The Library has digitized its collection of 57,000 rare, original negatives of works of art through several grant-funded projects and making it freely available through the Frick Digital Image Archive.
Includes artists’ sketchbooks, drawings and watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia. Available to the public for use without fees or restriction.
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
This Image Resources Guide was created as a resource for finding images of art and architecture. It is intended to serve faculty and students in the History of Art Department at The University of California Berkeley.
From Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley, a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
John Singer Sargent, Venetian Canal, Via the MET online
The most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period. The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files. AAVAA is searchable by keyword, including title, artist, subject, technique, and descriptio
The Beazley Archive is the largest single collection of images (over 27,000) from Greek vases, and is excellently indexed, not only by painter, vase shape, location, etc. but by subject. A good place to find images from both classical myths and from everyday life, with full scholarly apparatus.
In cooperation with the Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Milan, Italy, Professor Robert Randolf Coleman of the University of Notre Dame is producing this inventory-catalogue of the Ambrosiana's collection of some 12,000 drawings by European artists who were active from the fourteenth through nineteenth centuries.
Published by the German Documentation Center for Art History/Bildarchiv Foto Marburg, this database includes over 2 million images of art and architecture in thirteen European countries. The images and data are contributed from 80 partners. Search by places, artist, portraits, and topics.
Consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then around 380 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries.
Focus on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Includes historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa. (Luna Insight)
Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. [Note: This collection is also part of the UC Image Service and can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
More than 100,000 color transparencies and 500,000 black-and-white negatives relating to works of art in France's national museums: paintings, sculptures, decorative arts, drawings and photographs. Also includes 120,000 glass plates (the Fonds Vizzavona-Druet) documenting artistic life in the first half of the twentieth century. Offers a representative survey of the history of art, archaeology, architecture, and ethnology.