A comprehensive encyclopedia of Neo-Latin from the Italian Renaissance to the modern era (14th-16th century).
Features lengthy original articles written by international scholars exploring history, art, law, language, philosophy, education, and science. Articles include bibliographies and notes.
Scholarly online encyclopedia of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). In English and German. (New Pauly Online - Encyclopedia of the Ancient World - Der neue Pauly)
Over 27,000 articles which provide comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). The New Pauly Online combines English versions of 1) the Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, published in German in 68 volumes and 15 supplementary volumes between 1839 and 1980; 2) the abridged version of the Pauly, Der kleine Pauly, published in five volumes between 1964 and 1975; 3) Der neue Pauly, which was published in German in 15 volumes between 1996 and 2003.
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.
In-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and around the world. Covers ancient, medieval and modern periods, European and non-European experiences.
"Features articles written by international and interdisciplinary scholars about world empires, including individual empires from the Assyrians of the ancient Near East to the Zapotecs of pre-Columbian Mesoamerica; from the Asante Kingdom of West Africa to the Dutch East Indian.
Subjects covered include history, geography, literature, architecture, urban planning, gender studies, linguistics, and anthropology. Articles include bibliographies, illustrations and maps"
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, bibliographical references and links to images. (Part of the Oxford Art Online suite.)
Neoclassicism refers to the revival of classical art and architecture beginning in Europe in the 1750s until around 1830, with late neoclassicism lingering through the 1870s.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Over 6,700 entries. The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
Access to a number of art, architecture and design dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
Access to a number of art, architecture and design dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Scholarly online dictionaries and encyclopedias on classical literature and civilization from Oxford University Press.
Access to a number of dictionaries published by Oxford University Press on the topic of classical literature and civilization. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title. Titles include: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who's Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English).
Entries cover major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world (Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman) from the Bronze Age to the 5th century CE and “its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.”
Leading Classical scholars in the field provide significant information about people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity in addition to intellectual and material culture. Broad subject areas include literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science and religion.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by 
Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture by