A bibliography is list of bibliographic citations, (also called Works Cited, Literature Cited, Reference List) at the end of a journal article or book that lists the sources used by an author.
Bibliographies can also be research tools that bring together in one location (either print or electronic) citations from articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, primary materials, and other academic sources about a specific topic. That topic might be broad, such as "Medieval history" or very narrow, such as "Red-haired women mentioned in courtly literature."
Bibliographies can be useful for discovering additional sources for your research. Since they include many different types of sources, it is important to be able to identify the type of source from the citation, in order to locate it.
In UC Library's advanced search, change the Any Field search filter to Subject and change contains to is (exact) and search for bibliography, combining it on the next line with your topic. The term bibliography appears in multiple places in catalog records, looking for it in the subject field will limit your results to resources that have been identified as bibliographies.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Records and describes first-person records of journeys in the frontier and early settlement periods which survive in both manuscript and print. Geographically, it deals with the states once part of the Old Northwest Territory--Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota--and with Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, and Nebraska.
A bibliography of English language travellers' accounts of Latin America in the nineteenth century. It focuses on the countries of South America from Colombia and Venezuela to Argentin and Chile (excluding British, French, and Dutch Guiana). Also available at the Internet Archive.
This bibliography lists guide books, geographies, diaries, memoires, autobiographies, collections of private and public papers and documents, a few histories, and a number of fictional accounts which contain useful descriptive passages. English translations of books originally published in other languages are included. Nearly 1200 titles are listed, arranged alphabetically by author, and numbered consecutively. Also available at the Internet Archive.
Call Number: South/Southeast Asia DS461.A12 R521 1989
A selected annotated listing of 580 published personal writings of Englishmen involved in India from 1583. The term British India is used in a broad historical sense to include Afghanistan, Nepal, Tibet, and Burma during the relevant periods of British influence.
Call Number: Doe Reference G465.A12 B52 2008 and online
The bibliography volume of the three-volume East Looks West: East European Travel Writing in Europe collates travel writing published in book form by east Europeans travelling in Europe from ca. 1550 to 2000.
A bibliography of travel literature published before 1900. The annotations summarize each title concisely and note significant features. An author index is organized by occupation and by the country visited.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks QH11.A12 T76 2016 and online
Over four thousand detailed entries, ranging over four centuries and all major western European languages, drawn from a wide range of sources and including both printed books and periodical contributions
Bio-bibliografía de viajeros españoles by Carlos García-Romeral Pérez
Siglos XVI-XVII at Main (Gardner) Stacks G287.A12 G37 1998
Siglo XVIII at Main (Gardner) Stacks G287.A12 G37 1997
1900-1936 at Main (Gardner) Stacks G465.A12 G37 1997
A searchable bibliographic index to books, manuscripts, and other materials printed in Europe relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks G295.A12 S87 1986
Over 1500 annotated entries of eye-witness accounts of Russians who traveled to the "Christian East." This is defined by the authors as "those areas associated in Russian thinking with the origiinss of Orthodox Christianity, and the geographic jurisdiction of the Eastern Patriarchies of Constantinople, Alexandria, Antioch, and Jerusalem."