Provides datasets: Nat'l Alcohol Surveys; Developing a New Scale of Treatment Readiness; Epidemiology of Drinking and Disorders in Border vs. Non-Border Contexts; and more.
Data on ailments and diagnoses, diet and exercise, health treatments, and how health affects shopping. These data have several restrictions; see information on the Economics Data guide.
"This database contains life tables for national populations and, whenever available, the raw data used in constructing these tables." Data is provided for the United States, France, Japan, and Sweden. Note: The BMD has been replaced by the Human Mortality Database (see below for link). HMD data are superior for most purposes, however some items within the BMD are not yet available within the HMD or elsewhere.
The CHDS researches the way that health and disease are passed on in families, looking at genes as well as social, personal, and environmental surroundings. Researchers may apply to use the data files. CHDS is a project of the Public Health Institute and is supported with funds from the National Institutes of Health.
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
Access to datasets from selected NLM resources. Users can explore, filter, visualize, and export data in a variety of formats, including Excel, JSON, XML, as well as access and build with these datasets via API.
Includes data from local, state and international governments and organizations. Subject categories include criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, and more. Datasets are customizable, allowing you to select variables of interest such as age, gender, and race. Data can be exported into statistical software such as Excel and SAS.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health, National Health Interview Survey Child Component, Survey of Pathways to Diagnosis and Services, and National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.
The ECLS program includes three longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences. Data on children's status at birth and at various points thereafter; children's transitions to nonparental care, early education programs, and school; and children's experiences and growth.
HINTS, from the National Cancer Institute, measures how people access and use health information; how people use information technology to manage health and health information; and the degree to which people are engaged in healthy behaviors. Several items in HINTS have a specific focus on cancer prevention and control. Downloadable data sets are available online.
Consists of Data Collections in the following areas: health care providers, cost/access to health care, substance abuse and health, chronic health conditions, and more. Data available in SAS and SPSS formats among others.
This is a longitudinal study that surveys thousands of Americans over the age of 50 every two years. It began in 1992. It looks in-depth at health, health insurance, work, retirement, income, wealth, family characteristics, and inter-generational transfers through extensive interviews with survey participants. Data products are freely available online to registered users.
The HMD provides detailed mortality and population data for 39 countries. A companion project is the Human Life-Table Database, which contains data for 101 countries. Data download: ASCII.
Supplies data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. After free registration, UCB staff, students, and faculty have access to downloadable data. The "related literature" link for a given data set on the search results page or at the top of each study description will take you to a bibliography of publications based on that data, with links to online reports, when available.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space, including IPUMS-USA, IPUMS-International, IPUMS-Health Surveys, and more. SPSS, SAS, and STATA are supported. Numerous tutorials are available.
NHANES is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Site includes data and tutorials.
Demographic, social, familial, socioeconomic, behavioral, psychosocial, cognitive, and health survey data from participants (adolescents who were in grades 7-12 during the 1994-95 school year) and their parents; a vast array of contextual data from participants’ schools, neighborhoods, and geographies of residence; and in-home physical and biological data from participants, including genetic markers, blood-based assays, anthropometric measures, and medications.
Over 3000 households with containing one or more NHPI were surveyed using the National Health Interview Survey. Access the survey instrument and raw data files.
Searchable and browsable online collection of datasets. The catalog entries include geographic descriptors, and fees or other requirements to obtain the data, along with direct links to the data source.
Model-based population-level estimates on 27 chronic disease measures for all US counties, places, census tracts, and ZCTAs. The interactive website that allows you to view, explore, and download data by county, place, census tract, and ZCTA.
The Research Data Assistance Center (ResDAC) provides free data user support to researchers interested in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Medicare and Medicaid data. CMS data files are available, organized by data category, privacy level and CMS program. ResDAC tutorials.
Provides the latest national data on drug abuse, drug related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases, and the US substance abuse treatment system. Includes downloadable data sets.
SHPPS is a national survey periodically conducted to assess school health policies and practices at the state, district, school, and classroom levels. Questionnaires, data, results, and documentation are available.
County, ZIP code, and census tract level data. Variables in the files correspond to five key SDOH domains: social context (e.g., age, race/ethnicity, veteran status), economic context (e.g., income, unemployment rate), education, physical infrastructure (e.g, housing, crime, transportation), and healthcare context (e.g., health insurance). The files can be linked to other data by geography (county, ZIP Code, and census tract).
SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files from numerous series on substance abuse and mental health in the US. Datasets are available via links provided in each series/survey.
UC Berkeley's principal archive of digitized social science data and statistics. It operates as a part of the new UC Berkeley's Social Science Data Lab (D-Lab). Provides access to a broad range of computerized social science data to faculty, staff, and students at UC Berkeley.
The largest state health survey in the United States. It is a telephone survey conducted every two years on public health topics and access to health care. The web site contains the questionnaires, data files, and AskCHIS, an online data query system. (Requires one-time, free registration).
Has data available for viewing and downloading such as Hospital Annual Financial Data, Hospital Quarterly Financial Data, Utilization Data, Long-term Care Facility Financial Data, Patient Discharge Data, etc. Formerly known as OSHPD.
Provides a single source of California-generated raw data, including many health and environmental data, as well as economic and demographic data and more. The data is provided in variety of formats including CSV, XLS, KML, TXT, and XML.
Provides statistical tables that reflect the acquisition, prescription, and dispensation aggregate data of the dispensation information reported to CA DOJ pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 11165(d).
Surveys inlcude representative statewide data on cigarette smoking behavior, attitudes towards smoking, media exposure to smoking, and use of tobacco products other than cigarettes, from adults and teenagers living in California.
MOVER includes adult patients who underwent surgery at the University of California Irvine Medical Center from 2015 to 2022. Data for patients who underwent surgery were captured from two different sources: High-fidelity physiological waveforms from all of the operating rooms were captured in real time and matched with Electronic Medical Record Data. MOVER includes data from 58,799 unique patients and 83,468 surgeries. The dataset is freely available to all researchers who sign a data usage agreement.
"This database contains life tables for national populations and, whenever available, the raw data used in constructing these tables." Data is provided for the United States, France, Japan, and Sweden. Note: The BMD has been replaced by the Human Mortality Database (see below for link). HMD data are superior for most purposes, however some items within the BMD are not yet available within the HMD or elsewhere.
Data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic. Deposits include all data, annotated program code, command files, and documentation necessary to understand the data collection and/or replicate research findings.
Includes data from local, state and international governments and organizations. Subject categories include criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, and more. Datasets are customizable, allowing you to select variables of interest such as age, gender, and race. Data can be exported into statistical software such as Excel and SAS.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Includes: World Health Data Hub; Health Inequality Data Repository; World Health Statistics report; data dashboards; Data collection and analysis tools; GIS Centre for Health; and more.
The Dataset Catalog is a catalog of publicly available biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.
The DHS Program produces many different types of datasets, which vary by individual survey, but are based upon the types of data collected and the file formats used for dataset distribution. Dataset types are organized into three distribution categories: Survey Data, HIV Test Results, and Geographic data.
Data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks: history, geographic spread, and treatment. It also includes a visualization tool to create charts, and a differential tool to assist in diagnosis. Updated daily.
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
Global health data available for download: the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. Search by country, data type, keyword, organization, survey family, series or systems.
The HMD was created to provide detailed mortality and population data. Presently, the database contains detailed data for over 35 countries. A companion project is the Human Life-Table Database, which contains data for 40 countries.
Nightingale Open Science is a platform that connects researchers with world-class medical data from health systems around the world. Datasets of electrocardiogram waveforms, x-rays and CT scans, tissue biopsy images, and more are linked to ground-truth labels. Access requires registration.
Re3data (Registry of Research Data Repositories) is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from many different academic disciplines. You can browse by subject or search by many facets.
The UN Environment Open Data portal allows users to search information by thematic area, donor, geographic location, project status (ongoing/completed), or obtain an overview of project funding.
