Library Guides: Watergate: Selected Materials from the IGS Library: Additional Materials

Selected IGS Materials

Impeachment, selected materials ..., October 1973 / United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary
Call Number: JK630 :G U5Hj.hd Cong. 93, Serial
Publication Date: 1973

Work of the impeachment inquiry staff as of March 1, 1974. Ninety-third Congress, second session.
Call Number: JK630 :G U5Hj.w
Publication Date: 1974-03-01

The End of a Presidency / by the staff of the New York times.
Call Number: 88 01703
Publication Date: 1974

Herblock special report / Herbert Block.
Call Number: 88 01700
Publication Date: 1974

The great coverup: Nixon and the scandal of Watergate / Barry Sussman.
Call Number: 99 00972
Publication Date: 1974

An American life : one man's road to Watergate / Jeb Stuart Magruder.
Call Number: 88 01686
Publication Date: 1974

The White House transcripts : submission of recorded Presidential conversations to the Committee on the Judiciary of the House of Representatives / by President Richard Nixon ; introduction by R.W. Apple, Jr. ; chronology by Linda Amster ; general editor Gerald Gold.
Call Number: 88 01699
Publication Date: 1974
Money & politics : contributions, campaign abuses & the law / edited by Lester A. Sobel
Call Number: 99 01170
Publication Date: 1974

"Mo" : a woman's view of Watergate / by Maureen Dean, with Hays Gorey.
Call Number: 88 01706
Publication Date: 1975

Washington journal : the events of 1973-1974 / Elizabeth Drew.
Call Number: 90 01169
Publication Date: 1975

Watergate by C. Q. Press CQ Press
Call Number: 89 01764
ISBN: 0871870703
Publication Date: 1975
Watergate: Chronology of a Crisis is the permanent record of Congressional Quarterly's exhaustive coverage of the 1970s Watergate scandal that led to the resignation of President Richard M. Nixon. This compilation of material covers the impeachment debate, President Nixon's resignation, his later pardon by successor Gerald Ford, the trail of conspirators in the events, and extensive excerpts from transcripts of White House conversations.

Why Watergate? by edited by Paul J. Halpern.
Call Number: 99 00975
ISBN: 09135300420913530034pbk.
Publication Date: 1975

Watergate Special Prosecution Force report / United States. Watergate Special Prosecution Force.
Call Number: E860 .U67 1975 IGS Library / Doe
Publication Date: 1975
The final days / Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein.
Call Number: 88 01693
Publication Date: 1976

The right and the power : the prosecution of Watergate / Leon Jaworski.
Call Number: 88 01702
Publication Date: 1976

Stonewall : the real story of the Watergate prosecution / by Richard Ben-Veniste and George Frampton
Call Number: 88 01685
Publication Date: 1976

Chief counsel : inside the Ervin Committee-- the untold story of Watergate / Samuel Dash.
Call Number: 88 01691
Publication Date: 1976

Born again / Charles W. Colson.
Call Number: 88 01688
Publication Date: 1976

Blind ambition : the White House years / by John W. Dean.
Call Number: 88 01689
Publication Date: 1976

The ends of power / H. R. Haldeman, with Joseph DiMona.
Call Number: 88 01698
Publication Date: 1978

RN: The Memoirs of Richard Nixon / Richard Nixon
Call Number: 00 00423 Publication Date: 1978

The terrors of justice : the untold side of Watergate / Maurice H. Stans.
Call Number: 00 00406
Publication Date: 1978

To set the record straight : the break-in, the tapes, the conspirators, the pardon / John J. Sirica..
Call Number: 88 01684
Publication Date: 1979

Lost honor / John W. Dean III.
Call Number: 88 01705
Publication Date: 1982

Groupthink : psychological studies of policy decisions and fiascoes / Irving L. Janis.
See Chapter 9: The Watergate Cover-up: How Clever Manipulators Can Get Caught in an Avoidable Quagmire
Call Number: 90 02311 Publication Date: 1982

Secret agenda : Watergate, Deep Throat, and the CIA / James Hougan.
Call Number: 89 00959
Publication Date: 1985

The special prosecutor in American politics / Katy J. Harriger.
Call Number:00 01447
Publication Date: 2000

Independent counsel : the law and the investigations / Charles A. Johnson and Danette Brickman.
See Chapter 2: The Watergate Investigations
Call Number: 2002 0003
Publication Date: 2001

Selected Materials From UC Berkeley Libraries

Watergate by Fred Emery
Call Number: E860 .E47 1994 Main, NRLF
ISBN: 0812923839
Publication Date: 1994-06-28
Published in 1994, to coincide with the 20th anniversary of Nixon's resignation, "Watergate" incorporates material drawn from interviews with virtually all of the still-surviving participants, plus tapes and documents not previously available before. "Elected by a tiny margin in 1968, Nixon was obsessed with the fear that he would be a one-term president. This, combined with the president's willingness - and that of his staff - to countenance "intelligence" operations against his opponents, gradually and inevitably led to "dirty tricks".

As Washington bureau chief for The Times of London during the entire Watergate period, Fred Emery covered every aspect of the story.
Archibald Cox by Ken Gormley
Call Number: KF373.C673 G67 1997
ISBN: 0201407132
Publication Date: 1997-09-16
By October 1973 special prosecutor Archibald Cox was tracing the Watergate cover-up to the Oval Office. President Nixon demanded that he stop. In the "Saturday Night Massacre” two heads of the Justice Department quit before Nixon found a subordinate (Robert Bork) willing to fire Cox. Immediately public opinion swung against the president and turned Cox into a hero--seemingly Washington's last honest man.
The Watergate Crisis by Michael A. Genovese
Call Number: E860 .G46 1999 NRLF
ISBN: 0313298785
Publication Date: 1999-09-30
This guide provides a timeline of events, biographical sketches of the key players, the text of important primary documents, a glossary of terms, and an annotated bibliography.

Genovese, a noted presidential scholar, discusses Nixon's political personality, addresses the question of whether any president is above the law, and offers a contemporary view of presidential corruption in historical perspective.
Shadow : five presidents and the legacy of Watergate by Bob Woodward
Call Number: E839.5 .W66 1999 Main, Morrison, NRLF
ISBN: 0684852624
Publication Date: 1999-06-18
After Richard Nixon resigned the presidency, Gerald Ford promised a return to normalcy. "My fellow Americans, our long national nightmare is over," President Ford declared. But it was not. The Watergate scandal, and the remedies against future abuses of power, would have an enduring impact on presidents and the country. Bob Woodward takes us deep into the administrations of Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush and Clinton to describe how each discovered that the presidency was forever altered. With special emphasis on the human toll, he shows the consequences of the new ethics laws, and the emboldened Congress and media.
Richard M. Nixon: the Watergate tapes
Call Number: Media Resources Center (NRLF) COMPU/D 587
Publication Date: 2000
In Search of Deep Throat by Leonard Garment
Call Number: E860 .G27 2000 Main
ISBN: 0465026133
Publication Date: 2000-07-27
A senior staffer to Richard Nixon, Leonard Garment outlines his search to uncover the identity of Watergate source, "Deep Throat."
The White House Tapes by John Prados (Editor)
Call Number: Media Resources Center SOUND/D 169
ISBN: \1565848527
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
The real West Wing, this comprehensive book-and-CD set brings together presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford and Reagan in one collection. Complete transcripts and digitally enhanced audio of secretly taped Oval Office conversations offer the chance to listen and read along to the most pivotal events in modern US history. Pieces are selected and introduced by John Prados. Highlights include Nixon's famous smoking gun conversation.
The Secret Man by Bob Woodward
Call Number: E860 .W67 2005 Main
ISBN: 0743287150
Publication Date: 2005-07-06
Presents an examination of the author's long and complex relationship with the FBI official responsible for providing him with the details of the Watergate break-in, which ultimately resulted in the resignation of President Nixon.
Watergate by Stanley I. Kutler (Editor)
Call Number: E860 .W363 2010 Main
ISBN: 9781405188487
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
The second edition of Watergate: A Brief History with Documents presents a collection of relevant historic documents from Nixon's acceptance speech at the 1968 Republican NationalConvention to his 1974 pardon.
Nixon Grand Jury records by Watergate Special Prosecution Force
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2011
In May 1975, the Watergate Special Prosecution Force (WSPF) decided that it was necessary to question former President Richard M. Nixon in connection with various investigations being conducted by the WSPF. Mr. Nixon was questioned over the period of two days, June 23 and June 24, 1975, and the testimony was taken as part of various investigations being conducted by the January 7, 1974, Grand Jury for the District of Columbia (the third Watergate Grand Jury). Chief Judge George Hart signed an order authorizing that the sworn deposition of Mr. Nixon be taken at the Coast Guard Station in San Mateo, California with two members of the grand jury present.
Watergate Prosecutor by William H. Merrill
Call Number: E-book (restricted to UCB)
ISBN: 9781609170714
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
William Merrill was the Special Prosecutor who constructed the cases against Nixon's "plumbers unit" directed by John Ehrlichman, Nixon's top domestic aide.
From Kristallnacht to Watergate by Harry Rosenfeld
ISBN: 9781438449173
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
An insider's account of how the Washington Post broke the Watergate story, depicting the tensions, challenges, and personal conflicts that were overcome as it laid bare the criminal wrongdoings of the Nixon administration.
The Nixon Defense by John W. Dean
ISBN: 9780670025367
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
In The Nixon Defense, former White House Counsel John W. Dean, one of the last major surviving figures of Watergate, draws on his own transcripts of almost a thousand conversations, as well as documents in the archives to uncover what exactly Nixon knew and when he knew it.
Chasing Shadows by Ken Hughes; Marc J. Selverstone (Preface by)
ISBN: 9780813936635
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Hughes provides a perspective on a long history of illegal activity that prolonged the Vietnam War and was only partly exposed by the Watergate scandal.
January 1973 by James Robenalt; John W. Dean (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781613749654
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
American politics changed forever in January 1973. In the span of thirty-one days, the Watergate burglars went on trial, the Nixon administration negotiated an end to the Vietnam War, the Supreme Court issued its decision in Roe v. Wade, Lyndon Johnson died in Texas (and Harry Truman passed away just a month earlier), and Richard Nixon was sworn in for his second term. The events had unlikely links and each worked along with the others to create a time of immense transformation.
Watergate by Keith W. Olson; Max Holland (Afterword by)
Call Number: Project Muse. Restricted to UCB IP addresses.
ISBN: 9780700623570
Publication Date: 2016-08-12
A new afterword by Max Holland details developments since the original 2003 publication, including the revelation of Mark Felt as the infamous "Deep Throat," the media's role in the scandal, both during and afterwards, including Bob Woodward's Second Man.
The Presidents and the Constitution by Kenneth Gormley
ISBN: 1479839906
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Shines new light on America's brilliant constitutional and presidential history, from George Washington to Barack Obama. In this sweepingly ambitious volume, the nation's foremost experts on the American presidency and the U.S. Constitution join together to tell the intertwined stories of how each American president has confronted and shaped the Constitution.
Impeachment by Cass R. Sunstein
Call Number: E-book (restricted to UCB)
ISBN: 9780674983793
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
As Benjamin Franklin famously put it, Americans have a republic, if we can keep it. Preserving the Constitution and the democratic system it supports is the public's responsibility. One route the Constitution provides for discharging that duty--a route rarely traveled--is impeachment. Cass R. Sunstein provides a succinct citizen's guide to an essential tool of self-government.
Nixon's White House Wars by Patrick J. Buchanan
ISBN: 9781101902844
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
In a memoir from behind the scenes of the most controversial presidency of the last century, Nixon's White House Wars reveals both the failings and achievements of the 37th President, recorded by one of those closest to Nixon from before his political comeback, through to his final days in office.
The Class Of '74 by John A. Lawrence
Call Number: E-book (restricted to UCB)
ISBN: 9781421424705
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
In November 1974, following the Watergate scandal, Americans went to the polls determined to cleanse American politics. Dozens of GOP legislators were swept out of the House, replaced by 76 reforming Democratic freshmen. In The Class of '74, John A. Lawrence examines how these newly elected representatives bucked the status quo in Washington, helping to effectuate unprecedented reforms.
The Watergate by Joseph Rodota
ISBN: 9780062476623
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Since its opening in 1965, the Watergate complex has been one of Washington's chicest addresses, a home to power brokers from both political parties and the epicenter of a scandal that brought down a president. In The Watergate, writer and political consultant Joseph Rodota paints a vivid portrait of this landmark and the movers and shakers who have lived there.
They Said No to Nixon by Michael Koncewicz
Call Number: E-book (restricted to UCB)
ISBN: 9780520970960
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Delving into the abuses of power surrounding the Watergate era and showing how they were curbed, They Said No to Nixon sheds light on the significant cultural and ideological shifts that occurred within the GOP during the pivotal 1970s.
Impeachment by Charles L. , Jr. Black; Philip Bobbitt; Akhil Reed Amar
Call Number: E-book (restricted to UCB) / Available in print: Main (Gardner) Stacks KF5075 .B55 2018
ISBN: 9780300238266
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Charles L. Black Jr.'s classic guide to presidential impeachment, now in an updated edition with new material by Philip Bobbitt.

Non-UC Resources

Watergate / Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI investigated the June 17, 1972 break-in of the Democratic National Committee Headquarters (DNCH) in the Watergate Complex, Washington, D.C. A security guard discovered burglars hiding electronic listening devices in the Conference Room area of the DNCH, violating Federal Interception of Communications Law.
Publication Date: 2000

Nixon Grand Jury records by Watergate Special Prosecution Force
In May 1975, the Watergate Special Prosecution Force (WSPF) decided that it was necessary to question former President Richard M. Nixon in connection with various investigations being conducted by the WSPF. Mr. Nixon was questioned over the period of two days, June 23 and June 24, 1975, and the testimony was taken as part of various investigations being conducted by the January 7, 1974, Grand Jury for the District of Columbia (the third Watergate Grand Jury). Chief Judge George Hart signed an order authorizing that the sworn deposition of Mr. Nixon be taken at the Coast Guard Station in San Mateo, California with two members of the grand jury present.

Watergate Hearings / Santa Clara Law Digital Commons
This series is a collection of papers produced during the Watergate Hearings that were donated by Congressman Don Edwards.

Cartoon Drawings: Watergate. Herblock Collection
Herbert L. Block (1909-2001), known to the world as Herblock, was one of the most influential political commentators and editorial cartoonists in American history.

Slow Burn, Season 1: Watergate
How did President Nixon feel as the Watergate story went from a curious burglary to a national obsession. What was it like for everyone else? That’s the animating question behind Season 1 of an eight-episode podcast series for Slate, Slow Burn.

Secondary menu

Watergate: Selected Materials from the IGS Library: Additional Materials

Selected IGS Materials

Selected Materials From UC Berkeley Libraries

Non-UC Resources