UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.
You can:
See the UC Library Search user guide.
Handbook of Agricultural Economics by
Advances in agriculture offer many countries the best and only chance of reducing poverty. Yet economic growth and population increases are driving higher demand for food and rising real prices. What solutions have successfully promoted agriculture? This volume examines national and international food agriculture policies and how they enhance agricultural productivity growth. It provides unique historical reviews on policies and their effects, and it clearly articulates both positive and negative lessons for promoting agriculture lead growth. With chapters written by international authorities, this book recognizes that agriculture is not just about providing food for today, but about growing it in an environmentally sustainable way that can help people work their ways out of poverty.Chapters cover international macro-economic policies and trade, farm structure in developing countries, regional experiences in agriculture, and regional studies on agricultural productivity policies.
Handbook of Development Economics by
What guidance does academic research really provide to economic policy development? The critical and analytical surveys in this volume investigate links between policies and outcomes by surveying work from broad macroeconomic policies to interventions in microfinance. Asserting that there are no universal correspondences between policies and outcomes, contributors demonstrate instead that only an intense familiarity with the development context and the universe of applicable economic models can generate successful policies. Getting cause-and-effect right is essential for policy design and implementation. With the goal of drawing researchers and policy makers closer, this volume highlights our increasing understanding of ways to combine economic theorizing with careful, thoughtful empirical work. * Presents an accurate, self-contained survey of the current state of the field * Summarizes the most recent discussions, and elucidates new developments * Although original material is also included, the main aim is the provision of comprehensive and accessible surveys
Handbook of Environmental Economics by
Many of the frontiers of environmental economics research are at the interface of large-scale and long-term environmental change with national and global economic systems. This is also where some of the most of challenging environmental policy issues occur. Volume 3 of the Handbook of Environmental Economics provides a synthesis of the latest theory on economywide and international environmental issues and a critical review of models for analyzing those issues. It begins with chapters on the fundamental relationships that connect environmental resources to economic growth and long-run social welfare. The following chapters consider how environmental policy differs in a general-equiIibrium setting from a partial-equilibrium setting and in a distorted economy from a perfect economy. The volume closes with chapters on environmental issues that cross or transcend national borders, such as trade and the environment, biodiversity conservation, acid rain, ozone depletion, and global climate change. The volume provides a useful reference for not only natural resource and environmental economists but also international economists, development economists, and macroeconomists.
Government Information
Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.
Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information
Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites
Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information
Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.
Search Think Tanks and Research Centers
Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
Use UC Library Search to search for eBooks on a particular topic, or browse one of the eBook collections below. To learn how to navigate the different eBook platforms, see these instructions.
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications and data are open access since July 2024.
OECD publications are also Open Access on the OECD web site under "publications". Statistical data is also available at the new OECD data explorer https://data-explorer.oecd.org/
