Library Guides: Industry Information: Home

Industry Analysis/Trends/Forecasts

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
US, China & some global industry reports. Detailed analysis of industry, key growth trends, competitive environment, key issues facing each industry, cost structure and benchmarks. Links to upstream and downstread industry reports.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Industry reports with analysis and statistics culled from many trade, government and academic sources.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Frost and Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market research, technical insights, forecasts for science and technology industries worldwide: Aerospace, Autos/Transport, Chemicals, Electronics/Security, Energy & Power, Environment & Building technologies, Healthcare, Industrial Automation, IT, Measurement/Instrumentation. Global. UC Berkeley only.
Industries include: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Systems; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control
Gartner This link opens in a new window
High level analysis of new and established IT industries and technologies.
The Gartner Campus Access program provides faculty, students, and staff access to the authoritative Gartner research library which helps translate complex IT issues into comprehensive advice and meaningful analysis. Gartner is the global leader in providing accurate and current research for the IT industry. Topics include software, hardware, cloud computing, and Internet of Things, among others.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
54 countries, quarterly forecasts, news, analysis for: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Industry Profiles offer analysis of 52 major industries, including trends, key ratios and statistics, major players, operating conditions, and more.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and statistics for OECD member countries, includes reports on other major economies also.
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles available — select Industry Profiles link (in Browse) or search by subject and select Industry Profiles in results.
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current industry news and trends, especially good for news and trends in emerging industries. Global scope. Search hints: Use Factiva links: Industry or Subject - Editors Choice/Industry Trends Analysis.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on all industries sourced from business, academia, government and trade sources.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.

Business Statistics of the United States : Patterns of Economic Change
2013 edition is latest available and can be requested from NRLF. Economic time series from the 1940s to 2012 for US industry in comprehensive detail. Includes National Income and Product, Industrial Production and Capacity Utillization, Income Distribution and Poverty, Consumer Income and Spending, Saving and Investment, Government Spending, Foreign Trade and Finance, Prices, Employment Costs, Productivity and Profits, Employment Hours and Earnings, Money, Interest, Assets and Liabilities, International Comparisons and Product and Income by Industry.

US Census Bureau Economic Programs includes the following:

Manufacturing and Construction Manufacturing: manufacturing inventories, orders, shipments, exports, plant capacity, energy consumption. Construction: building permits, construction, sales, housing characteristics
Wholesale trade: monthly and annual sales, inventories, operating expenses
Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations: estimated statements of income and retained earnings, balance sheets, and related financial and operating ratios
Economic Census: every 5 years, latest conducted 2017. All industrial categories — payroll, expenses, sales, and value added, to the zip code level. 2017 census data data will be released between September 2019 and December 2021. Complete data for earlier censuses available.

Federal Statistical Agencies
Links to all federal statistics agencies, eg. Census of Agriculture, Health statistics, Crime statistics, etc.

Data.gov - Search across all federal statistical agency datasets.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Proquest
National and some state level statistics of the entire US economy.

Statistical Abstracts from 1879-2010 available here.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Industry statistics and reports for OECD member countries.
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)

Links to Statistical Agencies (US agencies, national agencies of other countries, and International)

Industry Financial Ratios

US Census Bureau’s provides composite quarterly ratios for manufacturing, mining, wholesale and service industries.

RMA Annual Statement Studies . Financial Ratio Benchmarks. AnnualBased on financial statements submitted to banks, composite financial and operating ratios for mfg., wholesale, retail, service industries. 750+ lines of business are covered. Upper quartile, median and lower quartile values are presented. Explanations of balance sheet and income data, definitions of ratios, and sources of financial information for industries not covered.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios . Compiled from tax returns submitted to the IRS. 190 lines of business covered and 50 performance indicators are covered. Only the industry average is presented, but each line of business has more companies represented than the RMA. Companies making a profit that year are presented in a separate table.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Financial and operating ratios for 800 lines of business. Balance sheet and income statement information and 14 financial ratios. More lines of business covered.

Subject Guide

Hilary Schiraldi

Email Me

Contact:

Business Library
S350 Haas School of Business

Secondary menu

Industry Information: Home

Industry Codes and Researching Industries

Industry Analysis/Trends/Forecasts

Statistics

Industry Financial Ratios

Subject Guide