Skip to main content

Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs): Introduction

Introduction

A Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) or Civil Society Organization (CSO) is any organization not established by government agreement.  In practice they comprise the "third sector" of modern society, in addition to the public and private sectors.  For more background see What is an NGO? by Peter Willetts at City University, London.

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Library News (All)

The latest news from the UC Berkeley Libraries.

Loading

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Search Engines & Directories

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories  and the NGO search engine below.

NGO Custom Search Engine


Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

Yearbook of International Organizations Online. Includes all data published in the printed Yearbook of international organizations. 

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus. 

Gale Directory Library. Directories of organizations (including the Encyclopedia of Associations & National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations) with statistics.

Foundations Directory. Funding sources for non-profit grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities.. Includes some non-U.S Sources

Directory of Development Organizations. Over 47,000 organizations of all kinds listed by region and country. One of the most extensive compilation of NGO country directories.

World Directory of Development Organizations and Programs. NGO Internet database. Searchable by name, country of activity, field, and project.

Find NGO Publications

CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.

Eldis. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

NGO Accountability

NGO Accoutability CharterReports from global civil society organizations to comply with a charter designed to foster NGO transparency and accountability. 

Charity Navigator.  Nation's largest evaluator of charities: objective, numbers-based rating system to assess America's best-known charities.

Charity Watch.  "Dives deep" to  inform users how efficiently a charity uses donations to fund programs.

International Aid Transparency Initiative. Seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources in order to increase their effectiveness in tackling poverty.

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.