ASAMST 132AC Islamophobia and Constructing Otherness (Spring 2023)

Use a question mark to search for variations of a single character.

(ex: search for "woman", "women", and "womyn".)

Use a wildcard/asterisk to search for variations of multiple characters.

(ex: search for "culture", "cultural", "culturally", etc.)

Use NOT to exclude words or phrases. (ex: search for voodoo but NOT voodoo economics.)

Select "Advanced Search".

Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.  

Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.

UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections.

UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.

Open the "any field" menu to search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.

Open the "contains" menu and select:

• Contains for results including all of your search words in any order.
• Is (exact) for results including all of your search words in your specified order.
• Starts with (title searches only) for results including titles beginning with all search words in your specified order. 

Scan your search results. For each item, note its:

• Format (ex: book, article, video, etc.): Indicated by the Image on the left and the text above the title.
• Location: Either online or in a physical library.
• Peer-review status (for articles only).

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.   

Sort results by relevance (default), newest, oldest, title, or author. Refine results by using filters. 

Using filters  

Manage a single filter by hovering over it. You can: 

• Include it  .
• Exclude it  .
• Make it persistent .

Manage multiple filters in the Use the Active Filter area (top left column). You can:

• Remove a persistent filter .
• Make all current filters persistent (click "Remember all Filters").
• Reset all filters (click "Reset Filters").

Adding filters

Adding:

• Multiple filters at the same time will retrieve items for either filter.  (Ex: Adding Agriculture and Botany will find items about either Agriculture or Botany.)
• Filter(s) after retrieving search results will retrieve items matching all filters. (Ex:  Doing a search and adding the filter for Botany, looking at search results, and then adding another filter for Agriculture, will only retrieve items matching both Agriculture and Botany.)

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.