Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from:
Sign in to view all results and to manage your:
Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access. (You may be prompted to sign in again.)
Enter keyword(s) into the search bar.
Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.
Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.
UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).
UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.
Select "Advanced Search".
Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.
Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.
UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).
WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections.
UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.
Open the "any field" menu to search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.
Open the "contains" menu and select:
Scan your search results. For each item, note its:
Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.
See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.
Sort results by relevance (default), newest, oldest, title, or author. Refine results by using filters. 
Using filters
Manage a single filter by hovering over it. You can:
.
.
.Manage multiple filters in the Use the Active Filter area (top left column). You can:
.
Adding filters
Adding:
Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.
See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.
Books and journals are arranged on our shelves according to the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. Each is assigned a unique call number based on its subject matter and other characteristics. Items on the same subject will often be grouped together.
Each call number consists of several elements. For example, consider:
TK
7881.6
M29
1993
The FIRST line, TK, is based on the broad subject of the book. Within Class T for technology, TK represents electrical engineering.
The SECOND line, 7881.6, defines the subject matter more finely. When looking for the book, read this as a whole number with a decimal component. In this example, TK7881.6 represents magnetic recording (a subdivision of TK— electrical engineering).
The THIRD line, M29, usually indicates author, but may also represent a further subject subdivision, geographic area, etc. There may also be a fourth line, formatted the same way. When looking for the book, read the numeric component as if it were preceded by a decimal point. In the example above, the numeric part of M29 should be read as ".29" (and the call number TK7881.6 M29 comes before TK7881.6 M4).
The YEAR of publication, such as 1993, may also be present. These file in chronological order and often indicate successive editions of a book. The call number may also have additional elements, such as volume numbers.
In using a call number to locate a book on the shelf, consider each element in turn before moving on to the next segment.
These call numbers are arranged as they should appear on the shelves. In each case, the element shown in boldface distinguishes the number from the preceding one:
| Q 76 K26 |
QA 17 F75 |
QA 17.1 C98 |
TK 3 Z37 |
TK 29 M49 |
TK 29 M5 1997 |
TK 29 M5 2007 |
View
Public domain and open access books in HathiTrust can be viewed by anyone. Books still protected by copyright are only available to search, and are not available for full view.
Download
UCB patrons can download the full text of HathiTrust eBooks that are in the public domain (generally pre-1922) or open access.
Print
To print, you must first download either a single page or the whole book as a PDF and then print from your PDF reader.
Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like UC Library Search don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.). Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information. You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search UC Library Search to see if UC Berkeley owns the book. Try it now: