Library Guides: History 128AC/American Studies 102AC: California, the West, and the World: Useful for multiple topics

Online

American History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50,000 unique manuscripts on American History from 1493-1945.
Many of the manuscripts include translations and transcriptions. Collections are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 is available now and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945 will be published in Summer 2015.
American West This link opens in a new window
Digitized manuscripts, ephemera, and rare printed works on the history of the American West from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Collection in Chicago.
Covers early pioneers and explorers, the gold rush, railroads, emigrant guides and travel journals, Native American history and culture and much more.

"California As I Saw It" First Person Narratives of California's Early Years
Full texts and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California.

Fresno Bee (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with full text of the Fresno Bee from 1887-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1887-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1986-current.
Sacramento Bee (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1857-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1984-current.
San Francisco Chronicle Archive, Complete (historical and current) This link opens in a new window
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.

UC Berkeley Oral History Center - subject listings
Extensive collection of oral histories collected by the Bancroft Library related to California events and issues. Topics include the Free Speech movement, the Richmond shipyards, Japanese American confinement sites, the Sierra Club, Freedom to Marry, Chicana/o Studies, the AIDS Epidemic in San Francisco, and many others.

Western Regional Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].