Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

History 101: Citing

More help

  • Check the Library's workshops for Zotero offerings. I will also do Zotero workshops on demand for five or more students who can get themselves organized and find a time that works for them and for me.
  • Watch the short videos in this introductory tutorial.
  • Visit our Zotero guide for help with basic and advanced topics.

Download a PDF guide to using Zotero & the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style includes two slightly different documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography (NB) and (2) author-date. The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts.

In the NB system, you mark within your paper where you have cited something by adding a number, which refers to a detailed reference either at the bottom of the page (footnote) or at the end of the paper (endnote). These notes indicate the specific place in your source you are referencing.

The bibliography includes complete information for each item, with the items arranged in alphabetical order by author's last name.

Purdue's Writing Lab provides an example of a paper formatted using Chicago NB style.

More help with citing

Citation Managers

Citation managers (also called reference managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Zotero  [guide]

  • Free software with up to 300 MB web storage
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word, Open Office, and Google Docs
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

 Refworks [guide]

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and Google Docs
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing

Endnote [guide]

  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users

Wikipedia comparison of reference management software