Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]
4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to the present. Historical photos date from 1996 to 1826. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, over 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. Search by keyword to search all the images in the photo collection or do an advanced search to limit results.
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
The Berg Fashion Library provides text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive eBook collection, reference resources, and a vast image bank.
Digital Collections is your all-in-one portal into the UC Berkeley Library’s digital gems.The portal provides access to images, text, audio, and video.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Explore the George Eastman Museum's collections online. More than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable, and more of the museum's vast holdings will be added on an ongoing basis.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.
Since launching in 2008 with the Library of Congress, the Flickr Commons has been sharing hidden treasures from the world’s photography archives, with over 100 members.
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Digital collection of fiction, cartoons, maps, posters, ballads, advertisements, broadsides, and reform literature relevant to the social history of London from 1800 to 1910.
Sourced from the Lilly Library at the University of Indiana (Bloomington), the resources includes digitized material from important collections relating to life in the London: Michael Sadleir's Ephemera, Chapbooks, the Virginia Warren Collection of Old Street Cries, Rare Books, Periodicals, Tallis's Street Views, London Maps and George Gissing's scrapbook from the Pforzheimer Collection. Coverage extends from the 18th-20th centuries, but the bulk of the content is from the 19th century.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
"Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe."
"Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The nineteenth century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel—all this is captured in photographs. This engaging resource serves multiple disciplines and supports a range of research and study topics."
