Library Guides: Energy & Resources: Stay Current

Keeping Current

To help you stay current with published research, set up automated alerts by topic, author, citation, or journal using these tools:

Using Alerts
How to keep up with your favorite journals.
Citation, Journal, and Search Alerts in Web of Science, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts
See tutorials under "Staying up to date"
Citation and Search Alerts in Scopus
Citation and Search Alerts in Google Scholar
Search Alerts in PubMed using MyNCBI
How to keep up with the scientific literature
Article from Science with some good tips

Daily News: EnergyWire

Today in Energy - from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

Blog of California Institute for Water Resources, UCANR

Energy & Environment News

EnergyWire This link opens in a new window
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.
Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.

Inside Climate News
Browse stories on their website or sign up for daily or weekly newsletters, including one on clean energy.

FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.

EcoAmericas
Monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.

Carbon Pulse This link opens in a new window
Carbon Pulse is an online, subscription-based B2B service dedicated to providing in-depth news and intelligence about carbon pricing initiatives and climate change policies around the world. Requires registration with Carbon Pulse, and the completion of this form
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/10SSK7VnizRtA6i-EZxF2sOMyNOgEs-zzZXi2osYq694/edit?ts=66db2645

The subscription is available to all current UC Berkeley faculty, students, staff, and researchers. You should receive an email from Carbon-Pulse within 10 days notifying you that you’re subscribed.
*If you have any questions, please email Ayuko Picot, ayukopicot@berkeley.edu, at the Center for Environmental Public Policy.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.

Free Student Access to NYT & WSJ
UCB students can get free access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

PoliticoPro's California This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 3/14/25 due to library budget cuts. California specific news coverage from Politico.
Politico is one of the nation's respected sources for national political and government news and analysis. Politico has recently expanded their coverage to California politics and government. In addition to finding news articles about the state, the Datapoint and Documents modules contain current primary source information and info-graphics used in Politico's reporting for California and the nation. These can be reused in papers, classes, or other research projects.

News Databases
Use these databases to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc. Access World News contains a shortcut to search across California newspapers.
Google News
Easy way to search for very current news coverage on a topic.

FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
Macroeconomic, financial, industry, and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. [2011 - present]
Note: This resource requires you to login with your CalNet.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.

Secondary menu

Energy & Resources: Stay Current

Keeping Current

Daily News: EnergyWire

Today in Energy - from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

Blog of California Institute for Water Resources, UCANR

Energy & Environment News