Library Guides: American Architecture: Archives

Archives

An archive is a collection containing original records, documents, images, drawings, correspondence, or other materials. For a researcher, archives are a treasure house of primary resources. See Archival Collections and Primary Source Databases for additional archival sources.

Using archival materials For information on locating and using archives and special collections, see these research guides.:

How to research in an archive (Univ. of Texas, Austin, Alexander Architectural Archive) An excellent introduction to effective and efficient use of an archive.
Using archives, a practical guide for researchers (Library and Archives Canada) Another good guide to using archives for research.
Finding Historical Primary Sources (UCB)

Finding archival materials

Architectural records in the San Francisco Bay Area: a guide to research
(Print Resource) California Cooperative Preservation of Architectural Records, Waverly B. Lowell, project director. NY: Garland, 1988.

Architectural Archives This link opens in a new window
This database is an inventory of the collections of the Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives
Also includes a selected list of research guides and projects on architectural history.
Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland) This link opens in a new window
Directory describing primary source material. (Archives USA)
Describes tens of thousands of collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Municipal archives
Municipal archives can be a fabulous source of primary research material. Many cities, counties, etc., maintain archives of historical municipal records, ranging from meeting and office records to maps, vital records, photographs, plans, parks and recreation planning, and much more. These archives are managed in diverse ways: as a separate department, as a function within an individual department, as part of the public library, etc. Search H-Urban discussion logs for "municipal archives" for a sampling of the type and quality of municipal archives available.

Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
WorldCat on FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. In addition to books, videos, etc., you may limit your advanced search to "archival materials."
Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services - and includes the CURL Union catalog. Also available: WorldCat.org or through the Advanced Search in UC Library Search

Selected archival collections in California

Bancroft Library
A noncirculating special research collection of books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, plans, and other materials, the Bancroft Library also houses the University Archives. Most holdings are listed in the library catalogs.
California Historical Society North Baker Research Library
Historic photograph collection.
California State Archives
Major collection on California, including 20,000 maps and architectural drawings, 250,000 photographs.
California State Library, California History Room
Sacramento, maintains a collection of city directories from all over California.

Environmental Design Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides primary source material for scholarly research, teaching support and preservation on the work of nearly 100 of the San Francisco Bay Region's historically significant architects, landscape architects and firms.

National Archives: Cartographic and Architectural Records
Federal archives site. Search catalog and limit to Cartographic and Architectural Records. Links to the National Archives in Washington, D.C.
National Archives, Pacific Region (Riverside)
Maintains "retired records from Federal agencies and courts in Arizona, southern California, and Clark County, Nevada."
National Archives, Pacific Region (San Francisco)
Holdings are "comprised of Federal records from northern and central California, Nevada (except Clark County), Hawaii, American Samoa and the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands."
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park
Historic Documents Department,
SCI-Arc Media Archive
An online collections of videos of public events held at the Southern California Institute of Architecture from 1972-present.

See the following guides for more links: History or Architecture and Historic Preservation.

Secondary menu

American Architecture: Archives

Archives