Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Folklore: Home

Databases to Start With

MLA International Bibliography has articles in literature, linguistics, and folklore.

Anthropology Plus will include articles from an anthropological/cross-cultural perspective.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) includes English language and literature articles.

Humanities International Complete includes folklore articles and books.

Dissertations and Theses includes graduate work in folklore from across North America and some of Europe.

 

Motif Indexes

Motif-indexes and typologies attempt to classify a huge amount of folktales by sorting them according to common themes. Usually this does not include full text of folktales, but instead helps you to find folktales on a common theme; you then have to look up the references to find the articles or books elsewhere.

The classic is Stith Thompson's Motif-Index of Folk Literature, available online. (See also, the Guide for Using Stith Thompson).

Other books we have include:

Folklore

Help with Literature and Folklore

Stacy Reardon's picture
Stacy Reardon
Contact:
she/her
438 Doe Library
sreardon@berkeley.edu
510-664-7692

Contact Information

Celia Emmelhainz's picture
Celia Emmelhainz
Contact:
Email for an online appointment!