Evidence-Based Practice in Optometry Project
Learn about EBP in Optometry.
Evidence-Based Optometry Tutorial
from New England College of Optometry.
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials
From the Duke University Medical Center Library.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. This go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. *Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines *NEW: Updates to guidelines for screening/prevention of ASCVD; anxiety disorders in children, pediatric obesity, chronic pain, neonatal hyperbilirubinemia; and osteoarthritis *NEW: Numerous topics have been added, including screening and prevention of eating disorders, COVID vaccination in pregnancy, prevention of pelvic floor dysfunction, management of chest pain, left ventricular thrombus, delirium *Guideline Discordance tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
Evidence-Based Medicine: Best Practice or Restrictive Dogma by
The concept of evidence-based medicine was launched in 1991 as a new paradigm to inform medical practice and has risen to be regarded as the gold standard. It rapidly gained the attention of medics, health service managers and the general media as it presented a means to improve efficiency and effectiveness of service delivery. Despite its stunning success in capturing the health agenda, the campaign that launched evidence-based medicine has also attracted criticism, particularly from clinicians and philosophers concerned about its selective views of knowledge and evidence, and for its denigration of reasoning, clinical experience and judgement. Evidence-Based Medicine traces this movement from its launch to its meteoric rise, examining what it has done for healthcare and medicine in the context of changes in science policy and the long-running criticism held against the movement for its inherent weaknesses. As evidence-based medicine will remain an important feature of healthcare in the decades to come, this book is perfect for healthcare professionals, medical scientists, health service managers and public health experts looking for a critical examination of the topic.
Evidence-Based Medicine: how to practice and teach EBM by
Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Systematic Searching: Practical Ideas for Improving Results by 
Understanding Clinical Papers by
For two decades, Understanding Clinical Papers has been helping students and professionals understand the research that supports evidence-based practice. Now in its fourth edition, this popular introductory textbook covers every major aspect of reading and evaluating clinical research literature, from identifying the aims and objectives of a paper to analysing the data with different multivariable methods. Numerous excerpts from actual clinical research papers make learning real and immediate, supported by a unique visual approach that reinforces key points and connects examples with the chapter material. The fourth edition includes extensively revised content throughout, including four brand-new chapters covering qualitative studies, Poisson regression, studies of complex interventions, and research using previously collected data. New and updated material discusses the difference between clinical and statistical significance, the consequences of multiple testing and methods of correction, how topic guides are used to explore and explain participants' experiences, standardised guidelines for writing trials and reviews, and much more. Offering clear explanations of important research-related topics, this reader-friendly resource: Offers a clear, concise, and accessible approach to learning how to read and analyse clinical research literature Features new coverage of qualitative research, including descriptive studies, sampling and populations, and identifying, summarising, and measuring qualitative characteristics Provides new material on missing data, sub-group analysis, feasibility and pilot studies, cluster randomised trials, and adaptive trial designs Includes new tables, abstracts, and excerpts from recent clinical research literature Understanding Clinical Papers is essential reading for all healthcare professionals and students, particularly those involved in clinical work and medical research, as well as general readers wanting to improve their understanding of research literature.
Start your search with evidence sources at the top and work your way down.
| Clinical Practice Guidelines |
AOA Clinical Practice Guidelines AAO Preferred Practice Patterns (Guidelines) ECRI Guidelines Trust |
|
Synopses of Systematic Reviews |
Cochrane Library |
| Systematic Reviews | Cochrane Library |
| Synopses of Studies | ACP Journal Club (internal medicine) |
| Filtered Studies |
PubMed Clinical Queries Embase PICO search |
| Unfiltered Studies |