Library Guides: Slavic 100 : Seminar: Russian, East European, and Eurasian Cultures: Home

Subject Guide

Liladhar R. Pendse

Contact:

510-768-7610
lpendse (at) library (dot) berkeley (dot) edu

Subjects: Latin American Studies, Slavic and Eastern European Studies

What's included

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Books and eBooks from:
- OskiCat, the UC Berkeley library catalog
- HathiTrust
- Dozens of eBook databases
Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, including article content from:
- Over forty EBSCOHost databases
- JSTOR
- Web of Science (and other ISI Web of Knowledge databases)
- Project MUSE
- Readex/NewsBank databases
- MLA International Bibliography
- and many, many more!
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
- Oxford University Press
- Gale

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

UC Library Search

About UC Library Search

Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from:

UC Berkeley
Other UC Libraries
WorldCat (select Advanced Search, then WorldCat)

Sign in to view all results and to manage your:

Saved records and searches.
Requested and borrowed items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access. (You may be prompted to sign in again.)

Basic Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new window
Online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLBC) This link opens in a new window
Biographical information from multiple volumes published in the Gale DLB series.
EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Includes commodity and industry forecasts as well as data at the global and country level in the areas of business and political risk, market opportunities, economic policy, demographics, energy, telecommunications. and macroeconomic indicators. Information is browsable by geography, industry, topic, and current theme.
Historical Abstracts
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Search across several Gale literature resources including LitFinder, Literature Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writer Series and Twayne's Author Series.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
ProQuest Major Daily Newspapers (Historic & Current) This link opens in a new window
Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window Easily search across all ProQuest databases that UC Berkeley subscribes to. Content ranges from historical newspapers, ebooks from the Ebook Central collection, to subject specific databases in the sciences, arts, and humanities.
To limit your search to a specific set of databases, select from the "Databases" tab in the top menu.

Specialized Databases

ABSEES Online Database This link opens in a new window Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada. [1990 - present]
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Covers the more recent years of the print equivalent, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new window Full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. [dates vary]
Online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Digital Library of Russian Historical Documents This link opens in a new window The online library currently provides public access to 27,000 important historical documents covering the Russian revolution and early Soviet period.
"The Digital Library of Historical Documents project digitizes these rare paper documentary collections, separates historical documents from the publications, describes and publishes them individually in the public online collection."
Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of interaction of Slavic with other languages.
History of Modern Russian and Ukrainian Art Online This link opens in a new window The collection documents the history of modern Russian and Ukrainian art. It encompasses critical literature, illustrated books, and art periodicals. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The collection contains texts by such artists as Wassily Kandinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytskyi; publications of art groups such as the Jack of Diamonds (Bubnovyi valet) and Màkovets; theoretical tracts by Nikolai Tarabukin and Boris Kushner; and books by well-known critics such as IAkov Tugendkhol'd, Erikh Gollerbakh, and Nikolai Punin.
Imperial Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. [1782-1918]
"There are about 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.

The collection also includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia (over 10 key bibliographies) and a unique collection of dozens of contemporaneous (mostly nineteenth century) reference works. "
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Krokodil (Russian for "Crocodile") was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. [1922 - 2008]
Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Although political satire was dangerous during much of the Soviet period, Krokodil was given considerable license to lampoon political figures and events. Other safe topics for mockery included the mid-level bureaucrat's lack of imagination and workers drinking on the job. The journal also ridiculed capitalist countries and attacked various political, ethnic and religious groups that allegedly opposed the Soviet system.
Literaturnaia Gazeta Archive This link opens in a new window Literaturnaia gazeta (LG) is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. Its focus is on literary and intellectual life in Russia. The library currently has access to the online full text archive from 1929-2012.
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. LG was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. This resource also contains access to the sister publication Moscow Daily News, which ran from 1932-1938.
"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "
Niva Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Niva (Grainfield in Russian), the most popular magazine of late-nineteenth-century Russia, defined itself as "an illustrated weekly journal of literature, politics and modern life." It was founded in 1870 and lasted till September 1918.
Niva became a very popular journal of quality literature read by the middle class in the Russian provinces. The journal contained large colored prints by well-known Russian artists, works of famous Russian authors, as well as articles on science, politics and culture. East View has collected the complete set of Niva and digitized its massive content. Users are able to browse all 49 years, more than 2,500 issues, 26,318 articles in total, as well as search using a special keyboard to accommodate the old Russian orthography.
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Covers 1912 to the present.
Full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. Searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.
Slavic Humanities Index This link opens in a new window Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 3/23/24 due to library budget cuts. The Slavic Humanities Index is a bibliographic database in the field of Central, Eastern, and South-Eastern European Studies. This comprehensive database provides access to important scholarly periodicals published in the region.
It includes publications from Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.
The index offers a single point of access to bibliographic citations of articles, book reviews and other materials across different disciplines including: history, literature, philosophy, language, linguistics, ethnology, theatre and film studies, cultural studies, borderland studies, and regional studies.
Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) This link opens in a new window Documents and images from the Stalin archive. [1889 - 1952]
Digitized documents and images from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). Contains documents which cover Stalin's personal biography, his work in government and his conduct of foreign affairs. Also includes 300 books from Stalin's personal library with marginal notes as well as his correspondence and documents. Also includes volumes from Yale University Press's Annals of Communism series.

Books from catalog

A Political and Economic Dictionary of Eastern Europe by Circa
ISBN: 9781857433340
Publication Date: 2007-06-22
The Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe by Dennis P. Hupchick; Harold E. Cox
ISBN: 031223984X
Publication Date: 2001-10-17
Eastern Europe Russia and Central Asia 2020 by Europa Europa Publications (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367175115
Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Russian Literature by Jonathan Stone
ISBN: 9780810871823
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Russian Literature in the Age of Realism by Alyssa W. Dinega (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787660215
Publication Date: 2003-04-07

Map of Eurasia

Source: https://www.loc.gov/resource/g5690.ct002093/

Help finding articles

You can use UC Library Search on the Library homepage to search across various book and article databases simultaneously. To find the best resources for your topic, you might want to go directly to a specific database.

Find the best database(s) for your research topic:

General article databases are a good place to start since they include both popular and scholarly journal titles covering numerous disciplines. Simply choose one of those databases and type in your keywords to begin to find articles.
Browse for databases by subject (such as Economics, Electrical Engineering, or Art History) if you want to dig deeper into resources covering a specific discipline. If you aren’t sure what subject to choose, look for the academic department that your class is listed under. Once you’ve chosen a subject, search for your topic in one or two of the recommended databases that are listed on the top of the subject list.
Browse for databases by type if you want to find other kinds of formats, such as encyclopedias, newspapers, government information sources, statistics, maps, images and more.

Secondary menu

Slavic 100 : Seminar: Russian, East European, and Eurasian Cultures: Home