Archives and publications of the Communist Party in China since its establishment in 1921. Search interface is Chinese language only [1921 to present]
Includes historical documents such as the Party's Constitutions over the years and party internal files; documents from the Communist Party's National Congress since 1921, including reports, name lists, pictures, news reports and commentaries, audio/video files and other research materials, totaling over 3 million characters; publications of legendary leaders including Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Liu Shaoqi, Zhu De, Ren Bishi, Deng Xiaoping, and Chen Yun; daily activities of current party elites since 1989; historical events in the Party history since 1921; and Who's Who in the Communist Party over the years.
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present]
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial data for countries world wide. Click Guest Access for immediate access. Registration is free for UC Berkeley students staff and faculty and offers enhanced features.
Provides detailed macroeconomic data with more than one million time series for 121 countries, including National Accounts, Balance of Payments, Production, Sales,& Inventory, Banking, Construction, Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates, Government Finance, Investment, Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism, Inflation, Transport and Telecommunication, and Domestic & International Trade. Sources include International Organizations and National Statistics Offices.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. FOR ACCESS: Select the "Sign in by IP address" button at the bottom of the landing page.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
This database comprises a collection of Hong Kong-related historical records, selected from the British Colonial Office, consisting of original correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegram
This resource provides detailed and valuable information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. It also sheds light on the British Empire in Asia, China’s transformation from empire to republic, mainland China-Hong Kong relations, and the international politics of East Asia. It is full-text searchable, and side-by-side OCR text readers for image based text was built in the database.
Covering the 18th to early 20th centuries, this database documents the socioeconomic aspects of transpacific and around-the-world commercial, scientific, and other maritime voyages. The focus is on the China trade.
Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps in this collection have been sourced from international libraries and archives and explore the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. The Documents section is rich in primary source material including ship logs, diaries, correspondence, account books, other shipping and commercial company records, catalogs of trade goods, and other records of prices.
Cornell's Wason Pamphlet Collection, digitized in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these include a wide variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement there.
Types of material include addresses and speeches, annual reports, catalogues, examinations, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, and minutes. Themes covered by the collection include the arts, the Chinese diaspora (including the Chinese in California), education, the foreign presence in China, foreign relations and diplomacy, governance, international conflict, language and literature, leisure, missionaries, opium, rebellion and revolution, science and medicine, trade, and travel and exploration.
Incorporating 19 document types including illustrations, diaries, memoirs, and official papers, the database provides varying perspectives from politicians and diplomats to missionaries and tourists, documenting key events during the period.
The collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library, with additional sources from other major universities.
A full-text journal database covering the contents of over 7,000 journals published in China. [1994 - present]
The library's subscription covers literature/ history/ philosophy; politics/ military affairs/ law; education & social sciences; and economics & management.
Economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of industrial branches. (All China Data Center)
Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. Includes link to China Data Center at the University of Michigan.
The database contains 440,417 doctoral dissertations granted by 493 institutions, and 4,348,310 master theses granted by 770 institutions. Times covered: 1984-2021.
High-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People's Republic of China (known as "Pishu" which literally means "cover-books").
Published by the prestigious Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, these reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues. In China, Pishu are consumed by think tanks and top policymakers. Covered topics include a variety of issues of importance to China's government and research community, including international relations, agricultural policy, and industry competitiveness. They may be considered somewhat analagous to United States Congressional Research Service reports and analysis reports published by the RAND Corporation. (Pishu)
Demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries).
China Geo-Explorer II provides access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries). It is a tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment, and a tool for identifying spatial patterns and trends. The database can generate easy-to-use and customized reports, dynamic charts, tables and maps. Data can be exported to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
Approximately 700,000 books in full-text covering a variety of subject areas.
A large proportion of the holdings are books published since 1949 and a few are from earlier years. This rich and scholarly content emphasizes social sciences and humanities although it covers all the academic disciplines.
A collection of databases of traditional and excavated ancient Chinese texts.
Five full-text databases: 1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones; 2. Bronze Inscriptions; 3. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts; 4. The Entire Body of Extant Han and Pre-Han (pre-220 A.D.) Traditional Chinese Texts; 5. Traditional Chinese Texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 A.D.).
On the first screen, click the ""For IP User Only"" button. Requires Microsoft Windows 2000/XP or above and Internet Explorer 6.0 or above.
Includes pre-20th century texts with full-text and images from a variety of subject areas organized into four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works. Available via Erudition. Access is restricted to one user at a time. Revisit if you are unable to access.
This database includes full images of judicial files from Jiangjin county, Chongqing City between 1911-1949.
These judicial files are sorted into a number of categories, including debt, tenancy, theft, trade dispute, family disturbance, marriage, damage, robbery, homicide, injury, corruption, violation of tax laws, forgery, drug using, fraud, other criminal cases and other civil cases.
文史资料 is a collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s, recorded since 1959 by members of the People’s Consultative Conferences and personalities across China.
The database contains about 26,800 series and more than 900,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of these historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). It is full-text searchable.
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. The Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.
More than 62,000 volumes of Chinese gazetteer books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions, and providing historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. [1949 - ]
The collection covers historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.
Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present. (Wanfang Data)
This digital edition of The Complete Classics includes the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.
A collection of old Chinese journals published in China between the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. [Late Qing-1949]
This collection of old journals contains journal titles and issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Subject content covered includes, but is not limited to, philosophy, economics, politics, military, literature, history, industry, agriculture, geography and medicine. Well-known titles include The Young Companion, Huang Pu, and Wan Guo Gong Bao.
Archival materials and documents on the Chinese Cultural Revolution, Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign, Chinese Great Leap Forward and Great Famine, and Chinese political campaigns in the 1950s.
The database is made up of Communist Party documents, speeches of Mao Zedong and other leaders, important newspaper and magazine articles, documents of the Red Guards, and more. The materials are indexed in both English and Chinese; however, the entire body of literature is only available in Chinese.
It contains the most comprehensive set of US declassified government documents available. Collections related to China are China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998, The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977, and Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action.
Also includes a chronology, glossary of names, events, special terms, and a bibliography for each collection developed around a specific event, controversy, or policy decision.
A platform dedicated to searching Chinese academic materials in book, journal article, conference paper and dissertation formats. Full-text materials can be obtained through a online document delivery service.
Searches over three millions of academic books, journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers and videos in Chinese. It provides bibliographic information for all materials contained and online document delivery service for full-text book chapters and journal articles. In Chinese.
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.
Two databases in series on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language, 309 publications included in the original edition and 204 publications in the Continuation edition.
The two databases incorporate local histories, official documents of the Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties and private collections, including chorography, geographic accounts, local customs, poems, literature, political archives, civil affairs, war records, and records of coastal defenses. Much of the content is comprised of sole copies and rare out-of-print books. Also covers topics of the Japanese occupation period in documents gathered from local and overseas libraries.
EPS China Statistics presents the most comprehensive collection of data on China. It provides yearly, quarterly and monthly data for indicators covering national, county and city statistics. [1949-present]
It is a one-stop service platform for data retrieval, processing, analysis and forecasting, visualization display and data export. The database is in both English and Chinese version.
Includes the United States’ principal record of political and historical open source intelligence covering the period 1979-1996. Locate China related reports by browsing "China" and keyword searching.
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980, covering important historical events in modern Chinese history.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. Historical events covered include the Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis, Japanese war, the seeds of communist victory, the Communist revolution, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.
There are over 4,000 Ming (1368-1644) documents and more than 300,000 volumes of Qing (1644-1911) archival materials in this database, including imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute documents, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. Contact sxue@berkeley.edu for login information.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. [1912-1949]
"Republican “Minguo” China (1912-1949) was an era contrasted by industrialization and modernization but also civil unrest and outright war between Nationalists and Communists. The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
It contains all Jinshi degree holders and their biographical information throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders. [Pre-1912]
The database can be searched by region, dynasty, year of degree, last name, etc.
This database is a collection of seventeen English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949).
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
Developed by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, this Open Access database contains about 780 academic journals in the field of social sciences. [1921-present]. Note UC Berkeley users are able to access the content without creating an account. Non-Berkeley users must create a free account in order to download content.
The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, the database not only vividly revealed the history, but also enriches the digital newspaper resources, providing valuable materials for the study of modern China.
With publication starting in June 1946 and a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China.
Provides a complete archive of the People's Daily, the leading newspaper in China, from the birth of the People's Republic of China to 2002.
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
Files contained represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in this area.
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Locate Chinese studies related dissertations by keyword searching.
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
The Republican Daily News was founded in Shanghai on January 22nd,1916 in Shanghai. As the main way for the Chinese Revolutionary Party to publicize its revolutionary ideas, the newspaper gained nationwide popularity. It had great influence in China's modern political history.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
It is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. Contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. Choose 授權使用.
The Shanghai Courier was founded in 1986. After merging and changing names a few times, it changed its name back to The Shanghai Courier in 1878 and until 1889 when it merged with The Shanghai Mercury.
In 1868, the British newspaper publisher Lang Hugh founded The Shanghai Courier in Shanghai, and later renamed it as The Shanghai Evening Courier, which merged with The Evening Gazette in 1875.
The Shanghai Evening Post was founded in Shanghai in April 1929, as the earliest evening newspaper publication established by American businessmen in the region. In August 1930, it was merged with The Shanghai Mercury and renamed The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury. A Chinese version was added in 1933.
In March 1901, a Shanghai resident from the US, Frank B. Boll, founded The Shanghai Times. Since then, the newspaper's shareholders and patrons had changed several times, with its political stance swaying accordingly.
Selected editions of ancient texts in classics, history, philosophy and literature, totaling 504 titles in 3,134 volumes. NOTE: Off-campus users are advised to use the campus VPN. This resource is not compatible with EZProxy.
Compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of Four Treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more.
Founded in 1893 on Shanghai's famous "newspaper street" - Wang Ping Street, Sin Wan Pao since then quickly grew into a major newspaper comparable to Shen Pao for its outstanding characteristics in management strategy and content editing. Sin Wan Pao is issued for more than half a century with diverse content and distinguishing features.
Official data released by the Statistics Bureau of China following the sixth decennial census in 2010, including population data for the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities, and 2872 counties.
Data include gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. The release of the database was authorized by the China Statistics Press, the publishing arm of the Statistics Bureau of China. Data may be exported into Excel or Word. (National Population Census of China)
Note: This resource allows for two simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
The Song Tomb Inscriptions Database《宋代墓誌銘数据库》currently includes about 6,400 items, more items will be added in the future. [960-1270]
The texts have been collated from various sources including the Quan Song wen《全宋文》, unearthed epitaphs in recent years, and private rubbing collections. Sources are provided for each epitaph. Wherever available, high quality images of rubbings of original epitaphs have been added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. The database is full text searchable.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
Ta Kung Pao is one of the most important non-government newspapers in China's modern history. The name “Ta Kung” means “forgetting oneself for the big, giving up own interests for justice” . With "no party affiliation, no political endorsement, no self-promotion, no ignorance" as its motto, the newspaper's popularity quickly rose. With the establishment of Shanghai, Hankou, Hong Kong, Chongqing and Guilin editions, the newspaper enjoyed nationwide influence.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. The newspaper chronicled events in legislation, social hierarchy, and politics. [1898-1944]
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō newspaper was the longest running and most widely circulated newspaper during the period of Japanese colonialism in Taiwan. From 1898 to 1944, it covered Taiwan’s domestic affairs, international relations, the integration of agriculture and the economy, and arts and literature. In 1901, the newspaper started adding two Chinese-language pages to the original Japanese-language publication. In 1905, it launched a separate and fully Chinese-language edition but it ceased in 1911. In 1937, all Chinese-language content was discontinued from the publication.
The database contains articles related to musical sound, including performing arts, mass media, and traditional activities, from Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) newspaper from 1898 to 1944.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was the longest-standing and largest newspaper in colonial Taiwan, which was published between 1898 and 1944. The database compiled by the Graduate Institute of Musicology at National Taiwan University contains any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts (e. g., dance, opera, drama), mass media (e. g., records, radio broadcasts, films), traditional activities (e. g., ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. to support research on the daily musical life and sound culture in Taiwan and beyond.
The Tang Tomb Inscriptions Database contains about 12,500 tomb inscriptions from the Tang Dynasty, Sui Dynasty and Wu Dai time period. The database is full-text searchable. [581-960] Note: This resource is limited to one user. Please try again later if refused.
If available and permitted by the collectors, high quality images of the rubbings were added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. This resource allows for one simultaneous user only. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
An online repository of the most extensive collection of Tibetan literature, currently contains more than 7,000 works of Tibetan texts.
A project to digitize images of canonical collections such as the Kangyur and the Tengyur. Also include digital images related to Indo-Tibetan medicine.
A newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. Provides current, full-text articles for seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan.
Provides current, full-text articles for seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan (Lian He Bao, Jing Ji Ri Bao, Min Sheng Bao, Lian He Wan Bao, Xing Bao) Europe (Ouzhou Ri Bao) and North America (Meizhou Shi Jie Ri Bao). In Chinese.
Hundreds of newspapers from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other Asian countries. In Chinese and English. [1998-present]. This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If it does not work, please try again later.
A collection of more than 1,200 well-known Chinese classics edited and punctuated by Zhonghua Book Company. [Pre-1911]
The database is searchable in full-text by both simplified and traditional characters. Other features include comparison between text version and image version, variant versions of people's names, places and titles can be retrieved simultaneously.
