Library Guides: Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Article Databases: All Databases

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Databases

Search the following article databases to find journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, and more.

To access full text:

Core databases

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Additional databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes dozens of journals in several subject areas that capture the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; set the work in historical context; and highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed.
Bioline International This link opens in a new window
Health research journals published in developing countries.
Provides access to some 35 peer-reviewed journals from Brazil, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe and more in the areas of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
Faculty Opinions This link opens in a new window
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on the recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers. (Formerly called F1000, Faculty of 1000). Note: All article recommendations and clinical trial evaluations are freely accessible with registration. Faculty Reviews are no longer accessible; please use Scopus, or Web of Science as alternative resources.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary archival materials, visual ephemera, text, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Content includes food labels, advertisements, documentary films, pamphlets, recipes, menus, books, photographs, and more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences. [1785 - present]
Includes all publications of the USGS. Database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology. (HistSciTechMed) [1976 - present]
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, and dissertations worldwide about research in the history of science, medicine, technology, and related fields. Subjects covered include agriculture, biology, construction, chemistry, energy, engineering, geology, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, social sciences, town planning, transport engineering, and zoology.
Images from the History of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access to tens of thousands of images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art.
Access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Provides an annual analysis of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Attempts to show the relationship between citing and cited journals in order to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories.
Provides citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides data on highest impact and most frequently used journals. Consists of two editions: the Science Edition which contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology and the Social Sciences Edition which contains data from roughly 1,500 journals in the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
A community-contributed database of high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. (JSTOR Plant Science)
Global Plants is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Through Global Plants, herbaria can share specimens, experts can determine and update naming structures, students can discover and learn about plants in context, and a record of plant life can be preserved for future generations. Primary source content highlights include Carl Linneaus's annotated editions of Species Naturae and correspondence from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; and foundational reference works and books such as The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa, Flowering Plants of South Africa, and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.
Provide evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
Proteome This link opens in a new window
Protein information for species including human, mouse, rat, yeast, worm, and plant, including links to relevant scientific literature. Human entries include associated disease information.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]

Select a biological sciences database:

Article databases by subject

Article databases for ESPM
Find articles on topics related to Environmental Sciences, Policy & Management.
Article databases for IB
Find articles for topics related to Integrative Biology.
Article databases for MCB
Find articles on topics related to Molecular and Cell Biology
Article databases for NST
Find articles on topics related to Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology.
Article databases for Optometry
Find articles on topics related to Optometry and Vision Science.
Article databases for PMB
Find articles on topics related to Plant & Microbial Biology.
Article databases for Public Health
Find articles on topics related to Public Health.

Finding articles or journals

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and use the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and truncation to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs.
Citation search
Copy and paste the article or book title into the search box of UC Library Search. If the title is exact, place double quotes immediately before and after the title, and click Search.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Open Access Button
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Help

For help, please contact:

Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources and Public Health Library
bios-library@berkeley.edu

Secondary menu