Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Bio 1B Research Skills Guide: Getting Articles and Books: Getting full text

Getting articles and e-books

Getting the Full Text of Articles and E-books

If you need to find resources on your research topic, see Searching for Articles or Finding books. If you've found a resource but need to get the full text, read on!

Article databases and UC Library Search contain citations to resources, but don't always include the full text.

If the full text is available you should see a Full Text icon: Full text icon

From databases: If no full text icon is immediately visible, to get to the full text of an article or e-book click the UC-eLinks  or Get it at UC buttons.

From UC Library Search: Click available links under View Online: Full text availability.

One of the following three things should happen:

  • You may be taken directly to the article or e-book, usually on the journal or publisher website. There you can read the article or book chapter as an HTML page in a web browser, or click a link to download a PDF of the article or book chapter. If necessary, authenticate using EZproxy or the VPN.
  • For articles you may be taken to the home page of the journal. There you can browse for the year and issue of the journal that contains the article by clicking on an All issues or Previous issues or Archive link.
  • You may be taken to a menu:

View online link

Click on the Get It Online link to access the full text if it is available.

To see if UC Berkeley has online access to a specific life sciences journal, you can enter the title in UC Library Search.

For more help

Profile Photo
Elliott Smith
Contact:
Bioscience, Natural Resources &
Public Health Library
esmith@library.berkeley.edu