With the surge of interest in data science and the availability of open source data analysis, many NGOs re-purpose publicly available data and/or collect their own research data.
Aid Data. Data from bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. Includes data visualization tools, articles on development aid and geo-coded data at the project level. See replication datasets with articles on aid allocation & effectiveness.
Bioversity International Dataverse. Data from a research/development organization working to use and conserve agricultural and forest biodiversity for livelihoods.
Center for Global Development Dataverse. Works to change policies & practices of rich countries and powerful institutions to reduce global poverty and inequality.
Center for Systemic Peace. Data on armed conflict and intervention, displaced persons, international organizations, regime characteristics, coups, and state fragility. Home of the Polity 4 data set, one of the most widely used measures of regime characteristics and democracy.
d-Portal From the International Aid Transparency Initiative. Comprehensive open source data from hundreds of national governments, NGOs and multilateral organizations.
GDELT Analysis Service. Tools and services that allow you to visualize, explore, and export the Global Database of Events, Language, and Tone (GDELT) project of global society.
Guide Star. Profiles and data on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and data provided by the nonprofits themselves
Global Footprint Network. Provides e data on humanity’s demands on nature across more than 200 countries, territories, and regions, and how it relates to the planet’s capacity to meet these demands.
Gun Violence Archive. Free online public access to information about gun-related violence in the United States.
Humanitarian Outcomes. Data from an independent group providing evidence-based analysis and policy consultation to governments and international organizations on humanitarian response efforts.
International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (Icrisat). Non-profit organization that conducts agricultural research for development in Asia & Sub-Saharan Africa.
International Aid Transparency Initiative. Voluntary initiative that seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources to increase effectiveness in tackling poverty.
International Center for Tropical Agriculture. Data on agro-biodiversity and technologies that better enable farmers to enhance eco-efficiency in agriculture.
International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). Data on a variety of agricultural and resource topics, including hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more.
Offshore Leaks Database. Data on tax havens from the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, a global network of several hundred journalists in 70 countries.
National Center for Charitable Statistics - Data and Tools. Tools and reports to help you learn more about the nonprofit sector in the United States.
National Center for Charitable Statistics Data Archive. Data files with documentation on the finances and activities of nonprofit organizations going back as far as 1989.
NGO AidMap. Alliance organization of nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) with 180-plus members working around the world.
Open Aid Data. Detailed developing aid finance data from around the world combining data from various sources.
Political Terror Scale. Codes countries on human-rights and the rule of law, based on reports from Amnesty International and the U.S. State Department.
Population Services International. Global health organization focusing on challenges like a lack of family planning, HIV and AIDS, barriers to maternal health, and threats to children under five, including malaria, diarrhea, pneumonia and malnutrition.
Sea Around Us. Fisheries and fisheries-related data at spatial scales that have ecological and policy relevance, such as by Exclusive Economic Zones, High Seas areas, or Large Marine Ecosystems.
SIPRI's (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute). Data on security, peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and arms exports.
Transparency International. Includes global indexes for perceptions of corruption (Corruption Perceptions Index) bribes, and country studies dealing with transparency.
World Agroforestry Centre. Generates knowledge about the benefits of agroforestry in farming systems and agricultural landscapes, and disseminates this knowledge to develop policy options and promote practices that improve livelihoods and benefit the environment.