Library Guides: Company Information: Home

Company Directories with Financials

Company information databases provide basic company information such as headquarters location and status (public/private/subsidiary) as well as significant activities, news and financials for public companies. Private company financials are estimates and not always available. Analyst reports from investment banks are available in Mergent Online under the Investext tab.

Orbis This link opens in a new window
Information for 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public.
Companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff only. Create an individual login with your @berkeley.edu email address before using.
Screening/charting, public company financials and filings, private company information and investor details, M&A, industry surveys. Includes relationships among firms and people, biographical and contact data, transactions, events, securities data, ownership, brokerage estimates, corporate governance, and news about companies. Research reports about a company's structure, performance, and outlook. Includes competitors, valuation, register of corporations, directors and executives. Stock splits, dividends to 1996.
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
US and international company reports (active and inactive) and all available financials from company SEC filings. Analyst reports are available under the Investext tab.
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
US and international company dossiers include profiles from multiples sources, corporate tree, brands, latest news, analyst reports, ratings, mergers and acquisitions (from SDC, Mergerstat and Corpfin), complete financials and SEC filings, annual reports, legal cases, patents and trademarks. Can compare US companies by balance sheet, income statement, and ratios in Compare Companies and create a company list based on many criteria in Company Dossier. Access Company Dossier from the "Search by Content Type" link.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
Factiva This link opens in a new window
US company profiles, financials, ratios, competitors, comparisons. Latest news.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Uniworld Online This link opens in a new window
Screen for foreign firms with offices in the U.S., and vice versa.
Screen for foreign firms with offices in the U.S., and vice versa. This database replaces the print "Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries" and "Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States" directories, which have been discontinued by the publisher.
Reference USA This link opens in a new window
Basic directory information on companies in the United States. Best source for finding small businesses and creating lists of small businesses based on geography and industry in the US
Includes over 13 million U.S. companies. Provides searching and sorting features by industry, geographic location, company employee size, company name, sales size, etc. Also includes residential addresses for 120 million U.S. households.

Reference USA Historical Files
UCB access only. Calnet required for access.
Annual snapshots of historic company data from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database. Coverage from 1997-2018. Includes company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company.
Files are very large. Best to open in a statistics computer program.
D&B Historical Files
UCB access only. Calnet required for access.
US company historical files from Dun & Bradstreet. 1969-2018. Years 1981 and 1984 unavailable.
Company name, mailing address, SIC codes, DUNs number, year started, principal business, secondary name, parent company, site employees, total employees.
Available as .txt and .csv files.
Dun & Bradstreet: Principal International Businesses: The World Marketing Directory
Print edition in Business Library Reference. Lists 50,000 international enterprises and the largest employers worldwide.

Business Rankings

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry Surveys rank the top companies in each of 50 major U.S. industries by revenues, sales, size, and other criteria.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.
Bizjournals.com (San Francisco Business Times and Silicon Valley Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Weekly business news for major metropolitan areas in the US. Includes the annual Book of Lists, listings of top companies by various criteria in different regions. For the East Bay, see the San Francisco edition.
A print edition of the latest East Bay, San Francisco and Silicon Valley Book of Lists is kept at the Business Library. Please ask for assistance if you need to browse the print copy.

Forbes publishes lists of companies such as Best Employers, Most Trustworthy, Global 2000, Most Promising, Most Innovative, Asia's Best, etc.

Fortune annually publishes ranked lists of companies in various categories such as Most Admired, Fastest Growing, Best for Diversity, Best for ethnic groups, etc. Fortune 500 lists the largest, by revenue, American public companies and private companies that file financial documents with a government agency.

Inc 5000 is a list of the 5000 fastest growing private companies in America.

Business Rankings Annual
US companies, products, services and activities ranked by various criteria.
Dun & Bradstreet Business Rankings
Companies ranked within industry and state by sales volume and number of employees. The latest edition we have is from 2014, in storage at NRLF and can be requested.

Annual Corporate Reports

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Annual reports for US and international companies. Search for company and find annual reports under Reports tab.
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Companies' annual reports from 1844+ available through searchable PDF images. Last 10 years not available. Use Mergent Online for recent reports.
Includes over 800 companies' annual reports available as searchable pdf images. Includes financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, and more.

Microfiche: 1973-1994 (annual report and form 10-K)
International company reports are available on microfiche from 1985-1990. Proxy statements for U.S. companies from 1984-1986.
Available in the corporate reports cabinets on the lower level of Long Library.

Stock Prices

Global Financial Data (GFD) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data on United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday.
Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedias that describe each database.

Capital Changes

Corporate Capital Histories This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete capital change histories of over 58,000 corporations, including stock dividends, stock splits, reverse stock splits, reorganizations, exchanges, rights and other changes in capital structure.
Contains the complete capital change histories of over 58,000 corporations, including stock dividends, stock splits, reverse stock splits, reorganizations, exchanges, rights and other changes in capital structure.

Related Guides

Industry Information Guide

Financial and Operating Ratios Guide

Secondary menu