Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

UC Library Search User Guide

This is a how-to guide for using UC Library Search.

Get Online and Print Items

UNDERSTANDING AN ITEM RECORD

From the search results, click on an item's title to view its full display. Navigate using the links on the left. 

UC Library Search Full Display

 

To find full text online, go to the "View Online" or "Links" section (if available).

To find a physical item's campus library location and call number, go to the "Get It" section (if available).

To find an item that is unavailable online or in a library on your campus, go to the section "How to Get It" to view your options (ex: using Interlibrary Loan to borrow the item from another campus).

You will be prompted to login with your CalNet ID or Patron/PIN if you haven't. 

 

ACCESSING AN ITEM

These links may appear for online items:

  • View Online provides access to full text, if available. (Sometimes full text appears in "Links" below.) 
  • Search Inside allows users to search for articles within a journal.
  • Send To provides options for saving, sharing, and exporting citations.
  • Citations shows related citations either cited by or in this item's record.
  • Links provides additional links like cover art or Table of Contents. Sometimes full text appears here.   
  • Virtual Browse allows users to browse items in the same call number range.

To access full text, look for an "Available Online" link.

These links may appear for print items:  

  • Get It lists library location(s) and call number and an option to request pickup at another library (2-3 business days) (login required).
    • NRLF (storage): Physical items or scans of chapters/articles require 2-3 business days (login required).
    • Bancroft Library: To request materials, click on the “special collections request” link. (See the Bancroft Library’s guide).
  • How to Get It  includes additional options for getting an item
  • Send To provides options for saving, sharing, and exporting citations.
  • Citations shows related citations either cited by or in this item's record.
  • Links provides additional links like cover art or Table of Contents. Sometimes full text appears here.   
  • Virtual Browse allows users to browse items in the same call number range.

To access a print item, you will need to know the:

  • Library name (list of library locations)
  • Availability (ex: Is it checked out? On hold? In process?)
  • Call number (on the book's spine; see below)

Example: One copy of this book (see image below) is available in the Main (Gardner) Stacks (enter through Doe Library). It is organized on the shelf by its call number, "KF4755.A75".

The copy in the  Ethnic Studies Library is checked out.

To find an item by its call number:

  1. Go to the library that owns it.
  2. Find information (often a chart on the wall) about call numbers' locations.
  3. Use the call number to find the item on the shelf.

 

For example, find an item the call number "QA  17.1  C.98" on the shelf by:

Book spines with call numbers1. Reading LINE 1 (QA) alphabetically.

 

Book spines with call numbers2. Reading LINE 2 (17.1) numerically.

Book spines with call numbers3. Reading LINE 3 (C98) alphabetically and numerically as a decimal.

Ex: C.98 comes after C.972 and before C.984.

For items unavailable in print or online, you'll see the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" field. For more information (including delivery time frames and loan periods), see the Interlibrary Borrowing Service

Request Through Interlibrary Loan option

 

Click it to open the Interlibrary Loan Request form.

Interlibrary Loan Request form