Library Guides: The Bancroft Library Archived Websites: Home

Background

For over twenty-five years, The Bancroft Library has created and hosted numerous themed digital collections websites; some pertaining to specific digitization projects and others deposited with The Bancroft Library for preservation. As the Berkeley Library has instituted new portals to access Digital Collections as well as new standards around web accessibility, the Library made the decision to stop hosting these pages in 2024.

Most of the content was crawled and saved on the Internet Archive, although not all functionality was captured in these versions. This LibGuide aims to preserve and improve discoverability of the project websites by providing entries for each project including its name, description, connected resources, and archived links.

The intentions of the original project websites include highlighting library materials, improving access and discovery through digitization, and making connections between collection materials, historical narratives and analysis, and external resources. This LibGuide attempts to honor these intentions by providing links to relevant digital collections and the current forms of these projects and library resources wherever possible.

The Bancroft Library acknowledges the work done by its staff and internal and external partners to create these sites as an essential form of public access and outreach for library collections.

Using this guide

Using the index
- See A-Z listing for an index of the archived digital projects and websites previously hosted by The Bancroft Library
  - These sites are organized by curatorial subject (History of Science and Technology, Pictorial, Rare Books and Literature, University Archives, and Western Americana)
- Click on the project name to be linked directly to the project entry
Browsing
- Navigate to the tabs of the left of the page to view project entries for the corresponding curatorial subject area
Project entries contain:
- Description of the collection, project, and/or website
- Links to secondary sources about the project
- Links to current versions of these resources including:
  - Digital material hosted on Berkeley Library Digital Collections
  - Collection finding aids on the Online Archive of California
  - New iterations of the projects
- "Archived Project Website" tabs contain a link and citation for the webpage archived on the Wayback Machine
  - These archived project websites direct users to a project landing page that links out to a separate site
  - The Wayback Machine can be difficult to use and subpages and interactive features such as timelines and maps are often not preserved
    - When navigating within archived websites, you may find that not all links are functional. You may have to click around to see what features work and navigate back to the initial homepage as needed

A-Z listing

Archival photographs of the UC Berkeley Library

The Bancroft Library, 1980s?

The Bancroft Library, reading room (recent), UARC PIC 9C:112 sheet 2:3, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1195

View of a special collections reading room with rows of card catalogs, a table with rolling chairs, a bookcase full of books, and cart with archival cartons present

The Bancroft Library, 1911

Transcription: Doe Library, N.E. 1st floor room. At first used as the Bancroft Library Reading Room.

The Bancroft Library, 1911. N.E. First floor of the main library. Days Of Cal, UARC PIC 9C:1, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1125

Large room separated by railing. On the far side there is a desk, long table, and row of shelves containing newspapers.

The Bancroft Library, 1966

UC Berkeley, old scales and original gold nugget in the Bancroft Library. Photograph by Ansel Adams, 1902-1984. Fiat lux photographs documenting the University of California, UARC PIC 1800:182, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/207503

Brass scales holding a gold nugget in front of three rows of hardbound books displayed spine out.

Morrison Library (Doe Library), 1928

Doe Library, 1928, View of Morrison Library upon completion in February. Days Of Cal, UARC PIC 9:28b. The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1158

Interior view of lounge style library reading room. There are plush chairs, lamps on the tables, and chandeliers hanging from the textured ceiling.

Doe Library, 1909

Doe Library, May 25, 1909. View of granite inscribed "University Library" being prepared for placement on north facade. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 9:3, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1138

Six foot tall marble slab with University Library etched into it is on the ground in front of a large building under construction.

Doe Library, 1948

Doe Library, 1948. View of north facade. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 9:45, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1149

View of the north facing facade of Doe Library. There are granite stairs leading to a large Greco style building with The University Library etched below the roof.

Doe Library, 1968

UC Berkeley, Doe Library, 1968. Fiat lux photographs documenting the University of California, UARC PIC 1800:558, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/207492

Corner facade of Doe Library, a large multistory building made of marble and large windows with surrounding trees and landscaping.

Doe Library, 1924

Doe Library, 1924. View from Mechanical Arts Building across Botanical Garden of north and east facades, with basement of North Hall at left, and portions of Wheeler Hall in left background and California Hall in right background. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 9:27b, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1169

View of Doe Library, a large L-shaped building with an ornate marble facade surrounded by palm trees and other trees in a garden.

Campanile and the absence of Doe Library, 1914

Campanile, 1914. View from top of Mechanical Arts Building, showing granite complete about thirty percent. Bacon Hall at left, portions of South Hall and Annex and Harmon Gymnasium in background. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 8:47, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1189

Scaffolding of a large clock tower (Campanile) under construction showing 30 percent granite completion.

Campanile and Doe Library, 1924

Campanile, 1924. View of Campanile esplanade and portions of Mechanical Arts Building at left, LeConte Hall, Bacon Hall, Stephens Hall, and, in background, Memorial Stadium. View from roof of Doe Library, with roof of South Hall Annex at right., Days of Cal, UARC PIC 8:38. The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1080

Sepia tone image of an eastern view of the UC Berkeley campus, with a lawn esplanade leading to a large clock tower (Campanile) centered in front of multistory university buildings and the Berkeley hills.

Bacon Library, circa 1900

Bacon Hall, c1900. View of the main room, showing tiers of stacks, and portion of Narjot-designed ceiling. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 7:11, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1205

Interior of a large library with tall ceilings showing three tiers of bookshelves and people seated at large tables on the ground floor.

Chemistry Library, 1954

View of Chemistry Library, Gilman Hall, 1954. Days of Cal, UARC PIC 9D:7b, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. https://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/1144

Secondary menu

The Bancroft Library Archived Websites

Feedback

Related Resource Guides