Library Guides: Find Books & eBooks: eBooks

eBook Collections

Recommended Science and Engineering eBook Collections

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Thousands of handbooks, scientific and technical resources and databases that can searched together or in subject-based groupings. Includes ENGnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and more.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text engineering and scientific handbooks and databases, with built-in software tools.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text books in all disciplines, including Engineering and Technology, Computers and Information Technology, and Biomedical science, with built-in software tools. Requires Ebrary plug-in or java client.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of full-text ebooks from Elsevier with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Subject collections over Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, and more.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

More eBook Collections

More Science and Engineering ebook collections

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Covers metals as well as engineered materials such as composites, ceramics, and plastics.
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to ASTM Standards, ASTM Special Technical Publications, and manuals.

• Foundations and Trends
Lecture length ebooks that give overviews of important research topics in engineering and computer science.

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Access full-text books that are out of copyright and view excerpts from books that are still under copyright. Use the "Find this book in a library" link to locate a copy at a local library. Includes UC Berkeley books scanned for the Google Library Project.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Internet Archive: Text Archive This link opens in a new window
Open Access books from libraries and individual collections. Includes UC Berkeley books scanned by the Internet Archive.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.

• MIT Press eBooks Library
Includes more than 450 titles from 1943 to the present in the fields of computer science and engineering technologies,
including artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
Access provided via the IEEEXplore platform.

National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text PDFs of books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.

• Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection
Collection of online chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of computer manuals published by O'Reilly.
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Online collection of selected SPIE Press Monographs, tutorial texts, and field guides.
SPIE is the International Society for Optical Engineering.
Synthesis: the Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 475 ebooks that each synthesize an important research or development topic in engineering and computer science.
UC Berkeley has access to Collections 1-8, with access to hundreds of lectures.

• Wiley-IEEE Press eBooks
Access to more than 400 ebooks published by Wiley-IEEE Press. Books are fully searchable in the IEEEXplore Digital Library
and cover electrical engineering, bioengineering, nuclear engineering, transportation, aerospace, and more.

Finding eBooks

What's a collection?

The Library purchases most electronic books in collections of titles rather than by individual title. Collections can be from a single publisher, cover a wide range of subject areas, or specialize in one subject.

The collections listed on the left allow full-text searching of eBooks within the specific collections.

You can also use UC Library Search to find eBooks at UC Berkeley by using the Refine your results options to limit to Available online.

Secondary menu

Find Books & eBooks: eBooks

Kresge Engineering Library closed until 2025

eBook Collections

More eBook Collections

Finding eBooks