Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Introduction

A Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) or Civil Society Organization is any organization not established by government agreement. They comprise the "third sector" of modern society, in addition to the public and private sectors. For more background please see What is a Non-Governmental Organization? by Peter Willetts at City University, London.

Search

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories  and the NGO search engine below.

NGO Custom Search Engine


Foundations Directory. Funding sources for non-profit grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities.

Gale Directory Library. Directories of organizations (including the Encyclopedia of Associations & National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations) with statistics.

Guide Star. Profiles, data and general information on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and by the nonprofits themselves.

Reliefweb. Humanitarian information service provided by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports.  Annual Reports from an international survey of scholars, donors, policy makers, and journalists to rank think tanks.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus.

WANGOWorldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.

NGO Publications

CGS PolicyArchive. Rsource for a range of documents produced by think tanks in the United States. Archive with summaries, videos, reports, & university, government and foundation-funded research. 

Eldis. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

IssueLab. Searchable publications and reports in the social services sector including case studies, evaluations, white papers, and briefs.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

NGO Accountability

Charity Navigator. Nation's largest evaluator of charities.

Charity Watch.  "Dives deep" to  inform users how efficiently a charity uses donations to fund programs.

Guide Star. Profiles and data on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits.

International Aid Transparency Initiative. Seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources in tackling poverty.

Source WatchTracks corporate front campaigns and think tanks funded by lobby groups, etc, posing as non-partisan groups.