A-Z Databases

Comprehensive resource for students, faculty and researchers at the Masters or PhD level in Biomedical Science fields outside the usual medical track. Key texts such as
Principles of Neural Science, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Cassarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Harrison’s Infectious Diseases, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, and more.

Titles from Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda offer deep and unique coverage of nearly a century of African history. Titles were selected from CRL and member collections to complement and extend the range of material available in Series 1.

"A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years."

"Access to this resource was made possible with help from English department faculty Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English, Professor Jeffrey Knapp and James D. Hart Chair in English, Professor James Turner."

The collection is browsable and searchable. Lecture slides and the full text of the lectures are available.

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

"Bloomberg Businessweek has been a leading business and financial news magazine for both business managers and consumers since 1929."

This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.

Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.

Presents the first attempt at etymologizing the ancestral vocabulary of the Romance languages since the publication of Meyer-Lübke’s REW. Deviating from practices commonly accepted and applied in etymological research, the DÉRom adopts a method that has so far, due to the extensive documentation of written Latin, been dismissed as being little viable for Romance Studies: the comparative analysis of grammar, used to reconstruct proto-Romance lexemes.

Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. Materials selected are from non-commercial publishing sources and supplement disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public). Disaster Lit includes records for surveys, interview scripts, and other tools recommended for use in data collection following a disaster.

"Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style."

"Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February, 1930 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format."

"Gallup Analytics allows users to access and use the wealth of Gallup polling data. Polling topics include views on the government, education, well-being, economics, politics. For the United States, it includes new data, as well as historical data to discover trends at the country or state level. Users can track polling data for countries around the globe from 2005-present. All trends are easily searchable and exportable. Subscribers can view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings, including direct citations of Gallup's work. Also includes access to Gallup Brain, with polling data going back to the 1930's for the U.S." Access is limited to one user at a time.

"It provides access to:
I. The current version of Mapire contains the first military survey (1764-1784) as well as the second military survey (1806-1869). Both of them is scaled 1 to 28.800 and covers the entire Habsburg empire.
II. Cadastral maps were made in all the territories of the Habsburg Empire during the 19th century. The survey was unified scale (1:2.880), same geodetic system and same legend.
III. Historical maps of Budapest (capital of Hungary) are masterpieces of the map series representing the territory of Budapest. "

Functional annotations relating to biological and chemical interactions, cellular phenotypes, and disease processes are referenced from the scientific literature.

"Records for more than 860,000 items, including sale prices and descriptions of condition, auctioned in Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Austria, and Switzerland."

"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Life Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."

"These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields.

Approximately 220 unique titles are held in institutions around the world with most held in Mexico and the United States. The project currently brings together 15 partner institutions in Mexico, the United States, South America, and Europe."

The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. LusOpenEdition is made possible with financial support from Centre pour l’édition électronique ouverte (Cléo, 2011- ), Centro em Rede de Investigação em Antropologia (2011- ), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (2011-2014), and ISCTE-Instituto Universitário de Lisboa (2016 – ).

The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes Japan’s newly founded vassal state Manchoukuo, as the showcase state for Japan’s cultural, political and technological leadership of Asia. Complemented here by Manchuria Magazine, Manchuria Month, Contemporary Manchuria and the Manchuria Information Bulletin, the Manchuria Daily News offers scholars of the modern history of Japan in China a multifaceted view of competing Japanese agendas in the China theatre.

"Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. To support engineering research, the database provides easy access to millions of bibliographic abstracts for the widest and deepest coverage of new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation."

This database also includes the content found within the Earthquake Engineering Abstracts database.

Includes captions and synchronized transcript.

"Mint Global includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.

The same data is accessible with an expanded interface via Orbis. "

"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "

The James M. Kilts Center for Marketing at Chicago Booth and the Nielsen Company have partnered to make two consumer marketing datasets available to US-based academic researchers. The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets. Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.

Mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.

"Ogonek would serve its mission with certain aplomb and sophistication. Lacking the crudeness and the bombast of the main organs of Communist Party propaganda, Ogonek was able to become one of the most influential shapers and reflectors of the public character of the Soviet culture. Although it did so by imposing structural limitations on accepted and acceptable cultural expressions, it was nevertheless able
to win over even non-believers in the Communist experiment if simply because it became synonymous with cultural good taste. Every self-respecting Soviet intellectual was expected to read Ogonek if he or she was to stay informed about the cultural world in which he or she lived and moved."

"Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.

The same data is accessible with a simpler interface via Mint Global. "

This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.

The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation—found within The Guatemala Collection are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica and the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” (formerly known as Archivo Eclesiástico de Guatemala) in Guatemala City.

"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."