656
Subjects: Japanese Studies