Indexes policy briefs, working papers, maps, course packs, journals, books, videos, internet sources, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs theory, analysis, and advocacy.
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Full-text access to international, national and local newspapers and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts.
LexisNexis Academic is being replaced with Nexis Uni. UCB retains dual access to Academic and Uni through September 30, 2017, after which Academic will be deactivated. If you have questions, please contact the Library.
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai. Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary]
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting.
Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Data from the US Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and more. (American Fact Finder)
"Searchable database used to find online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the from the U.S. Census, including the Census of Population and Housing and the American Community Survey. After the 2000 census, the detailed census ""long form"" was replaced by the American Community Survey, a sample distributed to about 3% of households annually, as compared to the decennial census long form which went to 1 in 6 households every 10 years. The current version of American Factfinder contains 2010 and 2000 census data only. Historical versions of the census in PDF may be found on the Historical Census of Population and Housing site
. Selected historical tables and maps are also available from the Historical Census Browser at the University of Virginia. Current and historical census and mapping data is also available in an easy-to-use format via the commercial database Social Explorer
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the US Department of Labor produces some of the nation's most widely followed measures of the economy, including the latest numbers for the Consumer Price Index, unemployment rate, and the Producer Price.
Presents up-to-date U.S. economic statistical information in areas such as 'Inflation and Spending' and 'International Statistics.' Also available are the latest numbers for the Consumer Price Index, unemployment rate, and the Producer Price. Provides past and current statistics for the U.S. economy as a whole; regional economic data can be obtained by clicking the state on a color-coded map.
Provides access to a wide array of public health information including data on mortality, diseases, environmental and occupational health, and health practice and prevention.
Provides access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and about 40 text-based and numeric databases. Numeric information includes census data, mortality data, and natality data as well as surveillance information.
Provides access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. Includes the annual Federal monitoring report "America's Children."
Provides access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. Includes the annual Federal monitoring report on the status of the American children.
Provides access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis. (U.S. Code of Federal Regulations)
Provides access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rule, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The online version starts at volume 59 (1994). (U.S. Federal Register)
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rule, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The online version starts at volume 59 (1994).
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. (Catalog of US Government Publications - GPO Monthly Catalog)
Indexes government documents printed by the US Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judiciary material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources. Also available via the Catalog of US Government Publications.
A searchable archive of all public sessions recorded in the Supreme Court or the United States.
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. Contains all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955, and summaries of major cases going back to the courts founding. The Project also provides biographical information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Search across federal science agency publications; includes Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
A collaborative effort of 12 federal science agencies, this site serves as a gateway to more than 1800 scientific web sites. The site allows metasearching of free full-text and bibliographic databases such as Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, NTIS, PubMed, Agricola, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
Provides access to demographic, economic, environmental and health datasets across different government agencies and organizations. Includes systems and software that provide data query and extract capabilities, as well as data analysis and visualization tools.
A collaboration between the U.S. Census Bureau and the Centers for Disease Control, TheDataWeb provides access across the Internet to demographic, economic, environmental and health and other databases housed in different systems in different agencies and organizations. TheDataWeb is a collection of systems and software that provide data query and extract capabilities, as well as data analysis and visualization tools.
Access to all the reports, documents, and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 through 1980. [1817 - date varies]
A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. Also includes publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues. The Serial Set is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of American history including international relations, explorations, commerce and industrial development, genealogy, and political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history. When complete, the database will offer approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages in searchable full-text. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Choosing a Discipline
Here's a list of databases for each discipline, by campus.