American Architecture is a brief, selective bibliographic research guide to general resources on the architecture of the United States in the UC Berkeley libraries and on the web.
For additional sources, check Guide to Library catalogs under Subject Keyword: [name of subject]--pictorial, e.g., Subject Keywords: School buildings pictorial, or Mount Vernon pictorial.
Harvard Univ. This collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides represents an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. Offers views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates and gardens. In addition to photographs, views include plans, maps, & models. Also indexed in the American Memory project.
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
A collection of over 12,000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.
A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages to the Parc de la Villette. Users can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields. Images have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. Freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes.
A videography of videos and DVDs in the UC Berkeley Media Resources Center on the built environment, including cities, city planners, and city planning. Noncirculating except to UCB faculty for classroom use.
High-resolution and zoom-able images from the UC Shared Images/Digital Special Collections program. Includes maps, photographs, art images, posters, and more. (Digital Special Collections) - DSC Image Service Collections (UC Image Service)
Among the 19 collections and over 30,100 images that are part of the UC Shared Images/Digital Special Collections program are several map collections (David Rumsey Historical Collection, Japanese Historical Maps, Maps of Africa), photographic collections (Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs, Icelandic and Faroese Photographs), art images (Claire Hold Indonesian Art Images, Lee Institute of Japanese Art, National Palace Museum of Taipei), posters (Hoover Institute Poster Collection, World War II Posters) and more. Collections provide high resolution and zoom-able digital images.
[Note: The collections in the UC Image Service can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality including cross-search all collections but must be downloaded.]
The Architecture of the United States / G. E. Kidder Smith; in association with the Museum of Modern Art, New York. Garden City, N.Y.: Anchor Press, 1981
