Library Guides: Find Books & eBooks: eBooks by Category

Handbooks and Manuals

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive collection of binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated data.
ASM International
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Covers metals as well as engineered materials such as composites, ceramics, and plastics.
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to ASTM Standards, ASTM Special Technical Publications, and manuals.

• CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Contains listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service since 1907.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
A collection of chemical dictionaries and handbooks published by CRC Press.
A collection of chemical dictionaries and handbooks providing descriptions, properties and uses for various compounds and substances.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Classic reference includes the revised Physical Constants of Organic Compounds table, new data on chemical carcinogens, an expanded Critical constants table, and more.
84th edition which includes the revised Physical Constants of Organic Compounds table, new data on chemical carcinogens, an expanded Critical constants table, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Thousands of handbooks, scientific and technical resources and databases that can be searched together or in subject-based groupings.
International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new window
Contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials.
Contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The series is planned, edited and maintained by the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr).

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text engineering and scientific handbooks and databases, with built-in software tools.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Bornstein Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers the physical and chemical properties in materials science.
Collection of fully evaluated data from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, geophysics, astronomy, biophysics and materials science & engineering.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of computer manuals published by O'Reilly.
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.

Dictionaries

● A Dictionary of Units

● The Free Online Dictionary of Computing

● The Internet Acronym Server

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Contains detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. NOTE: Some off-campus users have reported issues when accessing OED with Chrome. Patrons are encouraged to use other browsers.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Oxford Reference Online - Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Scholarly online scientific encyclopedias and dictionaries, covering the biological and life sciences, astronomy, computing, earth sciences, nutrition, chemistry and more.
Access to dictionaries in the biological and life sciences, astronomy, computing, earth sciences, nutrition, chemistry and more published by Oxford University Press. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.

Encyclopedias

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.