Library Guides: Agricultural and Resource Economics: Articles & Papers

Research Databases for Agricultural and Resource Economics

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, working papers, and other materials relevant to research in ARE.

To find full text, look for

AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window
Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. (Reserach in Agricultural and Applied Economics)
Includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).

agriRxiv
International open access archive of unpublished preprints for agriculture and allied sciences.

AGRIS This link opens in a new window
International, multilingual database of papers, data, and statistics on agricultural research and technology produced by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
Covers subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Includes grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
Curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.
CUDARE Working Paper Series
UC Berkeley Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics working papers [1976 - present].

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
Eldis This link opens in a new window
Policy, practice, and research on international development issues.
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes thousands of summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from thousands of publishers. Each document is selected by members of the Eldis editorial team. See also their Custom Search Engine for information from other development web sites.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text access to thousands of working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals in economics. (REPEC - Research Papers in Economics) [1995 - present]
A free bibliographic database on economics. Offering citations to thousands of full-text working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). [1994 - present]
Provides access to NBER research results through the working paper series.The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields. NBER Data and Data links provide access to government economic information such as business cycle data.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
SEARCH (USDA NAL) This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s search tool that includes results from AGRICOLA (USDA's catalog and articles database), PubAg (USDA’s public access repository), and the NAL Digital Collections (historical documents and images).
Topics include nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural statistics, extension education, and soil science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

And here's a friendly reminder:

Conditions of Use for Electronic Reources

Other Databases

In addition the Research Databases for ARE, UCB researchers have access to many more databases that cover a variety of subject areas. The Library's list of Databases by Subject can help you find an appropriate database, or feel free to ask your librarian.

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

Environment & Natural Resource News

Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.
Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.
E&E Daily This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.
Part of E&E News; related subscriptions: Greenwire, Climatewire, Energywire.
FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.

EcoAmericas
Monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.
Inside Climate News
Browse stories on their website or sign up for daily or weekly newsletters, including one on clean energy.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
PoliticoPro's California This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 3/14/25 due to library budget cuts. California specific news coverage from Politico.
Politico is one of the nation's respected sources for national political and government news and analysis. Politico has recently expanded their coverage to California politics and government. In addition to finding news articles about the state, the Datapoint and Documents modules contain current primary source information and info-graphics used in Politico's reporting for California and the nation. These can be reused in papers, classes, or other research projects.
EnergyWire This link opens in a new window
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.

Free Student Access to NYT & WSJ
UCB students can get free access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
News Databases
Use these databases to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc. Access World News contains a shortcut to search across California newspapers.
Google News
Allows you to save searches and follow topics.

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone

Browzine
Browzine allows you to browse scholarly journals available from the UC Berkeley Library or from open sources on your Android or iOS mobile device.
more...less...
-Access thousands of scholarly journals anywhere you have WiFi access.
-View complete issues of journals including the table of contents.
-Create a personal library of up to 64 favorite journals for easy access on your BrowZine interface.
-Be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published.
-Save articles on your mobile device to read later even when you are offline.
-Download BrowZine articles to Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place.

Secondary menu