Library Guides: 10 things every Berkeley bioscience researcher should know: Home

10 things every Berkeley bioscience researcher should know:

1. Finding articles

Some key databases:

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

A guide to databases by subject scope:

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Article Databases
by Elliott Smith Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 714 views this year

Finding the full text of an article from a citation:

Citation search
Copy and paste the article or book title into the search box of UC Library Search. If the title is exact, place double quotes immediately before and after the title, and click Search.

2. Finding journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more

Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
UC Library Search
Search for journals, books and more at all of the libraries in the University of California system, or worldwide.
Request items from other libraries.

3. Getting articles, books and other materials to which UC Berkeley doesn't have access

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.

4. Finding papers that cite a key reference

Web of Science cited reference search
Search for citations to journal articles, books, and more in Web of Science. [video]

5. Keeping current in your field

Keeping Current
by Lisa Ngo Last Updated Jul 12, 2024 794 views this year

6. Connecting from off-campus

Connect from off campus
Use the Library Proxy or the Virtual Private Network (VPN) to access UC Berkeley Library databases, e-journals, e-books, streaming video, and more.

7. Saving, organizing, and citing your references

8. Borrowing laptops and other equipment from the library

Equipment lending: Laptops, accessories and more
Borrowing laptops, accessories, study/presentation equipment, and more from UC Berkeley libraries.

9. Support your data

Research Data Management Program
Consulting, training and documentation in all things data: collection, classification & security, organization, sharing, storage, backup & transfer.

10. Maximizing your impact

Measuring Research Impact
by Becky Miller Last Updated Aug 6, 2024 3311 views this year

Open Access Publishing for UC Berkeley researchers
Information on policies and support for Open Access publishing at UCB.

Bonus: Contacting your librarian for help

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health librarians

Help

For help, please contact:

Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library
bios-library@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-0456

Secondary menu

10 things every Berkeley bioscience researcher should know: Home

10 things every Berkeley bioscience researcher should know:

Help