Resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema. (American Film Institute)
Provides authoritative film credit and production information for American films made from 1893 to 1972. Also includes selective citations to trade and review publications for the individual films indexed in the database.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. [1880 - 2000]
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. [1927-1968]
"The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. The five hundred titles selected were chosen by the staff of the library’s Special Collections Department, with advice from film historian Leonard J. Leff.
Source Library: Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills, California. "
One of the most extensive research collections on the subject of motion pictures. The online catalog includes bibliographic records for the library's holdings of books, periodicals and scripts in the general collection, as well as part of the poster collection and some graphic art materials.
Coverage Dates:
Digitized public domain media periodicals and online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. [1905-1973]
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
A selection of films, television and radio programs preserved by the archive. Includes the KTLA Newsfilm Collection of local and national news from Los Angeles, California, circa 1958 to 1981.
