Skip to main content

Third World Liberation Front and the History of Ethnic Studies and African American Studies: Resources

A basic guide to selected resources on the Third World Liberation Front and the history of Ethnic Studies and African American Studies.

Welcome

Welcome to the Third World Liberation Front and the

History of Ethnic Studies and African American Studies Resource Guide

This is a basic resource guide compiling materials on the Third World Liberation Front and the history of Ethnic Studies and African American Studies focusing on, but not limited to the University of California, Berkeley and San Francisco State University. For additional information or to suggest additions, please contact the librarian.

Resources

Dong, Harvey. 2009. "Third World Liberation Comes to San Francisco State and UC Berkeley." Chinese America: History & Perspectives 95. MasterFILE Premier, EBSCOhost.

Lye, Colleen. 2010. "US ethnic studies and Third Worldism, 40 years later." Inter-Asia Cultural Studies 11, no. 2: 188-193. Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost.

​Queena, Hoang. 2012. "Ethnic Studies: The Cyclical Fight, Conquer, and Struggle." Vermont Connection 33, 59-66. Education Source, EBSCOhost.

Taylor, Ula. 2010. "Origins of African American Studies at UC-Berkeley." Western Journal Of Black Studies 34, no. 2: 256-265. Humanities International Complete, EBSCOhost.

 

Student films from Documentary Class, Spring 1993 [videorecording]

Location Call No.
 Media Resources Center (NRLF)  VIDEO/C 3278  
 Media Resources Center (NRLF)  DVD 5375  Pt. 1  
 Media Resources Center (NRLF)  DVD 5375  Pt. 2      

On strike! Ethnic Studies, 1969-1999 [videorecording] / directed and produced by Irum Shiekh.
[Calif.?] : Fifth Floor Productions, c1999. 

Location Call No.
 BAMPFA Film Library  0500-01-9258  
 Media Resources Center (NRLF)  VIDEO/C 6521  

Click here to watch On Strike! on Vimeo.

San Francisco State on strike [videorecording] 
San Francisco, CA : California Newsreel, [2004] 

Location Call No.
 Media Resources Center  DVD 3044  

Twenty years after [videorecording] : the third world strike, panel discussion/ an Ethnic Studies Dept. film. 1989. 

Location Call No.
 Comparative Ethnic Studies Film  CES DVD 0013 pts.1&2  
 Media Resources Center  DVD 1188  Pt. 1  
 Media Resources Center  DVD 1188  Pt. 2      

Decolonizing the university [videorecording] : fulfilling the dream of the third world college / produced by Mattie Harper. 2010. 

Location Call No.
 Media Resources Center  DVD X7305  
 Media Resources Center (NRLF)  DVD X7305 c.2    

UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library Digital Archive

The UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Digital Archive contains selected digitized items from the Third World Strike at University of California, Berkeley collection 1968-1972.

Third World Strike at University of California, Berkeley collection 1968-1972. 
Third World Liberation Front.

Location Call No. Status
 Comparative Ethnic Studies Special Collections  CES ARC 2015/1    LIB USE ONLY

Third World Strike at University of California, Berkeley collection 1999. 
Third World Liberation Front.

Location Call No. Status
 Comparative Ethnic Studies Special Collections  CES ARC 2015/2    LIB USE ONLY

Photographs of the Ethnic Studies and Third World Liberation Front protests of 1999 [graphic] 
<1999- > 

Location Call No. Status
 UC Archives  UARC PIC 24F   LIB USE ONLY BANCROFT REQUEST

Carlos Muñoz papers, 1938-2015 (bulk 1969-1993) 
Muñoz, Carlos, 1939-

Location Call No. Status
 Chicano Studies (NRLF)  CS ARC 2016/1  LIB USE ONLY  

University of California, Berkeley, Chicano Studies Program records, 1961-1996 (bulk 1969-1980) 
University of California, Berkeley. Chicano Studies Program.

Location Call No. Status
 Chicano Studies Special Collections  CS ARC 2009/1 Carton 1    LIB USE ONLY
 Chicano Studies (NRLF)  CS ARC 2009/1       RESTRICTED USE    
       

There are several primary source newspapers that are related to the work of the Third World Liberation Front. Many are held at the UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library. 

TWLF [microform] : [newsletter].

Location Asian American Studies Film 
Call No. AAS MICROFILMS TW 1
Library Has [Undated, unnumbered issue 2, 1969?]
Shelved Microfilm Cabinet under AAS MICROFILMS TW 1 
View volumes
 
Location Asian American Studies (NRLF) 
Call No. NEG. TW1
Library Has [Undated, unnumbered issue 2, 1969?]
View volumes

More coming soon...

Loading

Librarian

Sine Hwang Jensen's picture
Sine Hwang Jensen
https://calendly.com/shjucb
Contact:
UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library
30 Stephens Hall
(510) 642-9072
Website / Blog Page
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.