Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
This resource contains the most significant British pamplets held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
~[373]~
Cambridge Higher Education Full Collection; Higher Education from Cambridge University Press; CHE
A collection of approximately 1200 etextbooks and ebooks in many subjects.
Titles can be accessed online through the Cambridge Higher Education website, or through the free downloadable Spiral eReader app for offline reading. Online users have full reading access and text-to-speech capability where available. Setting up a personal CHE account is necessary to make use of Spiral eReader functions such as saving your reading progress, adding bookmarks, adding and exporting notes, highlighting text, adding links, offline reading on desktop or mobile device, and printing or copying up to 20% of the text.
License term: 4/1/2024-12/31/2025, although our subscription includes textbooks published before the beginning of the license term.
Digital archive of political ephemera and organizational material from across the world covering twentieth century political parties, pressure groups and trade union movements, created for, about and by local actors.
"This resource brings together primary source material produced in over 70 former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. Largely eschewing the accounts of colonizers, this collection helps researchers explore decolonization as a historical process sparked from within, specifically the changing or adapting of systems from an imposed imperial or colonial structure after 1945 and up to the present day. The archive sheds light on national political developments that followed decolonization and how former colonies negotiated their own agency and futures.
"
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism richly presents the development of nationalist sensibilities, movements, and publications from the 1870s until the third decade of the twentieth century and culminating with the formal dissolution of the British protectorate in 1924.
The Encyclopedia introduces the multifaceted aspects of Taiwan’s past and present, focusing on Taiwan's history, society, culture, economy, politics, and international relations.
Primary sources that document the role of government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection. UCB access only.
The sources in this database document the different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. Researchers can explore unique primary sources that trace the evolution of land rights, resource usage, trade rules, and environmental protections that mark the beginning of the modern conservation movement. Scholars will find the papers of pioneering conservationists such as George Bird Grinnell and Joseph Trimble Rothrock, alongside material from government agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management and the Bureau of Reclamation who have formed and conserved national parks, forests and dams across North America, shaping the landscape it is today.
L2 Voter Data is a continuously updated database of all registered voters in the United States. It provides detailed demographic profiles, historical voting records, party affiliation data, and geospatial analysis tools. 2001 - Present. Requires account
L2 Voter Data is licensed for anyone affiliated with UC Berkeley, including LBNL users. Prior to accessing the data, the user must have permission from a UC Berkeley PI. The user will also need to set up a Savio account with Research IT.
Alternatively, if you are interested in using the L2 Voter Data but do not have a PI, you can request access for the DataMapping Tool. Please note that there are a limited number of seats for the DataMapping Tool. We ask that you request access only if you have an active research project in progress.
The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection covers this era up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005), offering insights from over 900 newspapers across 340 cities, reflecting regional and ethnic dynamics. 1990 - 2001
~[373]~
The shared source for design material collections
Co-founded by Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Rhode Island School of Design, Material Order is the leading resource for design materials collections at academic and cultural institutions.
Images of physical materials used in design and held by other educational institutions. The Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions.
MGG Online builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.
Municode Library provides access to current municipal codes and ordinances from all U.S. states and many tribal nations. Search or browse by state and municipality.
My China Roots is a family history database for the Chinese diaspora that includes millions of searchable ancestors in America and Southeast Asia.
The database includes thousands of clan books (zupus), immigration registers, burial and obituary records, and overseas Chinese business directories and association records. Surnames or village names are searchable. Most Chinese documents are full-text viewable online.
A survey of rhetoric in 150 entries, by leading scholars with expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment o the art of persuasion.
Library of evidence-based pediatric nutrition education materials and resources. Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Includes a pediatric diet manual, a client education library of more than 150 handouts (including translations), pediatric calculators, and infant formula and feeding recipe tables.
~[373]~
PHAROS online chemical hazard, use and exposure data
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).
~[373]~
Royal Institute of British Architects Library
Citations to over 2000 periodicals and 135,000 books held by the Royal Institute of British Architects Library. In addition to architecture, subject areas include civil engineering, landscape architecture, interior design, and town planning. 1972 - Present.
The Southeast Asia Digital Library is a growing repository of resources from and about the region of Southeast Asia. It supports Southeast Asian research and education by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website.
"SEADL is a multi-institutional project and our digital collections come from libraries and archives around the world. SEADL supports research and education in Southeast Asian Studies by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website."
This is an important primary resource on the British Indian administration and colonial government and the personnel who served in it. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Civil & Military Gazette was a publication meant for the British colonial administration serving in India. It provided the news of the day as well as information on the hiring, promotions, and retirements of civil and military personnel. As such, it is a key resource for the social history of British India as well as colonial studies generally.
~[373]~
This database contains more than 400 titles of tabloids from the Shanghai Library. The tabloids emphasize on leisure and entertainment, including novels, essays, and trends in film, theater, dance, etc.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) is a legal research platform that provides access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, as well as treatises, reporters, newsletters, and blogs.
Practice areas covered include Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Energy & Environment, Healthcare, Intellectual Property, Labor Law, Securities, Taxation, and Corporate Law. Funded via partnership with Berkeley Law Library
Archival collections (documents, images, data, maps, and photographs) from multiple global sources that focus on aspects of environmental science, history, and anthropogenic change.
"Sources include the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives (UK), Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Commonwealth Forestry Institute, Royal Entomological Society, and Ecological Society of America.
Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change,
deforestation, entomology, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. "
The comprehensive archive of Znamia (Знамя, Banner), an esteemed Soviet/Russian “thick journal” (tolstyi zhurnal) spans over nine decades and serves as a treasure trove of intellectual and artistic contributions.
Originally launched in January 1931 under the name LOKAF (Локаф), an acronym for the Literary Association of the Red Army and Navy, the journal was officially rebranded as Znamia—which translates to ‘Banner’ in English—in 1933. Throughout its history, Znamia has been a pivotal venue for showcasing the works of preeminent authors such as Anna Akhmatova, Alexander Tvardovsky, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Konstantin Paustovsky, Yuri Kazakov, and Yuri Trifonov.
