Library Guides: History 165 The European Enlightenment: Encyclopedias

Selected titles

The Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert
English-language translations of articles from the Encyclopédie edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d"Alembert in the 18th century.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly online encyclopedia of philosophy, from medieval philosophy to postmodernism.
Includes the entire content of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Includes links to web resources. (Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (Routledge))

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
One of the best resources for general information on a wide variety of philosophical topics, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is indispensable for any philosophy student.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly biographic dictionary of individuals who have shaped the history of Great Britain from the the fourth century BC to present day. (Oxford DNB). Please note: There is a 1 user limit. If this resource doesn't work, please try again at another time.
Includes more than 50,000 biographies of individuals who shaped the history of Great Britain and beyond. From the fourth century BC to the 2000. Includes illustrations.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times
Information on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.