Library Guides: Astronomy and Astrophysics: Articles + Preprints

Preprints and Article Databases

The following databases index preprints, articles, conference papers, technical data and reports. Click on the Get it at UC button to access the full text of the article.

ADS/Astrophysics Data System (NASA) This link opens in a new window
Covers four databases including Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and Astrophysics Preprints.
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, Observatory reports and newsletters, NASA reports, and dissertations.
arXiv (e-Print Archive) This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. (x archive - xxx.lanl.gov - Los Alamos ePrint Server)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Search citations for research literature in the fields of electronics, computer science, physics, and electrical, control, production, and mechanical engineering. [1898 - present].
Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
ARIBIB
Online database for astronomical bibliography from University of Heidelberg.
NRAO Publications
National Radio Astronomy Observatory database of publications using NRAO telescope data or written by NRAO staff.
SIMBAD
Sloan Digital Sky Survey

Off-campus Access

We offer two ways to access UCB licensed library resources from off-campus:

EZProxy
When accessing a library licensed resource via links found on UC Library Search or our Databases A-Z list, you may be prompted to authenticate via CalNet or via your PIN / Cal 1 card number. If you normally search via non-licensed UCB resources (such as Google Scholar), we recommend that you install our bookmarklet in order to authenticate.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN client software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Secondary menu

Astronomy and Astrophysics: Articles + Preprints

Preprints and Article Databases

Off-campus Access