Global 45: Finding Articles

The following two sources are specifically for history. You can specify the time period of interest in the advanced section.

• America: History and Life. Access to journals published on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
• Historical Abstracts. Access to journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

These sources may offer additional information for specific time periods and subjects. 

• Academic Search Complete. A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports.
• American Periodicals. Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
• Black Studies Center. Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
• Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during periods for which written documentation is available.
• Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving. Index of over 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world.
• Humanities International Complete. Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals.
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Journals, books, chapters, and book reviews from more than 100 countries. 
• International Medieval Bibliography (IMB). Indexes periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, and edited volumes covering all aspects of the Middle ages.
• JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
• Periodicals Index Online. Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1802 - 1995.
• Project MUSE. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

The following resources are scholarly databases about regions and countries. Consider if you are interested in scholarly perspectives from these areas in content often in languages other than English.

• ABSEES Online Database. Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union.
• Africa-Wide Information.  A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on Africa. 
• African Journals Online (AJOL) World's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access.
• Almandumah Arabic Database. Full text database for Arabic scholarly output of about 1900 unique Arabic journals, conferences, and dissertations
• Almanhal. Books, journals, dissertations, and reports from the Arab world.
• Bibliography of Asian Studies. Journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
• Central and East European Online Library. Articles from humanities and social science journals and digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics
• China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库. Database of journals published in China. Covers politics, military affairs, law, education, the social sciences, economics, & management.​
• Chinese Studies Online. Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present.
• Handbook of Latin American Studies. Books, journals and proceedings on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in humanities and social sciences.
• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Citations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
• Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies.
• RedAlyc. A collection of scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in 22 Spanish speaking countries. 
• SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean.