Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, presentations, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Not all articles will be freely available.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. [dates vary]
The database includes material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals.
Provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services and research tools that enable departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.
eScholarship provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.
Aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Lists more than 4000 open access scholarly journals that are available freely. Covers all subjects and languages. 319 of the journals are searchable on article level.
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. (x archive - xxx.lanl.gov - Los Alamos ePrint Server)
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
"Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review."
Preprint service for the psychological sciences. Allows scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review. Maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Sciences (SIPS). [2016 - present]
