Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Mary Arnold Ward: Reviews

A Bibliography of Criticism 1881-2010, compiled by Michaelyn Burnette

Mary Arnold, 1863

Contents

Select a Book Title:

Reviews of Mary Ward's Novels

Reviews of Milly and Olly, or, A Holiday Among the Mountains, 1881

Academy 20. 503 (1881): 469. 

San Francisco Call 103.64  2 Feb 1908: 5.  California Digital Newspaper

    Collection.  Web.  30 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Miss Brotherton, 1884

Graphic 31 (10 Jan 1885): 43.

"The Mary Anderson Myth."  Pall Mall Gazette 40 (6 Dec 1884): 4-

    5.

The Times 31315 12 Dec 1884: 7.  Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.

    Web.  2 October 2010.

 

Reviews of Robert Elsmere, 1888

Sharp, William. Academy 33 (17 March 1888): 183-84.

de Concilio, J.  "Robert Elsmere as a Controversial Novel."  

     American Catholic Quarterly Review 44 (1889): 268-82.

Andover Review 10.57 (1888): 297-306.

Athenaeum, 31 Mar 1888, 395-96.

“Theology in Fiction.” Atlantic Monthly 62.373 (Nov 1888): 699-706.

Cowell, Herbert. "Robert Elsmere and Modern Oxford."  Blackwood's

     Edinburgh Magazine 144 (July 1888): 1-20 (U.S. ed.).

"The Author of Robert Elsmere."  Book Buyer, n.s. 5 (1888):

     381-83.

British Weekly 3 (March 9, 1888): 345.

Catholic World 47 (1888): 847-50.

Abbott, Lyman.  "Robert Elsmere. An Open Letter."  Chautauquan 9

    (1889): 291-93.

Shuttleworth, H. C.  Church Reformer, probably 1888.  The review is 

    quoted in Enid Huws Jones’s Mrs. Humphry Ward, pages 82-83, but I 

    cannot currently find a good citation.

Van Antwerp, W. H.  Church Review (New Haven) 53 (Apr 1889), 16-

     26.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  10 November 2010.

Adams, H. C.  Churchman n.s. 2 (1888): 544-53.

Congregational Review 2 (1888): 497-509.  

Lang, Andrew.  Contemporary Review 53 (1888): 814-24.  

Davidson, Randall.  Contemporary Review 54 (1888): 674-82.

Abbott, Lyman.  "Plymouth Pulpit on Robert Elsmere."  Critic

     13 (Oct 1888): 235-36.

Van Loenen, Martinet J.  De Gids (Amsterdam) 3 (Aug 1890): 257-

     89.  English abstract in Review of Reviews 2.9 (Sept 1890):

     233.  

Beyschlag, Willibald.  Deutsch-evangelische Blätter (Berlin) 15

     (Jan 1890): 14-34.  Summary: “A German Criticism of Robert  

     Elsmere.” Review of Reviews 1.5 (May 1990): 397.

Payne, William Morton.  "Recent Fiction."  Dial 9 (Nov. 1888):

     160-62.

Dublin Review 3d series, 19 (Apr 1888): 427-28.

James, Henry.  English Illustrated Magazine 9 (1892): 399-401. 

     Essays in London and Elsewhere.  Ed. James. New York:  

     1893.  253-58. 

Magnus, Julius.  Epoch (NY) 4 (21 Sept 1888): 118-19.

Tyrrell, Robert Y.  "Robert Elsmere as a Symptom."   Fortnightly

     Review 51 (n.s. 45), (1889): 727-31.

Pater, Walter. Essays from the Guardian. Ed. Pater.  Portland, Maine:   

    Mosher, 1898. 59-76.

Harper's New Monthly Magazine 77.462 (Nov 1888): 964.

Sempers, Charles T.  Harvard Monthly 7 (Dec 1888): 113-21.

Lyman, Albert J.  "Robert Elsmere Once More."  Homiletic

     Review 17 (Feb. 1889): 122-32.

Stuckenberg, J. H. W.  "A German Criticism of Robert Elsmere."    

    Homiletic Review 19 (Apr. 1890): 367-71.

Illustrated London News 92 (1888): 465.

Independent 40 (1888): 1344-45.  (unverified)

Davis, Rebecca Harding.  “The New Religious `What Is It?’”  The     

    Independent (New York) 29 Feb 1889: 1.  Quoted in Harris, Sharon M.  

    Rebecca Harding David and American Realism.  Philadelphia: U of 

    Pennsylvania Press, 1991, 235-36.

Urquhart, J. King's Own 2 (1891): 321-25.

Literary World (Boston) 19.17 (18 Aug 1888): 268-69.

“Mary Augusta Ward.” Literary World (Boston), 19.22 (27 Oct 1888): 362-

    63.

Liverpool Daily Post 10 May 1888: 7.

Gladstone, William E.  "Robert Elsmere and the Battle of Belief." 

     Littell’s Living Age 179.2311 (6 Oct 1888): 88-102.  Making of   

     America (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

"The Theology of Robert Elsmere."  London Quarterly Review 70  

   (1888): 345-58.

Albert, Charles S.  Lutheran Quarterly n.s. 19 (Jan 1889): 83-

    91.

Manchester Guardian 21 Mar 1888: 6.  

Morning Post (London) March 5, 1888: 3. 

Murray's Magazine 3 (1888): 576.

Nation: 46.1197 (7 June 1888): 471-73. Nation Archive.  Web.  30 

    November 2010.

"Elsmere's Unbelief."  New York Daily Tribune 29 July 1888: 10.

"A Thirst for Its Hero."  New York Times 5 Aug 1888: 10.

Gladstone, William E.  "Robert Elsmere and the Battle of

     Belief."  Nineteenth Century 23.135(May 1888): 766-88.

Hale, Edward Everett, M. Harland, M. Cook, J. W. Howe, and W. E.

     Gladstone.  North American Review 148.386 (1889): 97-131.

Cook, Joseph.  "Robert Elsmere's Self-Contradictions."  Our Day

     3.13 (Jan 1889): 1-4.

McCosh, James.  "President McCosh on Robert Elsmere."  Our Day 3.13

    (Jan 1889): 13-16.  Repr. from New York Ledger 29 December 1888.

McCosh, James.  "False History in Robert Elsmere."  Our Day 3.13

    (Feb 1889): 146-51.

“A Romance of the New Religion.”  Pall Mall Gazette 47.7192 5 April 

    1888: 2-3. 

Wace, Henry.  "Robert Elsmere and Christianity." Quarterly Review 167 

    (Oct. 1888): 273-302. 

Bentzon, Th.  "La Roman de la Nouvelle Reforme en Angleterre." 

    Revue des Deux Mondes, xcvi (1 Dec 1889), 689-81.  Eng. abstract

    in Review of Reviews 1 (Jan 1890): 61-62. 

Saturday Review 65 (Mar 24, 1888): 356.

Scotsman 5 March 1888: 3.

Hutton, Robert Holt.  Spectator 61 (7 Apr 1888): 479+. Criticisms on 

    Contemporary Thought and Thinkers. Ed. Hutton. London: Macmillan,   

    1908 repr. Vol. 2, 263-69.

Spectator 65 (6 Dec 1890): 823-25.

S.M.  Time 18 (June 1888): 723-29.

The Times 32354 7 April 1888: 5.  Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.

     Web.  28 November 2010.

Engström, C. Lloyd. “Skeptical Novels by Women.  No. 1. Part I. Robert 

    Elsmere.”  Theological Monthly n.s. 1.1 (Jan 1889): 24-34.  Google 

    Books.  Web.  14 December 2010.

Engström, C. Lloyd. “Skeptical Novels by Women.  No. 1. Part II. Robert 

    Elsmere.”  Theological Monthly n.s. 1.6 (June 1889): 388-404. 

    Google Books.  Web.  14 December 2010.

Bixby, James T.  "Robert Elsmere and Its Critics."  Unitarian

    Review 30 (1888): 419-48.

Tunis, John.  “A Glorified Separatist.”  Unitarian Review 31.2

    (Feb 1889): 168-70.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.

     30 October 2010. 

Stevens, Henry D.  Unitarian (Boston) 4 (Jan 1889): 17-19.

 

Robert Elsmere (Stage Play)

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s Appeal.”  Chicago Daily Tribune 10 Feb 1889): 12.

     ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 October 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward Objects.”  Chicago Daily Tribune 11 Feb 1889: 5.

     ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 October 2010.

Reviews of The History of David Grieve, 1892

Noble, James Ashcroft.  Academy 41.1032 (Feb. 1892): 149-50.

Archiv für das Studium der neueren Sprachen und Litteraturen 

    88:2(1892):218.

Art Amateur 26.5 (1892): 136.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.

    10 October 2010.

Athenaeum 30.3353 (Jan 1892): 141-42.

Atlantic Monthly 69.415 (May 1892): 704-05.  Making of America 

    (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Oliphant, Margaret. Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine 151 (Mar.     

    1892): 455-474.

Book Buyer 9.2 (1 March 1892): 56-59.

McClung, J.  Book News 115 (Mar 1892): 311-13.

Bookman (London) 5.1 (Feb 1892): 183.

Californian Illustrated Magazine 1.5 (1892): 513-14.  American 

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Catholic World 54 (Mar 1892): 918-22.

Chautauquan; A Weekly Newsmagazine 15.2 (1892): 257.  American 

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

“The Home: Turned from Worn Channels.”  Christian Union 46.5 (1892): 

     206.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  16 November 2010. 

Wedgwood, J.  Contemporary Review 62 (July 1892): 217-24.

Current Literature 9.3 (1892): 456-58.  American Periodicals Series 

    Online.  Web.  16 November 2010.

Critic 17.519 (30 Jan 1892): 63-64. American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  14 November 2010. 

Daily News (London, England) 22 January 1892, 3. 19th Century British 

     Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Dial 12.144 (Apr 1892): 423-24.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  14 November 2010.

Prothero, Rowland E. Edinburgh Review 175.360 (1892): 518-40.

    Periodicals Archive Online.  Web.  16 November 2010.

Adams, Francis.  "Some Recent Novels."  Fortnightly Review 58

     (n.s. 52), (July 1892): 13-22.

Frank Leslie’s Popular Monthly 33.4 (1892): 511-12.  American 

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Book.”  The Graphic (London, England) 6 

    February 1892, 191. 19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  

    8 November 2010.   

Harper's Monthly 85.505 (June 1892): 154-55.  Making of America 

    (Cornell).  Web.  14 November 2010.

The Independent 44.2254 (11 Feb 1892): 18.  American Periodicals Series

     Online.  Web. 2 October 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  The Leeds Mercury 22 January 1892, 8. 

    19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Literary Digest 4.14 (1892): 383.

Literary World 23.3 (1892): 40-41.  American Periodicals Series Online. 

    Web.  14 November 2010.

London Quarterly Review n.s.18.35 (April 1892): 173-74.

Mitteilungen aus dem gesammten Gebiete der englischen Sprache und 

    Literatur 3 (1893): 18.

Nation 54.1400 (28 April 1892): 326.

Gilman, Nicholas P.  New World 1.1 (1892): 193-97. American Periodical 

    Series Online.  Web.  17 November 2010.

Overland Monthly 20.118 (Oct. 1892): 443.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Book.”  The Pall Mall Gazette 22 January 1892, 

    1. 19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Quarterly Review 174.348 (April 1892): 317-44.

Review of Reviews 5 (1892): 306.

Sacramento Daily Union 83.42 9 April 1892: 11.  California Digital 

    Newspaper Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Saturday Review 73 (30 Jan. 1892): 133-34.

Speaker 5 (30 Jan. 1892): 144-45.

Spectator 68 (20 Feb. 1892): 268-71.

The Times issue 33541 22 Jan 1892: 10.  The Times Digital Archive 1785-

    1985. Web. 28 November 2010. 

     

Reviews of Marcella, 1894

Johnson, Lionel.  Academy 45.1148 (5 May 1894): 363-64.

J.Z. Archiv für das Studium der neueren Sprachen und Litteraturen 93.3  

    (1894): 347.

Athenaeum 3468 (14 April 1894): 469-70.

“Marcella and Pembroke.” Atlantic Monthly 74.442 (Aug 1894): 272-74.  

    Making of America (Cornell).  Web.  14 November 2010.

Book Buyer 11.4 (1 May 1894): 207.

Crawford, F. Marion and Hamilton W. Mabie. “Two Opinions of Mrs. 

    Humphry Ward’s Marcella.”  Book Reviews 1.12 (Apr 1894): 273-79.

G-Y. Bookman (London) 6 (May 1894): 55-56.

"Novel Notes."  The Bookman (Nov. 1896): 49.

Calcutta Review 99.198 (Oct. 1894): 40.

Catholic World 59.349/354 (1894): 427-28.

Chautauquan 19.3 (June 1894): 380-81.  American Periodicals Series 

    Online.   Web.  17 November 2010.

Gilder, Jeannette L. “Dips into Socialism: Mrs. Humphry Ward’s Marcella 

    Food for Study.”  Chicago Daily Tribune 1 April 1894: 33.  ProQuest 

    Historical Newspapers.  Web. 10 November 2010.

S., G. W.  “Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.  Chicago Daily Tribune 8 

    April 1894: 9.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  10 November 

    2010.

Mangasarian, M[angasar] M[agurditch].  “Mangasarian on Marcella.”  

    Chicago Daily Tribune 19 November 1894: 7.  ProQuest Historical 

    Newspapers.  Web.  10 November 2010.

Church Quarterly Review 38 (July 1894): 455-72.

Congregationalist 79.18 (3 May 1894): 638.  American Periodicals Series 

     Online.  Web.  17 November 2010.

“Two Typical Young Women.” Congregationalist 79.31 (2 August 1894): 143.

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  17 November 2010.

Boyesen, Hjalmar Hjorth.  Cosmopolitan 17.3 (July 1894): 377-78.

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Laski, M.  Country Life 176 (1984): 803-04.

Critic, 24 (n.s. 21), (14 Apr 1894), 247.

Crawford, F. Marion.  “Marcella: Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  

    Current Literature 15.5 (May 1894): 396.  American Periodicals 

    Series Online.  Web. 14 November 2010.  

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  The Daily News (London, England) 3 

    April 1894, 6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 

    November 2010.

Stedman, Arthur.  “New York Topics.”  Dial 16.187 (1 April 1894): 222.  

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Payne, William Morton. Dial 16.192 (16 June 1894): 363-64.  American 

    PeriodicalsSeries Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Shand, A. Innes. Edinburgh Review 180.369 (1894): 108-30.

Mabie, Hamilton W.  Forum 17 (Apr 1894): 249-56. American Periodicals 

    Series Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Independent 46.2370 (3 May 1894): 17.  American Periodicals Series 

    Online.  Web.  14 November 2010.

Davidson, William Theophilus. London Quarterly Review 82 (2d series 

    22.44) (July 1894): 205-23.

Nation 59 (26 July 1894): 66.

National Observer 11:282 (14 April 1894): 546.

T.W.F.  New Church Review 1 (1894): 637.

New York Evangelist 65.19 (10 May 1894): 9.  American Periodicals 

    Series  Online.  14 November 2010.

Mrs Humphry Ward’s Latest Novel.”  The Newcastle Weekly Courant 7 April 

    1894: 2.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 

    2010.

“Mrs. Ward’s Marcella.” Outlook 49.14 (7 Apr 1894), 617-18.  American 

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

“Mrs. Ward’s Marcella. Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine 24.142 

    (Oct 1894): 446-47.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 

    November 2010.

Greenwood, Frederick.  “Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Book.”  The Pall Mall 

    Gazette 3 April 1894, 4th ed, 1.  19th Century British Library 

    Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Spedding, W.  Primitive Methodist Quarterly Review.  n.s.17 (April 

    1895): 211-24 .

Barry, W. F.  "The Strike of a Sex."  Quarterly Review 179.358 (October 

    1894): 289-318.

"Marcella: Mrs. Humphry Ward's New Novel on Socialism and Wealth."  

    Review of Reviews (New York) 9 (1894): 492-93.  Google Books.  Web.

    21 November 2010.

San Francisco Call 75.157 6 May 1894: 9.  California Digital Newspaper 

    Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

San Francisco Chronicle 29 April 1894: 9. ProQuest Historical 

    Newspapers.  Web. 10 November 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s Marcella.” Saturday Review 77.2006 (7 April 1894): 

    366.

Sewanee Review 3.1 (Nov. 1894): 95-96.  JSTOR.  Web.  20 November 2010.

The Spectator 72.3435 (April 1894): 586-87.

 “Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  The Standard (London, England) 3 

    April 1894, 2. 19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 

    November 2010.

The Times. Issue 34228  3 April 1894:12.  Times Digital Archive 

    1785-1985.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Stedman, Arthur.  “A Story of Marcella: Advance Review of Mrs. Humphry 

    Ward’s  New Novel.”  Washington Post 1 April 1894: 19.  ProQuest 

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  10 November 2010.

Zion’s Herald 72.27 (4 July 1894): 382.  American Periodicals Series 

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Reviews of The Story of Bessie Costrell, 1895

Cotterell, George. Academy 48.1218 (7 Sept. 1895): 182  Periodicals 

    Archive Online.  Web. 20 November 2010. 

Archiv für das Studium der neueren Sprachen und Litteraturen 96.3/4 

    (1896): 415.

Athenaeum 3533 (13 July 1895): 62.

Atlantic Monthly 76.456 (Oct 1895): 556-58.  Making of America 

    (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Bookman (London) 8.47 (Aug 1895): 149.

Bookman (NY) 2.1 (Aug 1895): 52-53.  American Periodicals Series Online.   

     Web.  20 November 2010.

Book Buyer 12.7 (Aug 1895): 406.

Chicago Daily Tribune 27 July 1895:10.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

     Web.  28 November 2010.

Congregationalist 80.29 (18 July 1895): 100.  American Periodicals 

     Series Online.  Web  20 November 2010.

Critic 27 (n.s. 24), (13 July 1895), 24.

Critic 28 (n.s. 25), (25 Apr 1896), 299.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Story.”  The Daily News (London, England) 19   

     July 1895, 6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8   

     November 2010

Payne, William Morton. Dial 19.220 (16 August 1895): 91. American 

     Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Literary World 26.16 (10 August 1895): 250.

Nation 61 (17 Oct 1895), 277.

New York Evangelist 66.34 (22 August 1895): 11-12.  American Periocials    

    Series Online.  Web.  17 November 2010.

New York Times 17 July 1895: 3.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

     10 November 2010.

Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine 26.153 (Sept 1895): 341.  

    Making of America (Michigan).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Saturday Review 80 (5 Oct 1895): 436-37.

Spectator 75 (20 July 1895): 83-84. 

The Times 34627 12 July 1895: 5.  Times Digital Archive 1785-

    1985.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Reviews of Sir George Tressady, 1896

Academy 50.1281 (21 Nov 1896): 423. Periodicals Archive Online. Web.

    20 November 2010.

Athenaeum 3596 (26 Sept 1896): 413-14.

Atlantic Monthly 78.470 (Dec. 1896): 841-43.  Making of America

    (Cornell).  Web. 20 November 2010. 

The Book Buyer 13.10 (1 Nov 1896): 641.

Book Reviews 4.7 (Nov 1896): 217.

Bookman (London) 11.62 (Nov 1896): 49.

Woods, Katharine Pearson.  "Mrs. Ward and 'The New Woman.'" 

    The Bookman (New York) 4 (1896): 245-47.

Calcutta Review 104.207 (Jan 1897): i-iii. (in Critical Notices after 

    regular pagination ends)

Cooper, J. A.  Canadian Magazine 8 (1896/97): 179-81.

Gilder, Jeannette L.  “Shows Mrs. Ward’s Gifts.”  Chicago Daily Tribune

    27 Sept 1896: 33.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 Oct 

    2010.

Congregationalist 81.46 (12 Nov 1896): 725.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Zangwill, Israel. The Cosmopolitan 22.2 (Dec 1896): 219-20.  American

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Critic 26.765 (17 Oct 1896), 229-30.  American Periodicals Series   

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  Daily News (London, England) 25 

    September 1896, 6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.

    8 November 2010.

Payne, William Morton.  Dial 21.250 (16 Nov 1896): 285-86.

Elliot, Arthur D.  Edinburgh Review 185.379(Jan 1897): 84-109.

Traill, H. D.  "Sir George Tressady and the Political Novel." 

    Fortnightly Review 60.359 (Nov. 1896): 703-14.  Repr. Living Age, 

    211.2735 (5 Dec 1896), 647-56. American Periodicals Series Online. 

    Web.  20 November 2010. 

Humanitarian 9 (Dec 1896): 389-93.

“The Tressady Family Jars.”  Life 28.724 (12 Nov 1896): 356.  American  

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010. 

Literary World 27.22 (31 Oct 1896): 359-60.  American Periodicals 

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010. 

London Quarterly Review 87.54 (Jan 1897): 392-93.  

Nation 64.1648 (28 Jan 1897): 69-70.

National Magazine (Boston) 5 (1896-7): 298-9.

National Observer 16.411 (3 Oct 1896): 589.

New-Church Review (Boston) 4 (Jan 1897): 158-60.

New York Times 10 Oct 1896: BR2.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  28 November 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s Latest Novel.  Newcastle Weekly Courant 

    (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England) 14 November 1896, 2.  

    19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010. 

Outlook 54 (7 Nov 1896): 824.

Fitch, George Hamlin.  “Features of Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel of 

    English Life.”  San Francisco Chronicle 25 October 1896.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 October 2010.

"Dream of a District Visitor."  The Saturday Review 82.2137 (10 Oct

     1896): 397.

The Spectator 77.3563 (Oct 1896): 483-5.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  The Standard (London, England) 25 

    September 1896: 6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.

    8 November 2010.

The Times 35005  25 September 1896: 4. Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.  

    Web.  28 November 2010.

The World 30 Sept. 1896: 12-13.

 

Reviews of Helbeck of Bannisdale, 1898

The Academy Supplement 53 (25 June 1898): 681-82.  Periodicals Archive

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

American Ecclesiastical Review 19 (1898): 528.

Athenaeum 3658 (11 Jun 1896): 751-52.

Atlantic Monthly 83.495 (Jan 1899): 127-30.  Making of America 

    (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Burton, Richard.  “Mrs. Ward’s Tragedy of Conscience.” Book Buyer 17.1 

    (1 Aug 1898): 56-57.  Google Books.  Web.  12 October 2010.

W. Bookman (London) 14.82 (July 1898): 102.

Woods, Katharine Pearson.  Bookman (NY) 7.6 (Aug 1898): 511-13.

Calcutta Review 107.214 (Oct 1898): 16.

Catholic World 67.397/402 (Apr/Sept 1898): 558-60.

“Tells a Real Story.”  Chicago Daily Tribune 12 June 1898: 42.

     ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Christian Advocate 73.31 (4 August 1898): 1269.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Church Quarterly Review 47 (Oct 1898): 135-50.

Congregationalist 83.27 (7 July 1898): 22.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Cosmopolis 11.31 (July 1898): 87.

Critic 33 (July 1898): 88-90. American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.

     31 October 2010.

Current Literature 24.2 (Aug 1898): 119. American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web. 31 October 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  Daily News (London, England) 10 June

     1898, 6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  

     8 November 2010.

Dial 25 (1 July 1898): 20-21.

Fortnightly Review 71 (n.s. 65) (Apr 1899): 618-21.

“Mrs Humphry Ward’s New Story.”  Glasgow Herald 10 June 1898, 9.  19th

     Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Bangs, John Kendrick.  “Literary Notes.”  Harper's New Monthly Magazine 

    97.582 (Nov 1898): Suppl page 3 after regular pagination.  Making

    of America (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Independent 50.2586 23 (June 1898): 18.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  15 December 2010.

Clarke, R. F. “A Catholic’s View of Helbeck of Bannisdale.” Living Age 

    219.2832 (15 Oct 1898): 137-47.  Making of America (Cornell).  Web.

    20 November 2010.

Mivart, St. George. “Another Catholic’s View of Helbeck of Bannisdale.”  

    Living Age 219.2837 (19 Nov 1898): 469-81. Making of America 

    (Cornell).  10 November 2010.

Month 92 (July 1898): 1-6.

Nation 67 (21 Jul 1898): 53-54.

Everett, C. C. New World 7 (1898): 796-97.

“Catholic and Agnostic.”  New York Times 11 June 1898: BR377.

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

“Mrs Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  Newcastle Weekly Courant 18 June 1898,  

    6.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010.

Clarke, Richard F.  “A Catholic’s View of Helbeck of Bannisdale.”   

    Nineteenth Century 44 (1898), 455-67.  

Mivart, St. George.  "Another Catholic's View of Helbeck of

     Bannisdale."  Nineteenth Century 44 (1898): 641-55.

Segrè, Carlo.  Un eroe cattolico in un nuovo romanzo inglese.” Nuova

    antologia di scienze, lettere ed arti ser.4:161:643 (1898): 425-38.

    Google Books.  20 November 2010.

Outlook 59.12 (23 Jul 1898): 735.

“Year’s Best Books.” Outlook 60.14 (3 Dec 1898): 811-25.

Overland Monthly 32.190 (Oct 1898): 389.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Segrè, Carlo.  "An Italian Opinion of Helbeck of Bannisdale." 

     American Monthly Review of Reviews 19 (Jan. 1899): 116.

San Francisco Call 84.40 10 July 1898: 28.  California Digital

    Newspaper Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

San Francisco Chronicle 19 June 1898: 4.  ProQuest Historical

     Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Saturday Review 86.2242 (15 Oct 1898): 511-12.

W. P. T. Sewanee Review 6.4 (Oct 1898): 503-05.

Spectator 80 (11 June 1898): 826-27.

Spectator 80 (18-35 June 1898): 858, 906.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Novel.”  The Standard (London, England) 10 

    June 1898, n.p.  19th Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.

    8 November 2010.

The Times. 35539 10 June 1898: 12. The Times Digital Archive

    1785-1985.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Arnold, R. Arthur.  Westminster Review 150.5 (Nov 1898): 493-97.

 

Reviews of Eleanor, 1900

Academy 59 (3 Nov 1900): 409. Periodicals Archive Online.  Web.  

    24 October 2010. 

Athenaeum 3810(3 November 1900): 573-74.

“Mrs. Ward’s Later Novels.”  Atlantic Monthly 87.519 (Jan 1901): 127-32.

    Making of America (Cornell).  Web.  11 October 2010.

Hulbert, E. J.  “Mrs. Ward’s `Melancholy Literary Man.’”  Book Buyer 

    21.6 (Jan 1901): 581-83.

Clark, Keith.  “Eleanor and Romola.”  Book Buyer 22.6 (1 July 1901): 

    453-54.

Barry, William.  Bookman (London) 19.111 (Dec 1900): 83.

Cooper, Frederic Taber.  Bookman (NY) 12.4 (Dec 1900): 345-47.  

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Catholic World 72 (Jan 1901): 534-37.

Gilder, Jeannette L.  Chicago Daily Tribune 26 April 1902: 17.  

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010. 

Chicago Daily Tribune 27 Oct 1900: 10.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  28 November 2010.

Congregationalist 85.49 (8 Dec 1900): 855-56.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

J.L.G.  Critic 38 (Feb 1901): 162.  American Periodicals Series Online.  

    Web.  20 November 2010.

White, G. Conservative Review 5 (Mar 1901): 5-10.

Current Literature 30.2 (Feb 1901): 228-29.  American Periodicals    

    Series Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Payne, William Morton.  Dial 29.3 (16 Dec 1900): 496.

“Rome and the Novelists.”  Edinburgh Review 194.398 (Oct 1902): 276-300.

Harper’s Bazaar 33.46 (17 Nov 1900): 1860.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

“Notable Story by Mrs. Humphry Ward.”  Harper's Weekly 44.2290 (10 Nov 

    1900): 1060.  HarpWeek.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Independent 52 (29 Nov 1900): 2869-70.

Literary World 32.1 (1 Jan 1901): 6.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

London Quarterly Review 95 (1901): 193-98.

Nation 71 (27 Dec 1900): 514.

New World 9 (1900): 751.

Rice, H. G. P.  New York Times 10 Nov 1900: 762.

New York Times 8 Dec 1900: 862.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    11 October 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New Book.”  Penny Illustrated Paper and

    Illustrated Times (London, England) 17 November 1900, 316.  19th

    Century British Library Newspapers.  Web.  8 November 2010. 

J.D.T.  Primitive Methodist Quarterly Review n.s. 23 (April 1902): 212.

Revue bleue ser.4:15.5 (2 Feb 1901): 155-56.

Beerbohm, M.  Saturday Review 94 (8 Nov 1902): 580-81.

Edwards, G. C. Sewanee Review 9 (Jan 1901): 98-100.

The Times 36288 1 November 1900: 5.  Times Digital

    Archive 1785-1985.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Washington Post 26 Nov 1900: 9.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

     28 November 2010. 

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s Best Book.” Zion’s Herald 78.49 (5 Dec 1900); 1550.

     American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

 

Eleanor (Stage Play)

Chicago Daily Tribune 31 Oct 1902: 4. ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
    Web.  15 December 2010.

San Francisco Chronicle 31 Oct 1902: 1.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  15 December 2010.

Washington Post 9 Nov 1902: 29.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

     15 December 2010.

 

Reviews of Lady Rose's Daughter, 1902

Academy 64 (14 March 1903): 249.

Athenaeum 3936 (4 April 1903): 430-31.

Preston, Harriet Waters.  "Lady Rose's Daughter: The Novels of

     Mr. Norris."  Atlantic Monthly 91 (1903): 687-92.

Barry, William.  "Mrs. Humphry Ward's Julie."  Bookman

     (London) 24.139 (April 1903): 19-20.

Harter, Eugene Wendell.  "Some Old Love Letters."  Bookman (NY) 17.2 

     (May 1903): 193-95.  

Moss, Mary.  "Mrs. Ward's Lady Rose's Daughter."  Bookman (NY),

     17.3 (May 1903): 254-56.

Catholic World 77.459 (June 1903): 410-11.

Chautauquan 37.1 (April 1903): 108.  American Periodicals Series Online.

    Web.  20 November 2010.

Gilder, Jeannette L.  Chicago Daily Tribune 28 Feb 1903: 13.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Peattie, Elia W.  Chicago Daily Tribune 7 March 1903: 13.  ProQuest 

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Howland, George C.  Chicago Daily Tribune 22 March 1903: 4.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Congregationalist and Christian World 88.14 (4 April 1903): 493.

     American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Pratt, Cornelia Atwood.  “A Great Novel.”  Critic 42.4 (June 1903): 

    354-56.  American Periodicals Series Online. Web. 20 November 2010.

Beer, George Louis.  Critic 42.6 (June 1903): 534-35.

Dial 34 (1903): 241.

Edinburgh Review 198.405 (July 1903): 253-54.

Harper’s Bazaar 37.4 (April 1903): 384-85.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Harper's Weekly 46 (26 Apr 1903): 536-37.

Independent 55.2833 (19 March 1903): 682-83.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Strachey, Lionel.  "Lady Rose's Daughter, a Review of Mrs.

     Humphry Ward's New Novel."  The Lamp 26 (Mar 1903): 142-45.

Kerfoot, J. B.  Life 41.1066 (2 April 1903): 288-89.  American

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Literary Digest 16.12 (674) (21 March 1903): 435-36.

“Transferred Letters.”  Literary World 34.3 (March 1903): 51-52.

    American Periodicals Series Online. Web. 20 November 2010.

Living Age 237.3071 (16 May 1903): 445-46. American Periodicals Series

    Online. Web. 20 November 2010.

London Quarterly Review 10.1 (July 1903): 198.

Massachusetts Ploughman and New England Journal of Agriculture 62.29 

    (11 April 1903): 2.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 

    November 2010.

Nation 76 (16 Apr 1903): 317-18.

New York Times 14 March 1903): BR4.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  

    Web.  15 December 2010.

Mabie, H. W.  North American Review 176 (April 1903): 481-89.

Outlook 11 (1903): 188.

Pictorial Review 4.10 (July 1903): 37.  American Periodicals Series 

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Spectator 90:3897 (7 March 1903): 380.

Macdonell, John. Times Literary Supplement 60 6 March 1903: 72.

     TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Town and Country 2969 (11 April 1903): 34  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Washington Post 23 March 1903: 5.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    15 December 2010.

 

Lady Rose’s Daughter (Stage Play)

Chicago Daily Tribune 25 Sept 1903: 3.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  16 December 2010.

 

Reviews of The Marriage of William Ashe, 1905

"Mrs. Humphry Ward's New Novel."  Academy 68 (11 March 1905): 227-

     28.  Periodicals Archive Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

American Monthly Review of Reviews 31 (June 1905): 755-56.

Athenaeum 4038 (18 Mar 1905): 332-33.

Moss, M.  Atlantic Monthly 97 (Jan 1906): 43-59.

"A Word with Mrs Humphry Ward."  Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine

     178 (July 1905): 16-25.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s `Froufrou.’”  Bookman (London) 28.163 (April 1905): 

     21-22.

Cooper, Frederic Taber.  "The Personal Equation and Some Recent

     Books."  Bookman (NY) 21.3 (May 1905): 269-70.

     American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Gilder, Jeannette L.  “Lord Byron the Original of Mrs. Ward’s Latest 

     Hero.”  Chicago Daily Tribune 4 March 1905: 7.  ProQuest

     Historical Newspapers.  Web.  16 December 2010.

Congregationalist 90.13 (1 April 1905): 441.  American Periodicals

     Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Harwood, C.  "Mrs. Ward's Latest Semi-Historical Novel."  Critic

     46.5 (May 1905): 472-73.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  20 November 2010.

Leonard, Priscilla.  “A Novel of Reincarnation.”  Current Literature

    38.5 (May 1905): 417-421.  American Periodicals Series Online.

    Web.  20 November 2010.

Payne, William Morton.  “Recent Fiction."  Dial 41 (16 July

    1906): 36-39.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.

    20 November 2010. 

Horwill, Herbert W.  "Literature: Recent Fiction."  Forum 37

     (July 1905): 99-114.

Harper’s Bazaar 39.6 (June 1905): 592.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Gaines, C. H.  "The Marriage of William Ashe."  Harper's Weekly

    49 (18 March 1905): 392-93.

Independent 58.2938 (1905): 668-69.  American Periodicals Series Online.

    Web.  11 December 2010.

Kathioliek n.s. 128 (1905): 308.

Leisure Hour (May 1905): 610.

"Mrs. Humphry Ward's Art."  Living Age 245.3171 (15 April 1905): 186-90.

Logan, A. M.  "Mrs. Ward's Latest Novel."  Nation 80 (1905):

     336.

Rice, M. Cordon Pryor.  New York Times 11 March 1905: 146.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 December 2010.

New York Times 17 June 1905: 389.

“Lady Caroline Lamb.  The Use Made of Her History by Mrs. Humphry 

    Ward.”  New York Tribune 19 March 1905: 7.  Library of 

    Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  11 December 2010.

"Some Representative Novels."  Outlook 79 (1 April 1905): 771-

     73.

Pictorial Review 6.12 (Sept 1905): 49.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.   

"Society and Politics."  Public Opinion 38 (8 April 1905): 549-

    51.

Reader 5 (May 1905): 783.

Saturday Review 99 (18 March 1905): 349-50.

Spectator 94 (25 March 1905): 443-44.

Theatre 6 (1906): 3.

Lucas, Edward Verrall Lucas. Times Literary Supplement (165) 10 March 

    1905: 82.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Zion’s Herald 83.12 (22 March 1905): 374.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

 

The Marriage of William Ashe (Stage Play)

“Mrs. Ward’s Novel on the Stage as a Play.”  New York Times 22 Nov 1905: 

    11.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  11 December 2010.

The Times 38628 23 April 1908: 8.  The Times Digital

    Archive 1785-1985.  Web.  28 November 2010.

The Times 43823 1 Dec 1924: 10.  Times Digital Archive

     1785-1985.  Web.  28 November 2010. 

 

Reviews of Fenwick's Career, 1906

"A Novel of the Studio."  Academy 70 (5 May 1906): 422-33.

American Monthly Review of Reviews 33 (June 1906): 762.

Henderson, A.  Arena 36 (July 1906): 7-8.

Athenaeum 4098 (12 May 1906): 572.

Athenaeum 4101 (2 June 1906): 667-670.

Barry, William.  "A Romney for the Americans."  Bookman (London),

     30 (June 1906): 100.

Moss, Mary.  Bookman (NY) 23.5 (July 1906): 533-35.  American

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Burlington Magazine 9.40 (July 1906): 283.

J. K. M.  Cambridge Review 39.967 (24 Jan 1918): 213.

Congregationalist and Christian World 91.24 (16 June 1906): 855.

"Mrs. Ward's Recent Work."  Critic 49 (July 1906): 50-51.

Current Literature 41.2 (August 1906): 225.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Payne, W. M.  "Recent Fiction."  Dial 41 (16 July 1906): 36-39.

G. B. Dublin Review 139: 278 (July 1906): 198-200. 

Harper’s Bazaar 39.6 (June 1905): 592.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  15 December 2010.

Wellman, J.  Harper's Weekly 50 (9 June 1906): 818.

Independent 60.3002 (14 June 1906): 1432.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Kerfoot, J. B.  Life 47.1232 (7 June 1906): 702.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Literary Digest 33 (28 July 1906): 123-24.

London Quarterly Review 7 (July 1906): 167.

"Two Novels."  Nation 83 (1906): 15-16.

Rice, M. Gordon Pryor.  "'Fenwick's Career' and its Artistic

     Hero--Its Relation of the Story of George Rommey's Life."   

     New York Times 5 May 1906: 285-86.

New York Times 16 June 1906: 384.

Outlook (London) 17.435 (June 1906): 754.

Outlook (New York) 83.9 (30 June 1906): 500-02.  American Periodicals

     Series Online.  Web.  11 October 2010.

"The Artistic Temperament."  Public Opinion 40 (26 May 1906):

     660-61.

San Francisco Call 100.66 5 August 1906: 27.  California Digital

    Newspaper Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Saturday Review 101 (9 June 1906): 725-26.

Southern Planter 67.1 (January 1906): 74.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Spectator 96 (12 May 1906): 757-58.

Child, Harold Hannyngton. Times Literary Supplement 225 4 May 1906: 158.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Town and Country 3142 (4 August 1906): 27.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

World To-Day 11 (July 1906): 765.

 

Reviews of The Testing of Diana Mallory, 1908

A. L. A. Booklist 4 (Oct 1908): 246.

Academy 75 (26 September 1908): 304-05.  American Periodicals Series  

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Athenaeum 4223 (3 Oct 1908): 397.

Boynton, H. W.  Bookman (NY) 28 (Oct 1908): 149-50. 

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Current Literature 45.5 (November 1908): 577-78.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Payne, William Morton.  "Recent Fiction."  Dial 45.540 (16 Dec 1908): 

    454-55. American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Dublin Review 144.288 (Jan 1909): 196.

"Mrs. Ward's Latest Novel."  Independent 65 (1908): 896-97. 

Independent 65 (15 Oct 1908): 1182.

Literary Digest 37 (24 Oct 1908): 604-0.

Nation 87.2255 (17 Sept 1908): 264-65.  The Nation Archive.  Web.

     28 November 2010.

"The Testing of Diana Mallory the Most Individual of Its

     Author's Books--An Adorable Heroine Too Good for the Cad She

     Marries."  New York Times 19 Sept 1908: 505-06.  ProQuest

     Historical Newspapers.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Rudyard, Charlotte  Louise.  North American Review 188.636 (Nov 1908): 

     779-84. Periodicals Archive Online.  Web.  20 November 2010.

Outlook 90.9 (31 October 1908): 502.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  20 November 2010. 

Repplier, A.  Outlook 90 (28 Nov 1908): 697.

Review of Reviews (New York) 38 (Nov 1908): 634. 

San Francisco Call 104.133  11 Oct 1908: 7.  California Digital

    Newspaper Collection.  Web.  30 November 2010. 

Saturday Review 106.2762 (3 Oct 1908): 425-26.

Spectator 101.4188 (3 Oct 1908): 506.

Macdonell, John.  Times Literary Supplement 349 17 Sept 1908): 301.

     TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  20 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Daphne (U.S. title: Marriage à la Mode), 1909

Athenaeum 4258 (5 June 1909): 669-70.

Atlantic Monthly 104 (Nov 1909): 683-84.

"Marriage à la Mode."  Bookman (London) 36.213 (June 1909): 141.

Boynton, H. W.  Bookman (New York) 29.5 (July 1909): 537-39.

Catholic World 89 (Sept. 1909): 823. 

Current Literature 47.2 (August 1909): 224. American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Payne, W. M. Dial 47.554 (16 July 1909): 46.

Independent 66.3158 (10 June 1909): 1295-96.

“Love and Honor.  Their Curious Relations in Mrs. Humphry Ward’s New 

    Novel.” New York Daily Tribune.  4 Oct 1908: 7.  Library of 

    Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  11 December 2010.  

“An English Tale of Our Divorces.”  New York Times 19 June 1909: BR 386.

     ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Britannicus.  “Divorce in America and England.”  North American Review

    190.646 (Sept 1909): 296-307.  JSTOR.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Outlook (London) 23.592 (June 1909): 781.

Boynton, H. W.  Putnam’s Monthly & the Critic 6 (July 1909): 494.

Review of Reviews (New York) 40 (July 1909): 124.

San Francisco Call 106.20 20 June 1909: 7.  California Digital

    Newspaper Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Saturday Review 107 (19 June 1909): 787.

Spectator 102:4221 (22 May 1909): 823.

Child, Harold Hannyngton. Times Literary Supplement 385 27 May 1909:

    197.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Canadian Born (U.S. title: Lady Merton, Colonist) 1909-10

A. L. A. Booklist 6 (May 1910): 356.

Hawthorne, Hildegarde.  Bookman (NY) 31.3 (May 1910): 308-09.

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Bookman (London) 38.335 (June 1910): 135.

Catholic World 91 (June 1910): 390-91.

Peattie, Elia W. Chicago Daily Tribune 16 April 1910: 11.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Current Literature 48.6 (June 1910): 684-85.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Payne, William Morton.  Dial 48.575 (1 June 1910): 394.

Dublin Review 147.294 (July 1910: 199.

Independent 68 (16 June 1910): 1346-47.

Ladies’ Home Journal 26 (Oct 1909): 7-8.

Literary Digest 40 (21 May 1910): 1042-43.

Wright, Willard Huntington.  Los Angeles Times 8 May 1910: 1123.

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010.  

Nation 90.2338 (21 April 1910): 402.

Gauss, Christian.  New York Times 16 April 1910: BR1-2.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010.

New York Tribune 19 June 1910: 7.  Library of Congress Chronicling  

    America.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Outlook (London) 25.638 (April 1910): 596.

Outlook (U.S.) 95 (7 May 1910): 36.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  21 November 2010.

"The New Books."  Review of Reviews (New York) 41 (June 1910):

     759-68.

Saturday Review 109 (30 April 1910): 564-66.

Spectator 104.4269 (23 April 1910): 679.

Grigg, Edward William Macleay. "The Spirit of the West."  Times

    Literary Supplement 431 14 April 1910: 132.  TLS Centenary Archive.

    Web.  21 November 2010.

 

Reviews of the Westmoreland Edition

Gilder, Jeannette L.  “Mrs. Ward on Her Own Work.”  Chicago Daily  

     Tribune 13 July 1912: 10.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

     15 December 2010.

Outlook 98.1 (6 May 1911): 41.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  16 December 2010. 

Reviews of The Case of Richard Meynell, 1911

A. L. A. Booklist 8 (Dec 1911): 176.

Academy 81 (18 November 1911): 635.  Periodicals Archive Online.

    Web.  21 November 2010.

Academy and Literature 2063 (18 Nov 1911): 635.

Athenaeum 4383 (28 Oct 1911): 516.

Burton, R.  Bellman 11 (9 Dec 1911): 754.

Bookman (London) 41.243 (Dec 1911): 166.

McComb, Samuel.  Bookman (NY) 34.5 (Jan 1912): 544-46.  American

    Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Christian World 26 Oct 1911: 13.

Church Times 17.2547 Nov 1911: 672-73.

Current Literature 52.4 (April 1912): 480-81.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Daily News (London) 26 Oct 1911: 3.

Payne, William Morton.  Dial 52.613 (1 Jan 1912): 22.

"The Case of Richard Meynell."  Dublin Review 150 (April 1912):

     419-21.

Englische Studien 44 (1912): 432.

Guardian 3 Nov 1911: 1489-90.

de Selincourt, Basil.  Manchester Guardian 26 Oct 1911: 4.

Nation 93.2425 (21 Dec 1911): 604-05.  Academic Search Complete.  Web.     

    11 October 2010.

"Mrs. Ward as a Melodrama Writer."  New York Times 10 Dec 1911:

     819.

Outlook (London) 28.718 (Nov. 1911): 627.

Pall Mall Gazette 30 Oct 1911: 4.

Record 10 Nov 1911: 1054.

Saturday Review 112 (11 Nov 1911): 617.

Spectator 107.4350 (11 Nov 1911): 785-86.

W., N. H.  "Religious Controversy and the Novel."  T. P.'s

     Weekly 18 (3 Nov 1911): 557.

Macdonell, John.  Times Literary Supplement 511 (26 Oct 1911): 412.

     TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Westminster Gazette (26 Oct 1911): 1-2.

 

Reviews of The Mating of Lydia, 1913

A. L. A. Booklist 9 (May 1913): 402.

Academy and Literature 85 (26 July 1919): 111  Periodicals Archive

    Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

"Some Novels of Morals and Manners."  American Review of Reviews

     47 (May 1913): 629-30.

Athenaeum 15.4455 (15 Mar 1913): 308.

Atlantic Monthly 112 (Nov 1913): 689-701.

Bookman (London) 44.259 (Spring Supplement 1913): 14-15.

Cooper, Frederic Taber.  Bookman (NY) 37.4 (June 1913): 443-44.   

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

E. F. E.  Boston Transcript 9 April 1913: 25.

Payne, William Morton.  "Recent Fiction."  Dial 54.647 (1 June

     1913), 462-65.  American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.

     21 November 2010.

Literary Digest 46 (19 April 1913): 898.

New York Sun 5 April 1913: 39.

“Mrs. Ward’s Lydia: A Novel That Is Exceedingly Modern—With a

     Difference.” New York Times 6 April 1913: BR200.  ProQuest

     Historical Newspapers.  Web.  21 November 2010.

"The New Books."  Outlook 104.1 (3 May 1913): 36.

San Francisco Call 113.135 14 April 1913: 7.  California Digital

     Newspaper Collection.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Saturday Review 115 (15 March 1913): 334-35.

Spectator 110.4420 (15 March 1913): 454-55.

Springfield Republican 10 April 1913: 5.

Schuster, Claud.  Times Literary Supplement 582 6 March 1913: 101.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Reviews of The Coryston Family, 1913

A. L. A. Booklist 10 (Nov. 1913): 119. 

Academy and Literature 85 (1 November 1913): 558-59.  Periodicals

    Archive Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Athenaeum 4485 (11 Oct 1913) 382.

Bookman (London) 45.266 (Nov 1913): 115.

Guernsey, Edith Talbot.  Bookman (NY) 38.4 (Dec 1913): 428-29.

    American Periodicals Series Online.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Edgett, E. T.  Boston Transcript 13 October 1913: 24.

“Mrs. Ward’s Wrangly Romance.”  Chicago Daily Tribune  1 Nov 1913: 10.  

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web. 21 November 2010.

Dublin Review 154.309 (1914): 378-80.

Howells, W. D.  Harper's 128 (Jan 1914): 310-13.

Independent 76 (4 Dec 1913): 457.

Nation 97.2525 (20 Nov 1913): 482.  Nation Archive.  Web.  21 November 

    2010.

New York Sun 15 Nov 1913: 13.

“Mater, Tyrannus.”  New York Times 19 October 1913: BR563.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Outlook 105 (15 Nov 1913): 572.

Saturday Review 116 (11 Oct 1913): supplement p. 8-9.

Spectator 111.4451 (18 Oct 1913): 616.

De La Mare, Walter.  Times Literary Supplement 613 (9 October 1913): 

    429-30. Times Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Child, Harold Hannyngton.  Times Literary Supplement 486 (30 October 

    1913): 486. Times Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Delia Blanchflower, 1915

A. L. A. Booklist 11 (Oct 1914): 78.

Bookman (London) 47 (March 1915): 188.

E. F. E. Boston Transcript 23 September 1914: 20.

Dublin Review 157.312/313 (1915): 406-07. 

Nation 99 (15 Oct 1914): 462.

New York Times 27 September 1914: 397-98.

Outlook 108 (9 Dec 1914): 843-44.

Spectator 114 (30 January 1915): 163-64.

Springfield Republican 3 Oct 1914: 5.

Child, Harold Hannyngton. Times Literary Supplement 680 28 January

     1915: 28.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Eltham House, 1915

A. L. A. Booklist 12 (Dec 1915): 140.

America 14:2 (23 Oct 1915): 41-44. 

Athenaeum 4590 (16 October 1915): 263.

Bookman (London) 49.292 (Jan 1916): 134.

E. F. E. Boston Transcript 29 September 1915: 22.

Peattie, Elia W. “Holland House in Modern Novel.”  Chicago Daily

    Tribune 16 Oct 1915: 9.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    17 December 2010. 

Hale, E. E.  Dial 59 (11 Nov 1915): 422.

Independent 84 (1 Nov 1915): 196.

Literary Digest 51 (13 Nov 1915): 1090.

Nation 101.2623 (7 October 1915):437.  Nation Archive.  Web.

    21 November 2010.

New Statesman 6.133 (23 October 1915): 66.

“Mrs. Ward on a Problem of Divorce.”  New York Times 26 Sept 1915: BR1.

       ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.

Outlook 111 (6 Oct 1915): 335.

San Francisco Chronicle 24 Oct 1915: 23. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. 

       Web.  17 December 2010

Saturday Review 121 (8 Jan 1916): 43-44.

Spectator 115.4556 (23 Oct 1915): 546-47.

Springfield Republican 14 Oct 1915: 5.

Child, Harold Hannyngton. Times Literary Supplement 21 Oct 1915: 366.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

Wilson Bulletin (White Plains, N.Y.) 11 (Oct 1915): 299.

 

Review of A Great Success, 1915

Athenaeum April 1916: 196.

Bookman (London) 50.299 (Aug 1916):142.

"Mrs. Humphry Ward's War-Time Mood."  Boston Evening Transcript

     19 April 1916: 22.

Chicago Daily Tribune 26 August 1916: 7. ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web.  21 November 2010.

New Statesman 6.155 (25 March 1916): 598-99.

"Mrs. Humphry Ward's Touch."  Saturday Review 121 (18 March 

    1916): 283-84.

Spectator 116 (8 Apr 1916): 471.

Springfield Republican 7 May 1916: 17.

De la Mare, Walter.  Times Literary Supplement 739 16 March 1916: 126.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Lady Connie, 1916

A. L. A. Booklist 13 (Dec 1916): 127.

Athenaeum Oct 1916: 482.

Boynton, H. W.  Bookman (NY) 44.4 (Dec 1916): 391-92.

E.F.E. Boston Transcript 25 Oct 1916: 8.

Hale, Edward E.  Dial 61 (16 Nov 1916): 396-98.

Boynton, H. W.  Nation 103 (30 Nov 1916): 507-08.

Nation 103 (21 Dec 1916): 588.

New York Times 29 Oct 1916: 460.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  21 November 2010.

San Francisco Chronicle 19 Nov 1916: 22.  ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web  17 December 2010.

Saturday Review 122 (14 Oct 1916): 371.

Spectator 117.4607 (14 Oct 1916): 447.

Brodribb, Arthur Aikin. Times Literary Supplement 768 5 Oct 1916: 474.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  21 November 2010.

 

Reviews of England's Effort, Six Letters to an American Friend, 1916

A.L.A. Booklist 15 (Dec 1918): 111.

American Review of Reviews 54 (July 1916): 116.  

Athenaeum June 1916: 292.

E. F. E. Boston Transcript 3 June 1916: 6.

Catholic World 108 (Dec 1918): 403.

Wilson, Carolyn.  “England Plans To Mold Opinion of Americans.”

    Chicago Daily Tribune 9 July 1916: A3.  ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.  

Peattie, Elia W.  “Mrs. Ward Tells Britain’s Effort.”  Chicago Daily

     Tribune 10 March 1917: 7.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

     17 December 2010. 

Dial 65 (14 Dec 1918): 492.

Independent 87.3535 (4 Sept 1916): 348.  American Periodicals Series

    Online.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Literary Digest 53 (23 Sept 1916): 751.

"Notes."  Nation 102 (1916): 712-15.

New Republic 8.100 (30 Sept 1916): 229.

“Mrs. Ward in England’s Defense.”  New York Times 28 May 1916: 221, 228.

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Carr, D. W.  Publishers Weekly 94 (19 Oct 1918): 1294.

Review of Reviews 54 (July 1916): 116.

San Francisco Chronicle 25 June 1916: 45.  ProQuest Historical

     Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.

Saturday Review 127 (4 Jan 1919): 17.

Spectator 116.4590 (17 June 1916): 752-53.

Springfield Republican 2 June 1916: 15.

Child, Harold Hannyngton. Times Literary Supplement 753 (15 June 1916): 

    279.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Missing, 1917

A. L. A. Booklist 14 (Feb 1918): 171.

Athenaeum Nov 1917: 597.

Boynton, H. W.  "Ideals and allegiances in current fiction." 

    Bookman (NY) 46.5 (Jan 1918): 598-604.  American Periodicals

    Series Online.  Web.  2 October 2010.

Boynton, H. W.  "A Stroll Through the Fair of Fiction."  Bookman

    (NY) 46.3 (Nov 1917): 337-42.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  2 October 2010.

E. F. E.  "War's Message to the Home Watcher."  Boston Evening

     Transcript 3 Nov 1917: 8.

“Reverent Note in Fiction.” Christian Century 34.51 (20 Dec 1917): 9-10. 

Dial 64 (31 Jan 1918): 117.  American Periodicals Series Online.

     Web.  2 October 2010.

Douglas, George W.  “Mrs. Ward’s War Novel and Hugh Gibson’s Story of 

    Belgium.”  Evening Ledger (Philadelphia) 3 Nov 1917: 5.  Library of 

    Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  11 December 2010.

Evening Missourian (Columbia) 16 Dec 1917: 6. Library of 

    Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  11 December 2010.

"Old Battles."  Nation 106 (24 Jan 1918): 94-95.

New Statesman 10.237 (20 October 1917): 65.

New York Times 28 Oct 1917: BR1-2.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  

     Web.  2 October 2010.

Open Shelf (Jan 1918): 3.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s First Novel of the Great War.”  San Francisco 

    Chronicle 10 Feb 1918: 2E.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    17 December 2010. 

Saturday Review of Politics, Literature, Science and Art 124.3233 

    (13 Oct 1917): 290.

Spectator 119.4663 (10 Nov 1917): 528.

Springfield Republican 10 Feb 1918: 13.

Child, H.  Times Literary Supplement 820  4 Oct 1917: 476.

    TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Towards the Goal, 1917

A.L.A. Booklist 14 (Oct 1917): 21. 

Athenaeum (Sept 1917): 476.

D. L. M.  Boston Transcript 5 Sept 1917: 6.

Cambridge Review 39.967 (1917): 213.

Peattie, Elia W.  “Progress of the War Reviewed by Mrs. Ward.”  Chicago

    Daily Tribune 1 Dec 1917: 10.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    17 December 2010. 

“England’s Progress Toward the Goal.”  Evening Ledger (Philadelphia) 18 

    August 1917: 5. Library of Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  11 

    December 2010.

Independent 92 (17 Nov 1917): 342.

Monthly Bulletin of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh 22 (Oct 1917): 

    684.

"The Spirit of the Allies."  Nation 105 (1917): 542-43.

New Statesman 10 (1917/18): 168

“America and England as They Face War.”  New York Times 19 Aug 1917: 

    BR1.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.

    2 October 2010.  

Open Shelf (Nov 1917): 118.

San Francisco Chronicle 21 Oct 1917: E2.  ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010. 

Saturday Review 124 (18 Aug 1917): 132.

Spectator 119 (6 Oct 1917): 358-59.

Springfield Republican 19 Aug 1917: 15.

Gibble.  Times Literary Supplement 811 2 Aug 1917: 363.  TLS Centenary

    Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.  

 

Reviews of The War and Elizabeth (UK)/Elizabeth’s Campaign (US), 1918

A. L. A. Booklist 15 (Dec 1918): 111.

E. F. E. Boston Transcript 19 October 1918: 6.

Catholic World 108 (Dec 1918): 403-04.

Dial 65.779 (14 Dec 1918): 574.  American Periodicals Series Online.

    Web.  27 November 2010.

Nation 107 (26 Oct. 1918): 492-93.

New York Times 13 October 1918: 445.  Historical Index to the NY Times,

    1851-1922.  Web.  27 November 2010. 

Outlook 120 (Nov. 6, 1918): 380

Carr, D. W.  Publisher's Weekly 94 (1918): 1294.

San Francisco Chronicle 10 Nov 1918: 95.  ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.

Saturday Review, 127 (4 Jan 1919): 17.

Spectator 121 (21 Dec 1918): 735.

Child, Harold Hannyngton.  Times Literary Supplement 880   28 November 

    1918: 582. TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

 

Reviews of A Writer's Recollections, 1918

A.L.A. Booklist 15 (Feb 1919): 183.

West, Rebecca.  Bookman (London) 55.317 (Dec. 1918): 106-07.

E.F.E.  "Mrs. Humphry Ward's Recollections."  Boston Evening

     Transcript 18 Dec 1918: 10.

Harper’s 136 (Jan 1918): 161-75.

[Murry, John Middleton.]  "The Victorian Solitude."  Living Age

     299 (8.12) (1918), 680-82. 

West, Rebecca.  "Mrs Humphry Ward Again."  Living Age 300.3887

    (1919): 297-300.

Young, Gordon Ray.  Los Angeles Times 29 Dec 1918: III 21.  ProQuest

    Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.

“England of Yesterday.”  New York Times 17 Nov 1918: 34.  ProQuest

     Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010.

Gilman, Lawrence.  "The Mind of Mrs. Humphry Ward."  North

     American Review 209 (Feb 1919): 267-71.  JSTOR.  Web.

     2 October 2010.

"Mrs. Ward."  Saturday Review 126 (2 Nov 1918): 1015-16.

"Mrs. Humphry Ward's Recollections."  Spectator 121 (2 Nov

     1918): 486-87.

Bailey, John Cann. "Mrs. Ward's Recollections."  Times Literary

    Supplement  494 17 October 1918: 494.  TLS Centenary Archive.

    Web.  28 November 2010.  

Reviews of Fields of Victory, 1919

A. L. A. Booklist 16 (Nov 1919): 52.

American Review of Reviews (U.S.) 61 (Jan 1920): 106.

Boston Transcript 8 October 1919: 4.

Catholic World 110 (Feb 1920): 694.

Dial 67.802 (1 Nov 1919): 384.  American Periodicals Series Online.  

    Web.  28 November 2010.

“Mrs. Humphry Ward’s War Letters.”  Los Angeles Times 19 Oct 1919: III 

    34.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010. 

Nation 110 (31 Jan 1920): 151.

M. C. New Republic 20.257 (8 Oct 1919): 299.

New York Times 28 September 1919: BR498.  ProQuest Historical

    Newspapers.  Web.  28 November 2010.

Outlook 123 (12 Nov 1919): 309.

Review 1 (29 Nov 1919): 623.

Spectator 123 (26 Jul 1919): 115-16.

Springfield Republican 12 Dec 1919: 8.

Collett, Anthony Keeling.  Times Literary Supplement  914 24 July 1919: 

    396.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.  

 

Reviews of Cousin Philip (U. S. title: Helena), 1919

Mansfield, Katherine.  "A Post-War and a Victorian Novel." 

     Athenaeum (19 Dec 1919): 1371.

Scarborough, Dorothy.  "Among the New Novels."  Bookman (NY) 50.6

     (Feb 1920): 629.

E.F.E.  "Mrs. Humphry Ward and English Life."  Boston Evening

     Transcript 3 December 1919: 8.

Ford, Thomas F. and Lillian C. Ford.  Los Angeles Times 7 Dec 1919: III 

     33.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 2010. 

"The Elder Novelists."  Nation 109 (20 Dec 1919): 801-02.

New York Times 23 November 1919: BR1.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

     Web.  28 November 2010.

Outlook 123 (24 Dec 1919): 550.

Boynton, H. W.  "Notes on the New Girl."  Review 1 (13 Dec

     1919): 664.

Mavity, Nancy Barr.  “The Post-War Girl.”  San Francisco Chronicle 23 

    May 1920: E2.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Web.  17 December 

    2010. 

"The Post-War Girl."  Saturday Review 128 (6 Dec 1919): 538.

Child, Harold Hannyngton.  Times Literary Supplement 932 27 November 

    1919: 694.  TLS Centenary Archive.  Web.  28 November 2010.

 

Reviews of Harvest, 1920

Mansfield, Katherine.  "Mrs. Humphry Ward's Last Novel." 

    Athenaeum (7 May 1920), 606.  Repr. Novels & Novelists.  Ed. 

    Mansfield. London: Constable, 1930.  182-83.

Lawrence, C. E.  Bookman (London) 63.344 (May 1920): 90-92.  

E. F. E. Boston Transcript 5 May 1920: 4.

Field, L. M.  New York Times 4 April 1920: 152.

New York Times 4 April 1920: 11.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  15 December 2010.

New York Times 18 April 1920: BR180. ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

    Web.  15 December 2010.

“Harvest Approaches the Mark Set by Robert Elsmere.” New York Tribune

    25 April 1920: 11.  Library of Congress Chronicling America.  Web.  

    11 December 2010.

Outlook 125 (9 June 1920): 280.

Spectator 124 (10 April 1920): 494.

Springfield Republican 22 August 1920: 11A.

Child, Harold Hannyngton.  Times Literary Supplement 951 8 April 1920, 

    222.  TLS Centenary Archive.  28 November 2010.

Boynton, H. W.  The Weekly Review 2 (30 June 1920): 680.