Library Guides: Forestry: Books, eBooks, Reports

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

Browse catalog records for dissertations from Environmental Science, Policy, and Management

Many Master of Forestry Papers are found in the Bioscience and Natural Resources Library under the call number SD 8.6

Find USDA Forest Service Reports

Treesearch
Database of online publications by Research and Development scientists in the USFS. Can by searched by author, title, publication year, or keywords – or for those reports that are published in the Forest Service research series, by the station, series, and number.

Note that not all USFS reports are in Treesearch. To find other reports, check UC Library Search or ask your librarian for help.

Other Government Reports

You can find reports and other 'grey literature' using many of the databases listed in the Articles tab. Here are some other sources for government reports:

Document Library [California Department of Fish and Wildlife]
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications [Environmental Protection Agency]
National Technical Reports Library Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
USGS Publications Warehouse [U.S. Geological Survey]

University of California Forest Products Laboratory Reports

The Bioscience and Natural Resources Library has a collection of reports (some called Technical Reports or Service Reports) from the former University of California Forest Products Laboratory (Richmond, CA), including the Wood Building Research Center. The dates of these reports are through the early 1990s. Please ask Becky Miller if you would like help finding one of these reports.

Early California Forestry

Bibliography of Early California Forestry
Records of news articles and other documents pertaining to logging, forest conditions, and forest fires in the early 1900s. Arranged by county. A similar compilation is available for Nevada.

eBooks

Use UC Library Search to search for eBooks on a particular topic, or browse one of the eBook collections below. To learn how to navigate the different eBook platforms, see these instructions.

Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. [2000-present].
This collection is divided into six subject areas: Agriculture; Animal & Veterinary Sciences; Human Health & Nutrition; Plant Sciences; Environmental Science; and Leisure & Tourism.

Cambridge Books Online
Access to selected Cambridge University Press e-books in the sciences, engineering and social sciences.

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A database containing hundreds of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of Biology, Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Politics , Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Mathematics.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in UC Library Search.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

Secondary menu

Forestry: Books, eBooks, Reports