It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Contains the U.S. State Department Central Files for Africa and the Middle East, including diplomatic cables. [1960-1969]
This ProQuest History Vault module contains a range of declassified materials from U.S. diplomats in Africa and the Middle East. Materials include reports on political, military, and socio-economic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and diplomatic cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and selected reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
Contains the records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board investigating “subversive” activities.
This ProQuest History Vault module contains J. Edgar Hoover's office files; documentation on the FBI's so-called "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries"; and the "Do Not File" File. The "Do Not File" file consists of records that were originally supposed to be destroyed on FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's order, however large portions of these files survived. Another key collection in this module consists of the records of the Subversive Activities Control Board (SACB). The SACB files is one of the most valuable resources for the study of left-wing radicalism during the 1950s and 1960s. [1945-1972]
Includes 104 ProQuest microfilm collections; records of the Associated Press's Saigon Bureau, Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam; and National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford administrations.
"Contains Records of the Women’s Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps." [1918-1965, primarily the 1940's]
This ProQuest History Vault module contains primary sources that document a wide range of issues pertinent to American women during WWII, including studies on the treatment of women by unions in several midwestern industrial centers, and the influx of women to industrial centers during the war. Other topics covered include women’s work in war industries, equal pay, childcare and race. There is also extensive documentation on the women who joined and served in the Women’s Army Corps as WACs.
A full-text collection of declassified U. S. government documents.
Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, make broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered. Includes correspondence and memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements and intelligence reports.
Contains a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. [1809-1971]
Also features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.