California Government Information: Elections & Voting

These links will provide information on current voting in California.

• CA Secretary of State - The office in charge of voting and elections in California
• Register to Vote - If you are a U.S. citizen age 18 years or older and a resident of California, register to vote online.
• Political Parties in CA - Provides information on qualified parties (including contact information), parties attempting to qualify, how to qualify a political party, etc
• CA Voter Bill of Rights
• Upcoming Elections
• Power Search -- Developed in partnership with the CA Secretary of State, allows access to electronically-reported, state-level campaign contribution raw data from 2001.  Find contributions and independent expenditures.
• SOS Political Reform Division --  Provides campaign finance information.  Some files go back to the mid-1990's

Below you will find information on how many people voted, how many people registered, voting guides, and election outcomes.

• Report of Registration - Statistics on how many people registered to vote before an election.  Older versions can be found in Doe Reference at JK8791.A3
• Voter Information Guide - Provides information on initiatives, propositions, candidates, etc.  Older versions can be found in various locations on campus at the call number KFC715 .A83  UC Hastings has also digitized the statewide guides from 1911-Present
• Statewide Election Results - Provides election results.  Historic issues of the Statement of Vote can be found in Doe Reference at JK8793 (includes primary and general elections as well as supplements when published).  
• California Elections Data Archive - From the Center for California Studies at Sacramento State University  Provides election data to 1995.
• JoinCalifornia - Provides election data on federal races to to 1849, and many state races to the 1880's.  Also includes bios on state legislators.