Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Politics and Protest: Collections from The Bancroft Library

Administrative Archives

Records of the Regents of the University of California, 1868-1933
CU-1

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Women

University of California, Office of the President records, 1885-1975 (partially unprocessed)
CU-5
► Collection Finding Aids: Series 1, Series 2, Series 3, Series 4, Series 5, Series 6, and Series 8
► Subjects: Women, subversive activities, racial problems, Loyalty Oath, Communism, unions, labor relations, un-American activities, academic freedom, affirmative action, student demonstrations, sex discrimination

Records of the Office of the Chancellor, University of California, Berkeley, 1952-2000
CU-149

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Student revolts, Free Speech Movement, Third World Liberation Front, Vietnam War, People's Park, Loyalty Oath, SLATE, strikes, academic freedom

University of California, Academic Senate, Berkeley Division records, 1869-present
CU-9

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: academic freedom, affirmative action, campus political activity

Records of the Office of Student Activities, approximately 1917-1990 (partially unprocessed and restricted collection)
CU-14
► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Discrimination, Third World Liberation Front, Free Speech Movement, People's Park, Vietnam War, minority groups

University of California, Berkeley Housing Office records, approximately 1910-1981
CU-14.2

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Discrimination

Office of Public Information records, 1958-2000
CU-589

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Free Speech Movement, divestment, affirmative action

University of California, Berkeley, Office of Public Information press releases and collected newspaper clippings, 1959-1995
CU-15.8

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Free Speech Movement

Robert Gordon Sproul personal papers as president and president emeritus of the University of California, 1916-1975
CU-301

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Civil rights, environmental conservation

Clark Kerr personal and professional papers, 1800-2005 (bulk 1952-2003) (partially restricted collection)
CU-302
Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Academic freedom, Free Speech Movement, labor relations


Loyalty oath records, 1949-64
CU-3.11

Correspondence and papers relating to the loyalty oath controversy, 1949-1950
CU-9.2

Records relating to the faculty fund established during the loyalty oath controversy, 1950-1957
CU-9.21

Records of the Chancellor's Advisory Committee on Discrimination, 1958-1960
CU-149.1

Strong, Edward W. and Martin Meyerson Correspondence [on the Free Speech Movement], 1964-1965
CU-436

Files relating to events on the University of California, Berkeley campus, during the 1960s, 1964-1971
CU-439

Clark Kerr office files regarding the Free Speech Movement, 1964-1985 (bulk 1964-1965)
CU-495

Record of the University of California's reaction to the thirteenth report of the California Senate Fact Finding Subcommittee on Un-American Activities, 1965
CU-5.12

Affirmative action files, 1973-1984
CU-5.07

University of California, Berkeley. Department of Women's Intercollegiate Athletics records, 1976-1993 (unprocessed collection)
CU-566

Animal rights issues on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1982-1989
CU-489

Materials on the divestment controversy and policy of the University of California, 1985-1986
CU-312

Records of the Commission on Responses to a Changing Student Body, 1987-1990
CU-156

Campus Organizational and Individual Records

Record book of the Women's Student Affairs Committee, 1910-1920
CU-567

Records of the Associated Women Students, 1912-1968
CU-281

Women's Athletic Association records, 1921-1972
CU-283

Free Speech Movement records, 1936-1969 (bulk 1964-1965)
CU-309

Collection Finding Aid

SLATE records, 1948-1988
CU-592

Collection Finding Aid

Records of the Committee on Academic Freedom during the loyalty oath controversy, 1949-1952
CU-9.26

Correspondence and papers of the Committee of Seven, 1950
CU-9.22

Group for Academic Freedom records, 1950-1956
CU-9.23

Collection Finding Aid

Academic Freedom Committee papers kept by William Wurster, 1952
CU-9.261

Materials concerning elimination of discrimination in student groups and student housing at the University of California, Berkeley, 1956-1959
CU-424

Free Speech Movement participants papers, 1959-1997 (bulk 1964-1972)
BANC MSS 99/162

Collection Finding Aid

Malcolm Burnstein papers [on the Free Speech Movement], 1963-1994 (bulk 1963-1973)
BANC MSS 99/294

Collection Finding Aid

Sproul Hall Incident records: Participant survey reports, 1964-1965
CU-560

Center for Higher Education papers regarding the Free Speech Movement, 1964-1965 (partially unprocessed collection)
CU-310.2
Collection Finding Aid

Michael Rossman papers [on the Free Speech Movement], 1964-1966
BANC MSS 2010/140

Max Heirich papers relating to the Free Speech Movement, 1964-1971
BANC MSS 2003/326

Disabled Students' Program records, 1964-2002 (partially unprocessed collection)
CU-479
Collection Finding Aid

Bruce Provin collection of Free University of Berkeley records, 1965-1975
BANC MSS 2011/128

Leon Eli collection of witness statements relating to People's Park and general unrest in Berkeley, California, 1969
BANC MSS 99/80

People's Park material assembled by the Center for Research and Development in Higher Education, 1969-1970
CU-310.3

Queer Resource Center resource files, 1971-1996
CU-500

Collection Finding Aid

Queer Resource Center records, 1972-1992
CU-486

Collection Finding Aid

Materials relating to the anti-apartheid movement on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1977-1985
CU-313

Coalition for Animals and Animal Research records, 1988-1993
CU-420

Domestic partnership at Berkeley collection, 1992-present
CU-487

Gay Bears! collection, 1995-present
CU-484

Faculty Papers

Paul Schuster Taylor papers, 1660-1997 (bulk 1895-1984)
BANC MSS 84/38

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Labor, strikes, politics

Albert Israel Elkus papers, 1871-1976
BANC MSS 82/16

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Joel Henry Hildebrand papers, 1903-1986 (bulk 1923-1981)
BANC MSS 71/69

► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

T.J. Kent papers, 1910-1993
BANC MSS 99/33

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath, politics, environmental conservation

Catherine Bauer Wurster papers, 1911-1964 (bulk 1931-1964)
BANC MSS 74/163

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Labor, housing, politics

Ewald Theophilus Grether papers, 1922-1954 (partially unprocessed collection)
BANC MSS C-B 1007
► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Wendell M. Stanley papers, 1926-1972
BANC MSS 78/18

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath, academic freedom

Robley Cook Williams papers, 1932-1990
BANC MSS 73/7

► Subjects: Free Speech Movement

Arthur H. Brayfield papers, 1932-1992 (bulk 1947-1982)
BANC MSS 2011/157

► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Henry F. May papers, 1940-2011
BANC MSS 89/61

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Free Speech Movement

Howard K. Schachman papers, 1940-2000 (unprocessed collection)
BANC MSS 2007/136
► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath, academic freedom

Owen Chamberlain papers, 1941-2006
BANC MSS 2002/345

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Free Speech Movement, Loyalty Oath

Leon Henkin papers, 1941-2003
CU-464

► Subjects: academic freedom, education

Paul Seabury papers, 1941-1990
BANC MSS 91/115

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: U.S. foreign relations, affirmative action, political science

David Rynin papers, 1948-1963
BANC MSS 2005/191

► Subjects: academic freedom

Bob Blauner papers, 1949-2011 (partially restricted collection)
BANC MSS 99/285
Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath, academic freedom, civil rights, racism

[Frank L. Kidner] University of California loyalty oath controversy material, 1949-1952
BANC MSS C-B 496

► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

[James F. King] University of California loyalty oath controversy material, 1949-1952
BANC MSS C-B 497

► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Stephen Smale papers, 1950-1998
BANC MSS 99/373

► Subjects: Free Speech Movement, Vietnam War

Harley C. Stevens papers, 1950-1951
BANC MSS C-B 506

► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Franz Schurmann papers, circa 1955-1986 (bulk 1957-1970)
BANC MSS 98/123

Collection Finding Aid
► Subjects: Vietnam War

Francis A. Jenkins papers, 1956-1958 (partially restricted collection)
BANC MSS 78/54
► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Loyalty Oath

Vévé A. Clark papers, 1964-2007 (unprocessed collection)
BANC MSS 2009/102
► Subjects: African American studies

Charles L. Schwartz papers, 1968-1995 (unprocessed collection)
BANC MSS 2001/58
► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing
► Subjects: Vietnam War, politics, affirmative action, anti-nuclear movement

Gloria Bowles papers, 1969-2017
BANC MSS 2017/118

► Subjects: Women's studies

William M. Banks papers, 1970-1999
BANC MSS 2005/172

► Subjects: African American studies

Lisa Gerrard papers, 1970-2017
BANC MSS 2018/107

► Subjects: Women's studies

Photographs

Photographs from the Ray Colvig papers, 1895-1990
BANC PIC 2013.030

Views of anti-war, anti-draft and peace rallies, University of California, Berkeley, 1935-present (bulk 1970)
UARC PIC 24D

Free Speech Movement photographs, 1964 (some images available online)
BANC PIC 2000.002

Michael Rossman Free Speech Movement photographs, 1964 (available online)
BANC PIC 2000.067

Views of protest movements at the University of California, Berkeley, 1964-1970
UARC PIC 24E

Free Speech Movement photographs, 1964-1984 (bulk 1964) (available online)
UARC PIC 24B

The Sixties, views of the San Francisco Bay Area, 1966-1969
UARC PIC 24

Views of the Third World Liberation Strike, University of California, Berkeley, 1969
UARC PIC 24C

People's Park, July 14, 1969
BANC PIC 2019.027--ffALB

Photographs of protest movements at the University of California, Berkeley, 1969-1970
UARC PIC 24H

People's Park conflicts in Berkeley, California, 1969-1972 (restricted collection)
BANC PIC 1999.032--AX

Views of People's Park, Berkeley, Calif., 1969-present
UARC PIC 24A

Disabled Students' Program photograph collection, 1970-1992
UARC PIC 28H

Views of anti-apartheid protests, University of California, Berkeley, 1985
UARC PIC 24G

Photographs of the Ethnic Studies and Third World Liberation Front protests, 1999
UARC PIC 24F

Ephemera

Social protest collection, 1943-1982 (bulk 1960-1975)
BANC FILM 2757
(originals restricted due to fragility, microfilm use only)
Collection Finding Aid

The Henry F. May collection of handbills, clippings and newsletters relating to student political activism and religious pacifism on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1934-1937
308h.H24.m

The anti-war movement of the students of the University of California, 1935
308h.A62

Young Communist League handbills distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1935-1949
308h.H24.ycl

Peace movement handbills distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1935-1941, 1965-1970
308h.H24.pea

Sather Gate handbills: protest literature distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1935-present
308h.H24

Handbills distributed by Socialist organizations on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1935-1968
308h.H24.ys

Handbills issued by the American Student Union distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1936-1941
308h.H24.asu

Labor Youth League handbills distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1949-1953
308h.H24.lyl

Handbills and publications issued by SLATE, together with materials concerning the organization, 1957-1965
308r.S63

Berkeley protest poster collection, 1960-1970
CU-561

Faculty memoranda, reports, handbills, etc. dealing with the Free Speech Movement, 1964-1965
308h.F85.fac

Free speech movement handbills issued on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1964-1966
308h.F85.han

"Third world liberation" strike handbills, 1969
308h.T445.h

Women's movement handbills, 1969
308h W872 han

People's Park clipping files, 1969
CU-430

People's Park controversy handbills, 1969-present
308h.P42.h

Reconstitution of the campus: anti-war handbills distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1970
308h.R311.han

Reconstitution of the campus: anti-war posters created and distributed on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1970
ff 308h.R311.p

Materials relating to the anti-apartheid movement on the University of California, Berkeley campus, 1977-1985
CU-313

Student protest materials, 2008-2011 (unprocessed collection)
CU-585