Skip to main content

Spanish and Portuguese: Research Tools

A library research guide

Research Tools for Spanish and Portuguese

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these web sites, print reference sources, or library databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online Resources

Print Resources

  • Fuentes de la historia española e hispanoamericana / Benito Sánchez Alonso. 3a. edición. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Instituto Miguel de Cervantes, 1952.
    Doe Reference DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Graduate Services. DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Main Stacks DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Bancroft Z1601 .S26 1952 v.1-3

Library Databases

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in Spanish and Portuguese. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Online

Print

Diccionario de periódicos diarios españoles del siglo XX / Antonio López de Zuazo Algar. Madrid: Editorial Fragua, 2008.
Doe Reference PN5314 .L66 2008

Historical Periodicals Directory / Eric H. Boehm, Barbara H. Pope, and Marie S. Ensign, editors. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1981-c1986.
Main Stacks D20 .H53 v.1-5

*The Oxford Critical and Cultural History of Modernist Magazines / edited by Peter Brooker and Andrew Thacker. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009-<2013>
Main Stacks PN5124.L62 O94 2009 v.1-3:2.

Revistas literarias españolas del siglo XX (1919-1975) / Manuel J. Ramos Ortega, edición y coordinación general; José María Barrera López et al., coordinadores de capítulos. Madrid: Ollero y Ramos, 2005.
Doe Reference PQ6072.R448 2005 v.1-3

Library Databases

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Library Databases

Online

Print

Book Reviews

Most library databases for this grouping index primarily US and UK publications. The online and print sources listed below are better for non-US reviews. MLA, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online are also good article databases for locating discipline-specific reviews in Iberian studies as are specific journals like Hispanófila, Revista Iberoamericana, or Revista de Literatura.

Online

Print

Book Review Digest (1905-present)
Lists and selectively excerpts reviews from 90 popular journals in English.
Doe Reference Z1219 .B8

Some sources for reviews to peruse for publications from Spain and Portugal include:

Delibros. Madrid: Delibros, S.A.
Main Stacks Z2685 .D45 Library has 1990-

latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

I
nsula
. Madrid: 1(1946)-
NRLF
/Main Stacks f Z1007 .I568
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Letras Libres. Coyoacán, México: Editorial Vuelta, 1(1999)-
Main Stacks AP63 .L48
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

O meus livros. Lisboa: FirstMedia, 1(2002)-
Main Stacks Z2715 .M48
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Qué leer. Barcelona: Qué leer día a día
Main Stacks Z1007 .Q45 Library has 34 (June 1999)-
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Revista de libros
. Madrid: Fundación Caja de Madrid.
Main Stacks Folio f Z1003.5.S63 R48 Library has 133(Jan 2008)-
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Library Databases

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

Spanish and Portuguese Libraries and Catalogs

Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only libraries and archives in Spain and Portugal but also other important collections worldwide.

Online

Print and CD-ROM

Bibliografia brasileira do período colonial; catálogo comentado da obras dos autores nascidos no Brasil e publicadas antes de 1808. São Paulo: Instituto de Estudos Brasileiros, Universidade de São Paulo, 1969.
NRLF/
Main Stacks F2524.A12.M6

Bibliografía das obras impressas em Portugal no século XVI / por Antonio Joaquim. Lisboa: Oficinas Gráficas da Biblioteca Nacional, 1926.
NRLF/Main Stacks Z2712 .A5
Bancroft Reference Z2712 .A5

Bibliografía das obras impressas em Portugal no século XVII / João Frederico de Gusmão C. Arouca ; coordenação da edição, Manuela D. Domingos ; apresentação, Fernanda Maria Guedes de Campos. Lisboa: Biblioteca Nacional, 2001-
Main Stacks Z2712 .A76 2001 v.1-3 (A-R) Library use only

Bibliografía española. Monografias. Madrid: Ministerio de Cultura, Biblioteca Nacional, 1993-Continues Bibliografía española (1958-)
Doe Reference Z2685.B524 2006 (current vols. online)
Main Stacks Z2685 .B524 (1993-2006)

Bibliografia geral portuguesa. Lisboa: Impr. Nacional, 1941-
Main Stacks Z2711.A3 v.1-3 (1941-1983)

Catalogue of Books Printed in Spain and of Spanish Books Printed Elsewhere in Europe before 1601 Now in the British Library. 2nd ed. London: British Library, c1989.
Doe Reference Z2709.B8 1989
Main Stacks Z2682.B86 1989
Bancroft Reference Z2682.B86 1989

La imprenta en España: compilación de repertorios clásicos [electronic resource] / Amancio Labandeira, comp. Madrid: Fundación Historica Tavera; Digibis; Mapfre Mutualidad, c2000.
Doe Reference Z173.I45 1999 compu/d

La imprenta en Iberoamerica y Filipinas [electronic resource]. Madrid: Biblioteca Histórica; Chile, DIBAM, c1998.
Main Stacks Z1004.M4.I4 1998 compu/d

*Iberian Books: Books Published in Spanish or Portuguese or on the Iberian Peninsula before 1601 = Libros ibéricos: libros publicados en español o portugués o en la Península Ibérica antes de 1601 / edited by Alexander S. Wilkinson. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2010.
Doe Reference Z173 .I24 2010

Portuguese and Brazilian Books in the John Carter Brown Library, 1537 to 1839: With a Selection of Braziliana Printed in Countries Other Than Portugal and Brazil. Providence, R. I: John Carter Brown Library, 2009.
Doe Reference Z881.P97 P67 2009

Spain and Spanish America in the Libraries of the University of California: A Catalogue of Books / University of California, Berkeley. Library. Berkeley: University of California, 1928-30.
Doe Reference Z2681.C3 v.1-2
Bancroft Z2681.C3 v.1-2
Chicano Studies Reference Z1402.Sp2  v.1-2

Spanish Drama of the Golden Age: A Catalogue of the Comedia Collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries / José Regueiro. M. New Haven: Research Publications, c1971.
Main Stacks PQ6217.A12.R4

Library Databases

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Library Databases

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.