Library Guides: IB 31: The Ecology and Evolution of Animal Behavior: Finding Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

Several databases have a check box or filter to limit your search results to peer-reviewed research.

Specialized Databases:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of zoology, including systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution, and conservation. [1864 - current]
Searchable by author, subject, geographic area, and taxa, with a thesaurus of about 10,000 terms arranged in 80 hierarchies.

Multidisciplinary Citation Databases:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions in Google Scholar.

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

Review and Tips

Scientific Literature
Material from Bio 1B covering primary literature, literature reviews, peer review, etc.
What is Peer Review?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Video)
Searching by topic
Material from Bio 1B on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Search Tips & More

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Jae C. Choe (Editor-In-Chief)
Provides comparative approaches, including the perspective of evolutionary biologists, physiologists, endocrinologists, neuroscientists, and psychologists.
Exploring Animal Behavior in Laboratory and Field by Heather Zimbler-DeLorenzo (Editor); Susan W. Margulis (Editor)
Exploring Animal Behavior in Laboratory and Field, Second Edition provides a comprehensive manual on animal behavior lab activities.
Animal Behaviour: a Very Short Introduction by Tristram D. Wyatt How animals behave is crucial to their survival and reproduction. The application of new molecular tools such as DNA fingerprinting and genomics is causing a revolution in the study of animal behaviour, while developments in computing and image analysis allow us to investigate behaviour in ways never previously possible. By combining these with the traditional methods of observation and experiments, we are now learning more about animal behaviour than ever before.In this Very Short Introduction Tristram D. Wyatt discusses how animal behaviour has evolved, how behaviours develop in each individual (considering the interplay of genes, epigenetics, and experience), how we can understand animal societies, and how we can explain collective behaviour such as swirling flocks of starlings. Using lab and field studies from across the whole animal kingdom, he looks at mammals, butterflies, honeybees, fish, and birds, analysing what drives behaviour, and exploring instinct, learning, and culture. Looking more widely at behavioural ecology, he also considers some aspects of human behaviour.:

Encyclopedia of Animal Cognition and Behavior
A "living" reference work that is periodically updated to remain current.
IUCN Red List

Secondary menu

IB 31: The Ecology and Evolution of Animal Behavior: Finding Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

Specialized Databases:

Multidisciplinary Citation Databases:

Find Journals and Full Text

Review and Tips

Search Tips & More

Reference Sources