Contains news, industry data, and company profiles for the oil and gas, nuclear, and alternative energy sectors. Use "News Quick Search" for the last 30 days, and "Archive News" for older stories.
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 2/28/24 due to library budget cuts. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Berkeley subscribes to the Energy and Real Estate verticals, which provide financial information and research on companies' individual projects and investments. Formerly known as SNL and S&P Market Intelligence. A guide to Real Estate screening can be found at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1189557
World Electric Power Plants Database
Now included as part of SNL Energy / Capital IQ. It is available in the Excel template library of Market Intelligence.
Data on U.S. oil drilling, including current and historical data on oil well construction, production, leases, permits, etc. Password Required. Inquire at the Earth Sciences Library, or D-Lab for login details.
Macroeconomic, financial, industry, and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. [2011 - present] Note: This resource requires you to login with your CalNet.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
Wiki where users can view, edit, add, and download crowdsourced data with the goal of providing the most current information needed to make informed decisions on energy, market investment, and technology development.
Comprehensive energy statistics on the production, trade, conversion and final consumption of primary and secondary; conventional and non-conventional; and new and renewable sources of energy.
Search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
An independent / impartial organization that provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports. Open data plus tools like an API and embeddable charts. EIA administers the Residential Energy Consumption Survey (RECS), a periodic survey of a nationally representative sample of housing units.
Informs public and private decision making within the U.S. electricity sector through independent, interdisciplinary analysis of critical electricity policy and market issues. Includes data visualizations for topics including wind, solar, and energy efficiency.
Research and development - "translating science into solutions for the most critical problems facing society at the nexus of energy, environment, and security."
Find regulations, data, reports, including the Energy Almanac The CEC is the "central repository for the collection and storage of data on all forms of energy supply, demand, efficiency and conservation, transportation, and related subjects."
PG&E makes some of its energy usage data available to the public, or there is a process to go through to request additional data for research purposes.
The STOrage and RETrieval and Water Quality eXchange, from US EPA is a repository for water quality, water monitoring, biological, and physical data. The Water Quality Exchange allows states, tribes and other data partners to submit and share water quality monitoring data via the web to the STORET Data Warehouse, from which anyone can browse and download monitoring data.
A repository for water quality, biological, and physical data used by state environmental agencies, EPA and other federal agencies, universities, and private citizens.
Provides access to primary source, technical materials on all aspects of water resources in California and the West. These collections of engineers, hydrologists and UC faculty document California's water environment and the construction of its infrastructure from the early 1900's to the present.
The UC WATER Security and Sustainability Research Initiative is focused on strategic research to build the knowledge base for better water resources management.
The Berkeley Water Group was formed with the goal of providing a forum in which Berkeley students from different departments can meet, collaborate and discuss the interdisciplinary topics of water, sanitation and hygiene.
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart@library.berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
A collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries. (ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World)
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 01/24 due to library budget cuts. Access restricted to users with a Berkeley email address Users must create individual accounts using their @berkeley.edu email address. County-level hazard loss data set for the US for 18 different natural hazard events types such as thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes, covering from 1960 - present.
For each event, the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. The data set does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories. Data and maps were compiled and geo-referenced by the Hazards & Vulnerability and Research Institute at the University of South Carolina. The subscription only allows access to aggregated data. See the site FAQ for more information.
