Skip to main content

Ancient Near Eastern Studies: Books & E-Books

Find Books in the Library Catalog

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library. Why use Melvyl?  It includes thousands of scholarly journal articles and links to WorldCat, which gets you into the collections of libraries around the world.

Research Strategies

Using keywords some examples:

Using ancient egypt in library catalogs and data bases will retrieve any record that contains these three words.

Use quotation marks to retrieve only relevant records: "ancient egypt"

Truncating words using an asterisk will retrieve more related records: egypt* will retrieve egypt, egypt's and egyptian 

Use broad terms for finding encyclopedias, bibliographies, general history of a country, indexes: encyclopedia* ancient egypt"

Use focused terms when searching for articles or books related to your topic: tomb* thoth 

Loading ...

Papyri Collection at Bancroft Library

Bancroft Library is the house of the Center for Tebtunis Papyri, which holds the largest papyrus text in the US, of more than 26,000 fragments. 

Online Books

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.